Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian
Library Databases & Streaming Websites
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video Series is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th century concert dance. It features performances from the most influential dancers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos to aid in the teaching of this nuanced art form.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Stream This link opens in a new window
An ever-growing collection of full-length dance videos from the Jacob’s Pillow Festival Archives. Watch historic films, recent performances by top national and international dance companies working in a range of movement styles including contemporary, ballet, tap, and traditional forms, and hear interviews with artists and experts in the dance field.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access streaming movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films, and educational videos from Berklee. New requests go through the library.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 HD videos of concerts, operas, ballets, archival performances, documentaries, master classes, and more. The recently added Medici Jazz Includes performances from members of the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice team.
Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of video performances of The Metropolitan Opera, many of which are in HD.
Numeridanse.tv is the first international dance video library online and completely free. Check out their videos about : hip hop dance, contemporary dance, ballet, ballroom dance, African dance, flamenco, Indian dance, butoh, jazz, etc.
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. It includes videos of dance performances.
DVDs at the Albert Alphin Library
DVDs at the Albert Alphin Library
Catalog search for dance DVDs available at the Albert Alphin Library. This might be helpful for browsing. Conduct your own search if you're looking for something specific.
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopedia Britannica, including 23,000 biographies. Magazines and News Headlines: Get headlines from The New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Magazines and Newspapers
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1995-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals. IBTD with Full Text contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations. As experts in the subject area, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) continues indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors.
Database & Catalog Lists
A catalog search for all books catalogued with the general "Dance" subject
A search for "dance" e-books available from one of our providers.