Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide Information and Navigation
This guide serves as a helpful starting point for researching topics related to Musical Theater, related to the MFA capstone project. It includes online resources available through the library, a how-to guide for locating archival recordings of Conservatory and Berklee performances, and suggestions for finding archival materials related to theater in other institutions.
Journals and Databases
To search for articles in many of the library's databases, use Augmented Search on the library homepage. From the results page, scroll down to the Source Types section on the left sidebar, and select Academic Journals to see journal articles.
Below are some specific databases that might help narrow your search.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals. IBTD with Full Text contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations. As experts in the subject area, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) continues indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1995-present.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Major daily newspaper covering Boston, New England and the world. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Full-text coverage from 1980.
TDR: The Drama Review
Interdisciplinary, intercultural and progressive articles on all aspects of performance, theater, dance, music, film, video, ritual, play, sports and performance in everyday life.
PAJ : a journal of performance and art
Covers the directions of new work in performance, video, installations, dance, photography, media, film, and music.
A weekly newspaper covering the world of performing arts in North America.