Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note: Some of the reports require you to use your OnePass to login.
NAMM Global Report
The NAMM Global Report reveals retail sales figures, unit sales information, analysis, and import/export numbers for musical instruments and products. Learn more about NAMM.
IFPI's Global Music Report
The IFPI Global Music Report report provides an overview of developments in the recorded music sector and in-depth data for the recorded music market at national, regional and global level. Learn more about IFPI.
Global Licensing Survey
The Global Licensing Survey results are derived from multiple sources of market information and data from 257 firms.
Berklee Women in Music 2018
Women in the U.S. Music Industry: Obstacles and Opportunities
This report presents the results of almost 2,000 responses from women to a survey administered in the summer of 2018 to examine the socioeconomic landscape of women working in the music industry across the U.S. It was designed to provide a current snapshot of women working in the American music industry, expanding upon existing research on women in the music industry and providing further data for research, engagement, and advocacy.
Music Trade Reports
2019 International Dealer Sales Report
Find sales and company data – including revenues plus employee and location counts – for leading retailers in 48 countries where music products are sold. Includes complete analysis and company profiles on standout retailers around the world. Excel version includes contact information and market data by country.
2019 Top 100 Suppliers Report
The 100 leading U.S. music companies ranked by the most recent full-year revenues. Also included: employee count and chief executive for each ranked company, plus complete analysis. Excel version includes company contact information and ten years of data.
2018 Top 100 Retailers Report
The 200 leading U.S. music retailers ranked by the most recent full-year revenues. Also included: employee and store counts, productivity statistics, products carried, and year-to-year trends – plus complete analysis. Excel version includes company contact information and five years of data.
2019 Music Industry Census Report
Comprehensive U.S. data on 55 product categories across the music products industry. Find ten years of figures showing sales by unit volume, wholesale and retail value, average unit price, and year-to-year trends. A complete analysis is included
Top 225 Global Report -2018
This two-part report includes: 1) A list of the leading 225 music companies around the world, ranked by the most recent full year revenues – plus employee count, CEO, base country, and web address for each. 2) Basic sales and demographic data on 41 countries where music products are sold. Includes complete analysis. Excel version includes two years of country data and five years of company data.
IBISWorld - The Retail Market for Musical Instruments Industry in the US
The Retail Market for Musical Instruments Industry in the US Industry Market Research Report by
Publication Date: October 2018
Industry Market Research Report
Crescendo: Revenue will rise, but the industry will contend with rising import competition
The Retail Market for Musical Instruments is tentatively moving forward, hitting a sweet note over the five years to 2018 as a result of the positive performance of the wider economy. Industry operators participate in the sale of musical instruments and their related products, such as sheet music and CDs. Not included in this industry are sales of audio and video equipment such as microphones or studio equipment like mixers and turntables, as well as services such as instrument repair and rental.
RIAA 2017 Year-End Music Industry Report
2018 Mid-Year Music Industry Revenue Report
Halfway through 2018, the United States music business “continues its comeback story, powered by great new music, talented artists and a re-invented record industry.” Overall market trends in the first half of 2018 continued to reflect the music industry’s rapid transition from unit based physical and digital sales towards streaming music sources. Total revenues from recorded music in the United States grew 10% to $4.6 billion at retail in 1H 2018. Streaming music accounted for ¾ of industry revenues. At wholesale value, revenues rose 10% to $ 3.1 billion.
2018 Mid-Year Latin Music Industry Revenue Report
The Latin music market continued its remarkable transformation in the first half of 2018. Revenues grew 15%, totaling $135 million while streaming represented a remarkable 91% of the entire market. Latin music has become a worldwide phenomenon, driven by a diverse streaming market and Latin labels making smart investments to support their artists’ global ambitions.