This guide contains resources for music and performing arts industry professionals. The pages include more specialized items that are organized by career communities established by the Berklee Career Center. Visit their website to see how jobs and careers are categorized and to find additional resources and support.
Provides data from music streaming and social media platforms. In order to sign up and get your own login, please contact the library at your campus. If you are a faculty member wishing to use Chartmetric with your class, please provide us with a list of student emails rather than having students contact us individually.
Please note that you cannot customize the account with your information and must use the saved user name. The Bridge, provides online access to thousands of opportunities in music and arts administration. Posted opportunities include orchestra positions, teaching positions, festivals, competitions, arts administration positions, and more. To login select "Berklee login". If you are having trouble logging in please contact the library.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by
The Twelfth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David and Tim Baskerville's handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field. Music Business Handbook and Career Guide is ideal for introductory courses such as Introduction to the Music Business, Music and Media, and other survey courses as well as more specialized courses such as the record industry, music careers, artist management, and more. The fully updated Twelfth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution and its impact on all parts of the value chain, including composers, performing artists, publishers, and labels. The book also analyzes shifts in the competing platforms of consumption ranging from fast-shrinking physical formats and broadcasting to downloads and subscription services. This edition offers more vignettes than ever, illustrating how individuals in different industry roles advanced their careers, as well as how they've adjusted to the intertwining influences of technology, law, and culture.
How to Make It in the New Music Business: Practical Tips on Building a Loyal Following and Making a Living As a Musician (Second Edition) by
When How to Make It in the New Music Business hit shelves in 2016, it instantly became the go-to resource for musicians eager to make a living in a turbulent industry. Widely adopted by music schools everywhere and considered "the best how- to book of its kind" (Music Connection), it inspired thousands to stop waiting around for that "big break." Now trusted as the leading expert for "do it yourself" artists, Ari Herstand returns with this second edition, maintaining that a stable career can be built by taking advantage of the many tools at our fi ngertips: conquering social media, mastering the art of merchandising, embracing authentic fan connection, and simply learning how to persevere. Comprehensively updated to include the latest online trends and developments, it offers inspiring success stories across media such as Spotify and Instagram. The result is a must- have for anyone hoping to navigate the increasingly complex yet advantageous landscape that is the modern music industry.
All You Need to Know about the Music Business by
All You Need to Know About the Music Business by veteran music lawyer Don Passman--dubbed "the industry bible" by the Los Angeles Times--is now updated to address the biggest transformation of the music industry yet: streaming. For more than twenty-five years, All You Need to Know About the Music Business has been universally regarded as the definitive guide to the music industry. Now in its tenth edition, Donald Passman leads novices and experts alike through what has been the most profound change in the music business since the days of wax cylinders and piano rolls. For the first time in history, music is no longer monetized by selling something--it's monetized by how many times listeners stream a song. And that completely changes the ecosystem of the business, as Passman explains in detail. Since the advent of file-sharing technology in the late 1990s to the creation of the iPod, the music industry has been teetering on the brink of a major transformation--and with the newest switch to streaming music, this change has finally come to pass. Passman's comprehensive guide offers timely, authoritative information from how to select and hire a winning team of advisors and structure their commissions and fees; navigate the ins and outs of record deals, songwriting, publishing, and copyrights; maximize concert, touring, and merchandising deals; and how the game is played in a streaming world. "If you want to be in music, you have to read this book," says Adam Levine, lead singer and guitarist of Maroon 5. With its proven track record, this updated edition of All You Need to Know About the Music Business is more essential than ever for musicians, songwriters, lawyers, agents, promoters, publishers, executives, and managers--anyone trying to navigate the rapid transformation of the industry.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by
This powerhouse best-selling text maintains is the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry. Music business newcomers and professionals alike will find Baskerville's handbook an indispensable resource, whatever their specialty is within the field music. Key Features: Expanded and enhanced coverage of state-of-the-art technology and its implications for the music industry, including digital downloads, changing production technologies, marketing via social networking, and new distribution channels including video games Discusses new and emerging business models and their implications including the topics of Internet outlets, the independent musician, the evolving role of producers, and satellite and Internet radio Information on careers, especially in the context of a changing business environment Discussion of the concert business, once a minor source of revenue but now as robust as the revenue stream of recorded music Coverage of alternatives to radio airplay and to incentivising teens to visit local record stores, in light of the weakened format of radio and the disappearance of neighborhood music shops Examination of sophisticated marketing research tools for the industry, due to consumer clicks that illuminate customer buying behavior and changes in tastes and desires Reflection on the global shift of the music business world as it becomes less centered on American companies and culture. It is ideal as the core textbook in courses such as Introduction to the Music Business, Music and Media, Music Business Foundations, and survey courses. This book can also be used for more specialized courses on the record industry, music merchandising, music careers, artist management, music and the law, arts administration, and music in popular culture.
To Be an Artist: Musicians, Visual Artists, Writers, and Dancers Speak by Camille Colatosti with a Foreword by Pat Pattison by
(Berklee Guide). Learn what it means to be an artist today. Musicians, writers, visual artists, and creators from a variety of other disciplines discuss their lives and work how they perceive their craft and their world, and the role of art in society. These are citizen artists, who discuss their responsibility to communicate their vision, to help us better understand our world and live together in community. Through learning about these artistic journeys, you will see how creativity comes not only from the intense focus on craft, but alsofrom developing a wider vision and understanding of the world in which we live. Foreword by Pat Pattison! Explore how artists find inspiration, particularly onthe themes of: knowing yourself, examining interrelationships among the arts, sustaining culture and community, bringing joy, and telling the truth. Interviews include: William Banfield (Composer), Michael Bearden (Composer), Terri Lyne Carrington (Drummer), Henry Diltz (Photographer), Bruce George (Poet), Janis Ian (Singer-Songwriter), Lori Landay (Multimedia Artist), Doug Stanton (Author), Victor Wooten (Bassist), and more.
The Thriving Artists by
What is it that distinguishes one artist from the next? Why do some seem to Thrive in every way possible while others perpetually live the life of a "starving artist"? The answer has less to do with what you are doing, and much more to do with WHO is doing it. Dressing up a pig to look like a person doesn't change the fact that it's still a pig. The same holds true between being a Thriving Artist and a starving one. A starving artist can go through all the motions and do what other successful artists do, but at the end of the day, regardless of success level, they are still starving. This book can transform all of that. What lies in these pages is not just a few actions to take or some pithy advice from former artists. This book contains everything you need to transform your life and artistic career so that you can truly thrive in all you do personally, professionally, and financially. Learn how to create the best mindset for success. Learn how to effectively market your art to the world. And learn how to manage your money to the penny and generate income in ways that you never thought possible. Gone are the days of scraping by and waiting for the phone to ring. Here are the days of creating a Thriving life as you journey through a wildly successful career. If you are ready to shed the comfortable misery of being a starving artist, read on. If you are ready to take an already good career and make it exceptional, read on. If you are ready to make the most of every minute of every day... please, read on. We are here, we believe in you, and we are with you all the way! Join us.
Beyond Talent by
This second edition of Beyond Talent provides user-friendly real-life advice, examples, and perspectives on how to further a career in music. Understanding the unique talents and training of musicians, veteran music career counselor Angela Myles Beeching presents a wealth of creative solutions for career advancement in the highly competitive music industry. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, network and access resources and assistance, jump start a stalled career, and expand your employment opportunities while remaining true to your music. Beeching untangles artist management and the recording industry, explains how to find and create performance opportunities, and provides guidance on grant writing and fundraising, day jobs, freelancing, and how to manage money, time, and stress. The companion website puts numerous up-to-date and useful internet resources at your fingertips. This essential handbook goes beyond the usual "how-to," helping musicians tackle the core questions about career goals, and create a meaningful life as a professional musician. Beyond Talent is the ideal companion for students and professionals, emerging musicians and mid-career artists.
Knock 'em Dead Resumes by
Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.
You Can Negotiate Anything by
Over one million copies sold and nine months on the New York Times bestseller list! For readers of the bestsellers Atomic Habits and Never Split the Difference--this bestselling classic will teach you to hone your intuition to effectively communicate and negotiate...making sure you win every time. These groundbreaking methods will yield remarkable results! YES, YOU CAN WIN! Master negotiator Herb Cohen has been successfully negotiating everything from insurance claims to hostage releases to his own son's hair length and hundreds of other matters for over five decades. Ever since coining the term "win-win" in 1963, he has been teaching people the world over how to get what they want in any situation. In clear, accessible steps, he reveals how anyone can use the three crucial variables of Power, Time, and Information to always reach a win-win negotiation. No matter who you're dealing with, Cohen shows how every encounter is a negotiation that matters. With the tools and skill sets he has devised, honed, and perfected over countless negotiations, the power of getting what you deserve is now a practical necessity you can fully master. "Flawlessly organized." --Kirkus Reviews
Never split the difference: Negotiating As if Your Life Depended On It by
A former international hostage negotiator for the FBI offers a new, field-tested approach to high-stakes negotiations effective in any situation. After a stint policing the rough streets of Kansas City, Missouri, Chris Voss joined the FBI, where his career as a hostage negotiator brought him face-to-face with a range of criminals, including bank robbers and terrorists. Reaching the pinnacle of his profession, he became the FBI's lead international kidnapping negotiator. Never Split the Difference takes you inside the world of high-stakes negotiations, revealing the skills that helped Voss and his colleagues succeed when it mattered most.
A Winner's Guide to Negotiating: How Conversation Gets Deals Done by
The strategic guide to getting the most out of everynegotiation from "the female Jerry Maguire" (CNN) Effective negotiation is rooted in establishing trust and building relationships--one conversation at a time. In this practical guide, trailblazing sports agent MollyFletcher reveals her proven approach to landing more than $500 million worth of deals throughout her career. It all comes down to doing five things well: Setting the Stage Finding Common Ground Asking with Confidence Embracing the Pause Knowing When to Leave Master these steps and you'll not only close more deals--you'll be setting yourself up for the next big one. "A great negotiator and a great storyteller has mined her deep experience in one of the most pressurized arenas of American business. This book is a road map for anyone who wants to learn how to win negotiations of any kind." -- LARRY KRAMER, president and publisher of USA Today "Negotiating well is indispensable to success. Whether from the stage or in this book, Molly will inspire you. A Winner's Guide to Negotiating will change your life by changing your conversations. A must-read for every business professional." -- DONNA FIEDOROWICZ, senior vice president at the PGA TOUR
Getting to Yes by
The key text on problem-solving negotiation-updated and revised Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern era, it is based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, a group that deals with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution. Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight- forward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry-or getting taken.
The 11 Contracts That Every Artist, Songwriter and Producer Should Know by
Most people regard legal contracts with an inherent suspicion. Having heard scores of horror stories, we in the music business, whether artists, songwriters, producers, or management, are especially cautious - perhaps even paranoid - of any binding agreement, and with good reason. If you could better understand the most common - and important - documents in the game, wouldn't you? Steve Gordon, an entertainment attorney with over twenty years of experience in the industry, is making just such an offer with his latest book, The 11 Contracts That Every Artist, Songwriter, and Producer Should Know. The 11 Contracts is an in-depth guide intended to assist any aspirant wary of navigating the music biz or struggling to interpret its insular jargon. This no-nonsense book follows a refreshingly simple format: Gordon presents a sample agreement, then breaks down the nuances of both the legal and business sides of the arrangement. Subjects covered include: * Management Agreements * Production Company and New Artist * Indie Label Deals * Sync Licenses * Producer Agreements * Music Publishing Deals * Composer Agreements * Live Performance Contracts * Music Video Production Contracts * Band Agreements Business Actions Artists Can Take Without an Attorney * Investment Agreements Every purchase also includes access to a library of streaming and downloadable video content touching on music clearances and licensing, management, artist, publishing, and producer agreements, the art of hiring a music attorney, the role of artist management and record companies in the music business today, and more. Ensure that you will never find yourself stuck on the wrong side of a bad deal - pick up your copy of The 11 Contracts today!
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2016 by
What Color Is Your Parachute? is the world's most popular job-hunting guide, revised and updated annually, with more than ten million copies sold. This 2016 edition features the latest studies and perspectives on today's job-market, including proven strategies for finding jobs even when everyone tells you there are none. Career expert Richard N. Bolles reveals surprising advice on what works--and what doesn't--so you can focus your efforts on tactics that yield results. This helpful manual shares proven tips for writing impressive resumes and cover letters, as well as guidance for effective networking, confident interviewing, and the best salary negotiating possible. But it goes beyond that by helping you to zero in on your ideal job--and life--with its classic Flower Exercise. Whether you're searching for your first job, were recently laid off, or are dreaming of a career change, What Color Is Your Parachute? will guide you toward fulfilling and prosperous work.
How to get a PhD : a handbook for students and their supervisors by
Since the first edition of this innovative book, thousands of doctoral students have gained their doctorates by following the spot-on advice it gives. Across all faculties and disciplines, it remains the book of choice for both students and their supervisors, establishing it as a worldwide bestseller.
This practical book guides students through all they need to know to approach the research, write and defend their ideas and ultimately produce a unique and robust academic thesis. It also gives supervisors and examiners invaluable tips on their role in the process.
Should I Go to Grad School? by
The decision to attend graduate school is easy for future doctors and lawyers: they must have a professional degree to get started. But for young creative workers, aspiring artists, and intellectuals, grad school is an existential fork in the road. An M.F.A. or a humanities Ph.D. can give you time to invest in studying something you love among like-minded intellectuals and qualify you to teach a new generation of students; but it can also uproot you geographically, expose you to backstabbing competitors, and saddle you with debt. Given the current job market, is grad school really worth it--financially, professionally, and emotionally?In Should I Go to Grad School?, a wide range of people who lead intellectually and creatively interesting lives--sculptors and philosophers, activists and poets, a cocktail designer and a movie star--tell their own stories about choosing to go to grad school--or steering clear--and what that decision has meant in their lives. They give us an inside look at what grad school today is really like, and share the wisdom they wish they could have had going in. They reflect on their divergent paths to success, and muse about the path not taken. With contributors including David Orr, James Franco, Simon Critchley, Terry Castle, Sheila Heti, and many more, Should I Go to Grad School? is a must read for anyone seriously considering that titular question.
The Unwritten Rules of PhD Research by
"I feel grateful to have found this book only a year into my PhD. It has opened my eyes to the world of academia. There is more to a PhD than just research in the sense of working on a problem, getting some results and publishing your findings. This book has allowed me to open my eyes and see all the other things I should be doing to fully succeed at my endeavour of becoming a researcher myself." Dominic Hosler, University of Sheffield This bestselling book on the process of PhD research provides readers with engaging discussion and comprehensive guidance on aspects that other books don't usually mention. Covering all the key topics of the previous edition, including what a PhD is really about, how to do one well, how to decipher what your supervisor actually means by terms like 'good referencing' and 'clean research question', and how to design, report and defend your research,the authors continue to offer an accessible, down-to-earth, and insightful account of the whole PhD process. Their advice addresses how to avoid some of the pitfalls en route to a successful submission. Updated throughout, the new edition includes new material on: Critical thinking Research skills The route to research independence Different models of study The Unwritten Rules of PhD Research is essential reading for anyone considering a PhD or embarking on one. It will tell you the things many students wish someone had told them before they started.
Women in sync: supporting success by 
Gender in Music Production by
The field of music production has for many years been regarded as male-dominated. Despite growing acknowledgement of this fact, and some evidence of diversification, it is clear that gender representation on the whole remains quite unbalanced. Gender in Music Production brings together industry leaders, practitioners, and academics to present and analyze the situation of gender within the wider context of music production as well as to propose potential directions for the future of the field. This much-anticipated volume explores a wide range of topics, covering historical and contextual perspectives on women in the industry, interviews, case studies, individual position pieces, as well as informed analysis of current challenges and opportunities for change. Ground-breaking in its synthesis of perspectives, Gender in Music Production offers a broadly considered and thought-provoking resource for professionals, students, and researchers working in the field of music production today.
Women in the U.S. music industry : obstacles and opportunities by
The study, "Women in the U.S. Music Industry: Obstacles and Opportunities(Opens in a new window)," was created to provide a current snapshot of women working in the industry. Building upon research conducted by Women In Music Canada in 2015, the study analyzed responses from nearly 2,000 women from a survey conducted during the summer of 2018. The survey explored demographics, employment, and the challenges and opportunities for women in the workplace, among other topics.
Women in the Studio by
The field of popular music production is overwhelmingly male dominated. Here, Paula Wolfe discusses gendered notions of creativity and examines the significant under-representation of women in studio production. Wolfe brings an invaluable perspective as both a working artist-producer and as a scholar, thereby offering a new body of research based on interviews and first-hand observation. Wolfe demonstrates that patriarchal frameworks continue to form the backbone of the music industry establishment but that women's work in the creation and control of sound presents a potent challenge to gender stereotyping, marginalisation and containment of women's achievements that is still in evidence in music marketing practices and media representation in the digital era.
The Career Stacks in Living Room of the Stan Getz Library
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)
