Sound Pedagogy by
Music education today requires an approach rooted in care and kindness that coexists alongside the dismantling of systems that fail to serve our communities in higher education. But, as the essayists in Sound Pedagogy show, the structural aspects of music study in higher education present obstacles to caring and kindness like the entrenched master-student model, a neoliberal individualist and competitive mindset, and classical music's white patriarchal roots. The editors of this volume curate essays that use a broad definition of care pedagogy, one informed by interdisciplinary scholarship and aimed at providing practical strategies for bringing transformative learning and engaged pedagogies to music classrooms. The contributors draw from personal experience to address issues including radical kindness through universal design; listening to non-human musicality; public musicology as a forum for social justice discourse; and radical approaches to teaching about race through music. Contributors: Molly M. Breckling, William A. Everett, Kate Galloway, Sara Haefeli, Eric Hung, Stephanie Jensen-Moulton, Mark Katz, Nathan A. Langfitt, Matteo Magarotto, Mary Natvig, Frederick A. Peterbark, Laura Moore Pruett, Colleen Renihan, Amanda Christina Soto, John Spilker, Reba A. Wissner, and Trudi Wright
Educating Musicians for Sustainability by
Educating Musicians for Sustainability explores the intersections of sustainability and music, investigating how sustainability affects the development and professional preparation of musicians while asking the question, 'What does sustainability have to do with music?' The volume presents a series of case studies organised according to an expanded view of the 'four pillars of sustainability', addressing cultural, environmental, economic, and social concerns. These case studies reveal a multitude of intersections, highlighting the crucial role music can play in raising awareness and overcoming the crisis of sustainability. In examining pedagogical and practical implications, aspiring musicians are encouraged to develop a broader view of the musical profession as a human endeavour, one that is intimately related to the world in which they live. Educating Musicians for Sustainability addresses the most pressing and serious problem of contemporary times - and seeks to inspire changes in attitudes and behaviour, for the benefit of all of humanity.
Teaching Music Theory by
For music theory teachers, some common questions might arise: why assess students with exams like AP Music Theory? Why teach them melodic dictation, formal structures, and key signatures? Why design curriculums this way? In recent years, educators around the country have developed new and innovative teaching approaches to address these questions, reintroducing a sense of purpose into their classrooms. In this new volume, Jennifer Snodgrass visits several of these teachers, observing them in their music theory classrooms and providing lesson plans that build upon their approaches. Based on three years of field study spanning seventeen states, coupled with reflections from the author on her own teaching strategies, Teaching Music Theory: New Voices and Approaches highlights real-life teaching approaches from effective (and sometimes award-winning) instructors from a wide range of institutions: high schools, community colleges, liberal arts colleges, and conservatories.Throughout the book, Snodgrass focuses on topics like classroom environment, collaborative learning, undergraduate research and professional development, and curriculum reform. She also emphasizes the importance of a diverse, progressive, and inclusive teaching environment throughout, from encouraging student involvement in curriculum planning to designing lesson plans with Common Core Standards in mind so that pedagogical concepts may be applied to other subjects. An accessible and valuable text designed with the needs of both students and faculty in mind, Teaching Music Theory provides teachers with a vital set of tools to rejuvenate the classroom and produce confident, empowered students.
Eco-Literate Music Pedagogy by
Eco-Literate Music Pedagogy examines the capacity of musiciking to cultivate ecological literacy, approaching eco-literate music pedagogy through philosophical and autoethnographical lenses. Building on the principle that music contributes uniquely to human ecological thinking, this volume tracks the course of eco-literate music pedagogy while guiding the discussion forward.
Field Experience by
Provides readers with the tools they need to get the most out of their classroom teaching and observation experiences. KEY TOPICS: This book addresses the various types of field experience and encourages the readers to consider what he or she brings to that experience and what factors the school and community play. MARKET: Pre-service teachers and administrators.
Jazz Is Elementary: Creativity Development Through Music Activities, Movement Games, and Dances for K-5 by
(Berklee Guide). Use jazz to develop children's creativity! This book is a collection of 60 jazz-based teaching strategies designed to foster music making, creative movement, and improvisation in the K-5 music classroom. The innovative strategies are grounded in the best practices in elementary music education and partner with a curated playlist of jazz music that is available via streaming audio platforms. These strategies represent the music of nearly 80 iconic jazz artists of yesterday and today (e.g. Louis Armstrong, John Coltrane, Ella Fitzgerald, Dizzy Gillespie, Quincy Jones, Wynton Marsalis, Sarah Vaughan). All teaching strategy concepts were extensively field-tested with children in the elementary music classroom and with teachers around the world. Designed with music teachers, parents/caregivers, traditional school, home-school, and arts-based community organizations in mind, the strategies in this book can be used to engage children and prompt their creative and original expressions. Strategies include singing, instrument play, body percussion, games, chants, and dances that support both individual and group assessment. Companion materials are offered online to support the strategies including instructional videos for dances; printable resources such as visual aids, notation cards, movement directives, and color sheets; and artist profiles that provide brief biographies and put each musician in historical and musical context. Foreword by bassist Victor Wooten!
Music in Childhood by
Learn to teach music to children with MUSIC IN CHILDHOOD: FROM PRESCHOOL THROUGH THE ELEMENTARY GRADES, an inspirational and informative text that features practical strategies, imaginative scenarios, and comprehensive examples to help students prepare for their careers in music education. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Teaching Music to Students with Autism by
Teaching Music to Students with Autism is a comprehensive practical guide for music educators who work with students with autism. Authors and veteran music educators Alice M. Hammel and Ryan M. Hourigan offer an approach centered in inclusion designed for music educators, music teacher educators, and all those who have an interest in the education of students with autism. In this second edition, the authors offer fully up-to-date information on the diagnosis of autism, advocating for students and music programs, and creating and maintaining a team-approach when working with colleagues. A significant portion of the book is focused on understanding the communication, cognition, behavior, sensory, and socialization challenges inherent in students with autism and ways to structure classroom experiences and learning opportunities for all students. A chapter of classroom snapshots (vignettes) written by teachers in the field of music education provides additional opportunities to transfer information to 'real life' situations. Finally, the book offers a chapter of print and web resources for further study.
Educating Exceptional Children by
EDUCATING EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN is a classic yet state-of-the-art book for Introduction to Special Education and related courses. Authored by luminaries in the special education field, it introduces readers to each of the thirteen disability categories, and to the needs of children who are gifted and talented. The Thirteenth Edition continues to focus on the strengths of previous editions, while also providing new material about such important hot topics within the field as genetics, neurology, inclusion, assistive technology, and information processing. The text provides key, research-based teaching methods and strategies for children with various exceptionalities, and also offers analysis of ecological factors that influence the exceptional child in and out of the classroom. This edition also features current coverage of the Response to Intervention Model, comprehensive and up-to-date descriptions of the characteristics associated with each disability, the most current teaching techniques for each category, and helpful references to available resources.
A Teacher's Guide to Special Education by
Despite the prevalence of students with disabilities in the general education classroom, few teachers receive training on how to meet these students' needs or how to navigateDespite the prevalence of students with disabilities in the general education classroom, few teachers receive training on how to meet these students' needs or how to navigate the legally mandated processes enumerated in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). What is their role? What are their responsibilities? What are the roles and rights of parents? And what must all teachers do to ensure that students with disabilities and other special needs receive the quality education they're entitled to? In this practical reference, David F. Bateman-bestselling author of A Principal's Guide to Special Education-and special education administrator Jenifer L. Cline clarify what general education teachers need to know about special education law and processes and provide a guide to instructional best practices for the inclusive classroom. Topics covered include: The pre-referral, referral, and evaluation processes. Individualized education programs (IEPs) and the parties involved. Accommodations for students who do not quality for special education, including those covered by Section 504. Transition from preK to K-12 and from high school to postschool life. Classroom management and student behavior. Educational frameworks, instructional strategies, and service delivery options. Assessment, grades, graduation, and diplomas. The breadth of coverage in this book, along with its practical examples, action steps, and appendixes covering key terms and definitions will provide the foundation all K-12 teachers need to successfully instruct and support students receiving special education services. It's an indispensable resource for every general education classroom.
Exceptional Learners by 
Intelligent Music Teaching by
In this collection of essays, the author describes fundamental principles of human learning in the context of teaching music. Written in a conversational style, the individual essays outline the elements of intelligent, creative teaching. Duke effectively explains how teachers can meet the needs of individual students from a wide range of abilities by understanding more deeply how people learn. Teachers and interested parents alike will benefit from this informative book.
The Savvy Music Teacher by
Is it possible to have a music teaching career that is meaningful, artistically fulfilling, and financially self-supporting? The Savvy Music Teacher unveils a clear, realistic, dollar-for-dollar blueprint for earning a steady income as a music teacher, increasing impact and income simultaneously. This comprehensive resource reveals an entrepreneurial process with lessons that cannot be found anywhere else. Armed with Cutler's expert guidance, readers will learn to develop:* A thriving studio with an important curriculum* Multiple income/impact streams* Innovation strategies for every aspect of business and art* Powerhouse marketing* Time management skills* Financial literacy and independence* An inspired career outlook A must-read for independent music teachers of all levels, both beginning and those with established studios, as well as the music performance graduates who so often become studio teachers, The Savvy Music Teacher provides practical advice in down-to-earth language that includes real-life experiences from successful teacher-entrepreneurs.
The Private Voice Studio Handbook Edition by
(Vocal). No voice teacher can afford to be without the updated and revised editon of The Private Voice Studio Handbook , a comprehensive and practical guide for beginning or improving the work of any voice teacher. The original edition was released in 2003. The revised edition was released in 2014. The topics addressed include: mission and policy statements; studio equipment and organization; auditioning and accepting new students; practice agenda for students; the importance of teaching music reading; repertoire for beginners; planning recitals; vocal techniques; teaching styles; advising young singers; teaching adult students; teaching voice to children; taxes, insurance and retirement; networking; ethics in the voice studio; and more! The revised edition adds many updates and case studies of students. Beyond being a great guide for private voice teachers, Joan Frey Boytim's groundbreaking book is an excellent resource for college and university voice faculty, and would be a valuable text for vocal pedagogy courses. Joan Frey Boytim has spent over 50 years teaching in her private voice studio. She is a nationally recognized and widely published expert in the training of young singers.
Berklee Guitar Theory by
(Berklee Guide). Become a more musical guitar player! This book will help you learn and use chords, scales, and other building blocks of music from a guitarist's perspective. It applies concepts of music theory directly to your instrument, using the time-honored teaching approaches of the Berklee Guitar Department. These applications facilitate creative, expressive playing and writing in all styles and directly map to the Berklee Guitar Department proficiency evaluations. Players at all levels will find a clear, organized approach to the materials and musical examples in a variety of styles, provided by Berklee's guitar faculty. You'll learn to: Master the fingerboard by understanding how strings and frets relate to scales, intervals, and chords; Understand and use the most important types of scales and modes; Construct chords and voicing possibilities based on the essential building blocks of harmony; Choose chord voicings that are ergonomic, intuitive, and expressive for every unique playing situation; and more.
100 Blues Lessons - Bass Lesson Goldmine Series Bk/Online Audio by
(Bass Instruction). Expand your bass knowledge with the Bass Lesson Goldmine series! Featuring 100 individual modules covering a giant array of topics, each lesson in this Blues volume includes detailed instruction with playing examples presented in standard notation and tablature. You'll also get extremely useful tips, scale diagrams, chord grids, photos, and more to reinforce your learning experience plus online performance demos of all the examples in the book! A huge variety of blues bass styles, techniques, and concepts are covered, including: blues scale; 12-bar blues; turnarounds; swing blues; the box shape; the Rhumba; 12/8 slow blues; palm muting; string bending; arpeggios; understanding chord symbols; playing with the kick drum; Chicago blues; Texas blues; New Orleans blues; double stops; Willie Dixon style; Tommy Shannon style; Jack Bruce style; and much more! Audio is accessed online using the unique code inside the book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.
100 Funk/R&B Lessons by
(Bass Instruction). Expand your bass knowledge with the Bass Lesson Goldmine series! Featuring 100 individual modules covering a giant array of topics, each lesson in this Funk/R&B volume includes detailed instruction with playing examples presented in standard notation and tablature. You'll also get extremely useful tips, scale diagrams, chord grids, photos, and more to reinforce your learning experience plus audio tracks featuring performance demos of all the examples in the book! This volume covers a huge variety of funk and R&B bass styles, techniques, and concepts, including: the pocket; fingerstyle funk; slap & pop techniques; hammer-ons and pull-offs; staccato & tenuto; funk fills and phrasing; dynamics; funk jazz; acid jazz; James Brown Fun; Bootsy Collins style; Larry Graham style; Louis Johnson style; Flea style; and more! The price of this book includes a unique code that provides access to audio tracks online, for download or streaming. The tracks include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right available exclusively from Hal Leonard.
100 Jazz Lessons Bass Lesson Goldmine Series Book/Online Audio by
(Bass Instruction). Expand your bass knowledge with the Bass Lesson Goldmine series! Featuring 100 individual modules covering a giant array of topics, each lesson in this Jazz volume includes detailed instruction with playing examples presented in standard notation and tablature. You'll also get extremely useful tips, scale diagrams, chord grids, photos, and more to reinforce your learning experience plus access to online audio featuring performance demos of all the examples in the book! A huge variety of jazz bass styles, techniques, and concepts are covered, including: lessons for upright and electric bass; warm-ups; string crossing; fretting hand independence; hand synchronicity; sound and projection; tenths; jazz waltz; pedal points; interval cycles; beat manipulation; various scales; tritone substitution; using a bow; and much more! The audio is accessed online using the unique code inside each book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.
The Jazz Method for Alto Saxophone by
(Schott). These methods provide complete courses for players of all ages, guiding students from their first note to 'classics', together with compositions by contemporary writers. Each book is accompanied by high quality recorded rhythm section tracks. Right from the start, students can enjoy authentic jazz sounds, playing in the company of professionals. With step-by-step instruction and a progression of specially written pieces, the fundamental elements of good technique are introduced alongside the rhythmic subtleties of jazz. Improvisation is encouraged from an early stage and is given direction through the systematic study of scales and arpeggios and advice on ear-training and chord patterns. With supplementary suggestions for listening and reading, and an Appendix containing all the chord progressions for 'live' accompaniment of the tunes, The Jazz Methods are ideally suited to both students working alone and those learning with a teacher. "John O'Neill has a solid understanding of jazz and how it can be taught. I highly recommend his educational jazz materials." (Jamey Aebersold) "...a rare opportunity for a new player (or a more experienced one) to develop a really musical facility. A rare addition to the jazz improvising library." (Lee Konitz, international jazz saxophone soloist) - includes 'classics' by Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker, Sonny Rollins and Horace Silver - "...very good original jazz tunes that students will use as stepping stones for further development... a non-jazz-playing flute teacher would probably find the book a godsend especially if students are studying GCSE music." (Steve Tayton, Jazz Journal International) Part one: The foundation techniques * Part two: Playing the music * Part three: Appendices Audio is accessed online.
Teaching Music through Performance in Jazz for Beginning Ensembles by
"With this volume, the celebrated Teaching Music through Performance series is available for the first time for leaders of beginning jazz ensembles. This edition pairs practical perspectives from world-class jazz educators and performers - specialists in working with beginning ensembles - together with Teacher Resource Guides for more than 60 of the best jazz charts published for beginning ensembles. Part I: The Teaching of Music includes chapters on: Recruitment and rehearsal strategies by Dean Sorenson; Scheduling options by Roosevelt Griffin; Jazz ensemble instrumentation by Rob Parton; The jazz rhythm section by Willis Rapp; Jazz piano in the rhythm section by James Sullivan; Guitar in the rhythm section by David Cullen; Bass in the rhythm section by Peter Paulsen; The drum set by Willis Rapp; Basic jazz articulations by Ronald Carter; Beginning jazz improvisation by Brian Logan; A selected resources overview by Ben Huntoon. Part II: Conductor as Teacher focuses on the best jazz repertoire published today for beginning ensembles and provides a Teacher Resource Guide for each work. Each Teacher Resource Guide includes background information on both the composer and the history of each chart, technical and stylistic considerations, a discussion of musical elements of the work, and measure-by-measure rehearsal tips. The repertoire covers Grade 1 through Grade 3.5. This book is a truly significant resource for both beginning jazz educators and their students, and an invaluable contribution to the field" -- from dust jacket.
On Staff by
A practical guide to starting a successful career in a music department in higher education, this book thoroughly details the application, interview, and negotiation processes. It offers a wealth of practical information on getting a post, your first days in the post, acquiring tenure and promotion, working with colleagues and administration, beginning your career, and learning about yourself in the higher education setting.This book will show you how to:* Organize your professional experiences in an eye-appealing and easily read CV* Develop attention catching cover letters that avoid common pitfalls and instead create positive, lasting impressions* Create meaningful teaching philosophies and research statements * Acquire effective interview techniques by becoming aware of frequently asked interview questions, the nuances of interview apparel, dining etiquette, and recognizing what committees and administrators are looking for in a candidate* Negotiate job offers effectivelyAnd once you get that position, this book will show you how to keep it, to get tenure and promotion, and to be successful in your chosen higher education institution. Visit the comprehensive companion website at www.oup.com/us/onstaff
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)
