Music Production: An Easy Approach to Produce Music from Beginner to Expert - EDM, Rock Music, Jazz, Dubstep, R&B, Techno, Country Music, Electro, Indie Rock, Pop Music by
Jumpstart Your Career In Music Production Even Without Prior Experience With This Beginner's Guide To Music Production
In the music world, the only rule is that THERE ARE NO RULES! You essentially have the freedom to record whatever you want, automate them in ways that you see fit, mix rhythms never before heard, and combine genres like it's no one's business.
However, no matter what type of music you create, you want to make sure you're putting out good music out there, so that people can fully enjoy your songs and you can take your career to new heights.
Pop Music Production by
Pop Music Production delves into academic depths around the culture, the business, the songwriting, and most importantly, the pop music production process. Phil Harding balances autobiographical discussion of events and relationships with academic analysis to offer poignant points on the value of pure popular music, particularly in relation to BoyBands and how creative pop production and songwriting teams function. Included here are practical resources, such as recording studio equipment lists, producer business deal examples and a 12-step mixing technique, where Harding expands upon previously released material to explain how 'Stay Another Day' by East 17 changed his approach to mixing forever. However, it is important to note that Harding almost downplays his involvement in his career. At no point is he center stage; he humbly discusses his position within the greater scheme of events. Pop Music Production offers cutting-edge analysis of a genre rarely afforded academic attention. This book is aimed at lecturers and students in the subject fields of Music Production, Audio Engineering, Music Technology, Popular Songwriting Studies and Popular Music Culture. It is suitable for all levels of study from FE students through to PhD researchers. Pop Music Production is also designed as a follow-up to Harding's first book PWL from the Factory Floor (2010, Cherry Red Books), a memoir of his time working with 1980s pop production and songwriting powerhouse, Stock Aitken Waterman, at PWL Studios.
Producing Music by
During the last two decades, the field of music production has attracted considerable interest from the academic community, more recently becoming established as an important and flourishing research discipline in its own right. Producing Music presents cutting-edge research across topics that both strengthen and broaden the range of the discipline as it currently stands. Bringing together the academic study of music production and practical techniques, this book illustrates the latest research on producing music. Focusing on areas such as genre, technology, concepts, and contexts of production, Hepworth-Sawyer, Hodgson, and Marrington have compiled key research from practitioners and academics to present a comprehensive view of how music production has established itself and changed over the years.
The Art of Mixing by
David Gibson uses 3D visual representations of sounds in a mix as a tool to explain the dynamics that can be created in a mix. This book provides an in-depth exploration into the aesthetics of what makes a great mix. Gibson's unique approach explains how to map sounds to visuals in order to create a visual framework that can be used to analyze what is going on in any mix. Once you have the framework down, Gibson then uses it to explain the traditions that have be developed over time by great recording engineers for different styles of music and songs. You will come to understand everything that can be done in a mix to create dynamics that affect people in really deep ways. Once you understand what engineers are doing to create the great mixes they do, you can then use this framework to develop your own values as to what you feel is a good mix. Once you have a perspective on what all can be done, you have the power to be truly creative on your own - to create whole new mixing possibilities. It is all about creating art out of technology. This book goes beyond explaining what the equipment does - it explains what to do with the equipment to make the best possible mixes.
The Art of Producing by
The Art of Producing is the first book to standardize a specific production process for creating a successful music project from start to finish. Learn how to develop a step-by-step process for critiquing all of the musical components that go into creating a highly refined production that works for all styles of music. The book provides a well-rounded perspective on everything that goes into producing, including vital information on how to creatively work with bands, groups and record companies, and offers insight into high level values and secrets that famous producers have developed through years of trial and error. The book covers detailed production techniques for working with today's latest digital technologies including virtual recording, virtual instruments, and MIDI tracking. Take these concepts, adapt them to your own personal style and you will end up with a successful project of the highest attainable quality with the most potential to be become a hit - or just affect people really deeply.
Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio by
Discover how to achieve release-quality mixes even in the smallest studios by applying power-user techniques from the world's most successful producers. Mixing Secrets for the Small Studio is the best-selling primer for small-studio enthusiasts who want chart-ready sonics in a hurry. Drawing on the back-room strategies of more than 160 famous names, this entertaining and down-to-earth guide leads you step-by-step through the entire mixing process. On the way, you'll unravel the mysteries of every type of mix processing, from simple EQ and compression through to advanced spectral dynamics and "fairy dust" effects. User-friendly explanations introduce technical concepts on a strictly need-to-know basis, while chapter summaries and assignments are perfect for school and college use. ▪ Learn the subtle editing, arrangement, and monitoring tactics which give industry insiders their competitive edge, and master the psychological tricks which protect you from all the biggest rookie mistakes. ▪ Find out where you don't need to spend money, as well as how to make a limited budget really count. ▪ Pick up tricks and tips from leading-edge engineers working on today's multi-platinum hits, including Derek "MixedByAli" Ali, Michael Brauer, Dylan "3D" Dresdow, Tom Elmhirst, Serban Ghenea, Jacquire King, the Lord-Alge brothers, Tony Maserati, Manny Marroquin, Noah "50" Shebib, Mark "Spike" Stent, DJ Swivel, Phil Tan, Andy Wallace, Young Guru, and many, many more... Now extensively expanded and updated, including new sections on mix-buss processing, mastering, and the latest advances in plug-in technology.
The Music Producer's Handbook by
(Technical Reference). The Music Producer's Handbook, Second Edition reveals the secrets to becoming a music producer and producing just about any kind of project in any genre of music. Among the topics covered are the producer's multiple responsibilities and all the elements involved in a typical production, including budgeting, contracts, selecting the studio and engineer, hiring session musicians, and even getting paid. Unlike other books on production, The Music Producer's Handbook also covers the true mechanics of production, from analyzing, troubleshooting, and fixing a song that isn't working to getting the best performance and sound out of a band or vocalist. In addition, Bobby Owsinski tackles what may be the toughest part of being a producer being a diplomat, a confidant, and an amateur psychologist all at once. This edition also includes new chapters on self-production, small studio production, and how the new songwriter-producer and engineer-producer hybrids make money in our new digital music world. It also features several new interviews with some of the best-selling producers from different musical genres, who offer advice on getting started, getting paid, and making hits. Packed with inside information and including exclusive online media, The Music Producer's Handbook, Second Edition provides invaluable tools and advice that will help beginners and seasoned professionals alike.
Recording Unhinged by
(Music Pro Guides). Recording Unhinged: Creative and Unconventional Music Recording Techniques dares you to "unlearn" safe record-making, to get out from behind the windshield, stick your head out the sunroof, and put the pedal to the metal! Sylvia Massy and her cohort of celebrity music industry producers, engineers, and recording stars discard fixed notions about how music should be recorded and explore techniques that fall outside the norm and yield emotionally powerful, incredibly personal, gut-wrenching, and even scary recordings. Joined by Hans Zimmer, Al Schmitt, Bruce Swedien, Jack Joseph Puig, Dave Pensado, Tchad Blake, Bob Clearmountain, Linda Perry, Michael Franti, Michael Beinhorn, Bob Ezrin, Geoff Emerick, and many others, this book has the stories, tips, recipes, photos, advice, diagrams, exercises, illustrations, and jokes that you won't find in any other instructional manual. And what about that cover? Recording Unhinged contains many eye-popping illustrations by Sylvia herself. As if being a celebrated producer isn't enough, Sylvia's iconic illustrations bring real and imaginary recording situations to life. Catchy Bass Lines? Engineering Marvels? How to Mic a Chicken?!! Do a swan-dive into the unknown and make studio magic with inspiration from Recording Unhinged.
Live Music Production by
This book presents the days of live music production in the UK spanning the late '60s to the mid-'80s, when rock music was enjoying a meteoric rise in popularity. The author, Richard Ames, will take you on a true behind-the-scenes journey of discovery. You'll learn who the people were, where they came from and how they went on to pioneer the first companies that would become the lifeblood of a unique industry. The interviews contained in this book record and present the raw stories of a few of the original innovators who set the stage for their performers but also for the hundreds of technicians who would tour the world following in their footsteps. The pioneers presented in these interviews share with the reader countless candid anecdotes that convey how their curious enthusiasm, energy, dedication, and general can-do attitude was the driving force behind the creation of the many companies we know of as common place today. The book presents interviews that span varied aspects of live music production including lighting, sound, rigging, staging, trucking, bussing and catering. Live Music Production captures a piece of social history that promises to inform, entertain and delight.
Effective Sustainability Communication for Music Festivals and Other Mega-Events by
Festivals are an important part of the music event industry, especially for young adults. But compared to the beginnings, their meanings have changed: Attendees want to celebrate without any compromises. However, today mankind is confronted with the greatest sustainability challenges, which are not satisfactorily tackled. Still, with a rising awareness of these issues, companies' interest in including sustainability issues in their communications strategy has increased. This study attempts to explore how a Sustainability Communication (SC) concept needs to be designed to reach fans of music festivals and influence them towards a more sustainable behaviour. For that purpose, it deals with sustainability management, background information about SC and the attendees' needs. Moreover, it shows rays of hope for this issue in the festival landscape. Afterwards the results of a survey conducted among festival fans (more than 750 participants), examining their attitude regarding sustainability issues, were assessed. This study aims to equip the reader with a thorough knowledge of the potential of Sustainability Communication within and through festivals, as well as give an insight into how a SC strategy must consider the needs of fans to realize a more sustainable event.
The Creative Electronic Music Producer by
The Creative Electronic Music Producer examines the creative processes of electronic music production, from idea discovery and perception to the power of improvising, editing, effects processing, and sound design. Featuring case studies from across the globe on musical systems and workflows used in the production process, this book highlights how to pursue creative breakthroughs through exploration, trial and error tinkering, recombination, and transformation. The Creative Electronic Music Producer maps production's enchanting pathways in a way that will fascinate and inspire students of electronic music production, professionals already working in the industry, and hobbyists.
Performing Electronic Music Live by 
Music Habits - the Mental Game of Electronic Music Production by
Music Production can be an elusive art form for many, and the challenges that face someone who is new to this can easily create overwhelm and lead to complete paralysis. The goal of this book, is to cover music production from many different angles in a way that will change your thinking on the subject and build your confidence.Music making is a very mental and psychological game, and more often than not, all the technical stuff can hold you back from achieving your goals if you don't have the right creative habits in place first.With all the information available with a simple Google search, I wanted to really get to the heart of things that aren't being discussed nearly enough. I want to clear out all the garbage you may have been told and replace it with the essentials you can put to immediate use. Many people new to music may dive into forums and mindlessly watch video tutorials attempting to gather more and more information until they think they have enough to get going (hint: you never feel like you know enough).That would be like reading a whole encyclopedia and then being asked to recall only the important things that will get you from point A to point B. Even worse, much of the information you get will contradict the last thing you read. It's like finding a needle in a haystack only to be told it's the wrong needle. There is a much better approach. It's an approach that doesn't require you to know a lot to get started. You only need to know enough to get to the next step in your process.There is truly nothing stopping you from becoming a music producer. The ones who are successful now are the ones who started from nothing and chipped away at it until they found a way to express their unique voice. There are no gatekeepers making decisions on who is worthy and who isn't. The determining factor is you, your habits and your confidence in yourself.This book can be read from start to finish, or as a "choose your own adventure", going directly to what you think can help you most right now. Don't get caught up thinking you have to devour everything before getting started. That isn't necessary, and isn't the point of the book.The core concepts in the book will come up time & time again which should help you retain them & be able to recall them when the need arrives. By exploring these concepts from several angles you should gain a broad view of their many uses.My hope is that this book is used as a toolbox. You simply find the right tool that moves you forward and get back to work. So few people, who have more than enough information in their heads, ever start. Of those who do start, even fewer finish what they started and are satisfied with the results. I want you to be in that small group of finishers.Let's get started.
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)