Studying Sound by
An introduction to the concepts and principles of sound design practice, with more than 175 exercises that teach readers to put theory into practice.This book offers an introduction to the principles and concepts of sound design practice, from technical aspects of sound effects to the creative use of sound in storytelling. Most books on sound design focus on sound for the moving image. Studying Sound is unique in its exploration of sound on its own as a medium and rhetorical device. It includes more than 175 exercises that enable readers to put theory into practice as they progress through the chapters. The book begins with an examination of the distinction between hearing and listening (with exercises to train the ears) and then offers an overview of sound as an acoustic phenomenon. It introduces recording sound, covering basic recording accessories as well as theories about recording and perception; explores such spatial effects as reverberation and echo; and surveys other common digital sound effects, including tremolo, vibrato, and distortion. It introduces the theory and practice of mixing; explains surround and spatial sound; and considers sound and meaning, discussing ideas from semiotics and psychology. Finally, drawing on material presented in the preceding chapters, the book explores in detail using sound to support story, with examples from radio plays, audio dramas, and podcasts. Studying Sound is suitable for classroom use or independent study.
Recording Studio Design by
Recording Studio Design, Fourth Edition explains the key principles of successful studio design and construction using straightforward language and the use of practical examples appreciated by readers of previous editions. Updated to reflect new industry standards, this fourth edition addresses improvements in cinema sound, with specific attention paid to B-chain electroacoustic response and calibration. Using over 50 years' experience, author Philip Newell provides detail on the practical aspects of recording in various environments, not only exploring the complex issues relating to the acoustics but also providing real-world solutions. While the book contains detailed discussions about performing rooms, control rooms, and mobile studios, concepts of the infrastructures are also discussed, because no studio can perform optimally unless the technical and human requirements are adequately provided for. In this new edition, sound for cinema provides a platform for highlighting many, wider electroacoustic topics in a way that is relatively easy to visualise. The way in which sound and vision interact is an important aspect of many modern multimedia formats. The new edition includes: A new Chapter 22 that will thoroughly reflect recently published SMPTE investigations which will drastically impact standards for cinema sound; The inclusion of new academic research and its practical applications; An entire new illustrated chapter on room construction principles; and The consolidation of ideas which were only emerging when the earlier editions were published.
Handbook of Sound Studio Construction: Rooms for Recording and Listening by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Build first-class recording studios and listening spaces Design and build your own audiophile-grade recording and playback environments using proven, cost-effective plans and techniques. Handbook of Sound Studio Construction: Rooms for Recording and Listening explains practical acoustical properties and describes how to engineer acoustically sensitive spaces, including music recording studios, control rooms, voice studios, home project studios, A/V suites, media rooms, and surround-sound home theaters. Learn how to choose room dimensions, select building materials, construct your own custom treatments, maximize isolation, and generate and analyze response curves. This do-it-yourself guide incorporates decades of roomdesignexperience and provides you with the practical knowledge to design and build your own acoustical spaces or improve existing spaces. Coverage includes: An introduction to room acoustics and acoustical design Reflecting, absorbing, and diffusing materials Room geometry, modes, and treatment Acoustic isolation, site selection, and HVAC design Wall, floor, and ceiling construction Window and door design considerations Reverberation times, early reflections, and psychoacoustics Objective and subjective room evaluation Plans and specifications for 10 recording and listening rooms
Thinking in Sync by
"Thinking In Sync" is the perfect entry point into the world of synchronization for any musician, band, songwriter, manager, or music industry professional starting a career pitching music or interested in learning more about this unique and profitable area of the industry. With this book, experienced music supervisor Amanda Krieg Thomas aims not only to provide answers for many of the questions music supervisors are most often asked, but also the reasons behind those answers.
Music Supervision by
Music supervision, or matching music to TV, live events, film, video games, ring tones, and a host of other media, is one of the fastest-growing careers in the music industry. This book guides you through real-world scenarios and legal landmines, explores sound design, and profiles key players.
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)