Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Center Stacks @ the Stan Getz Library
Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian
Where Are the Career Book stacks?
Career books are all located in the "Career Stacks" area in the Stan Getz Library.
Use our Augmented Search button to find titles on topics such as music business, resumes, internships, social media marketing and more!
In both physical and EBSCO Ebook formats.
Selected Career Databases
Hit Songs Deconstructed
Provides its subscribers with an in-depth understanding of the craft and trends that shape today's chart-topping hits for success in today's music industry. This search features over 200 criteria enabling highly customizable and comparative searches based on compositional characteristics, production techniques and more.
Indie Bible (Music Business Directory)
The Indie Bible is is an a music resource that helps independent artists with their music promotion, indie marketing campaigns, finding a record deal, getting reviews, and more. Includes The Indie Bible Online, The Indie Bible, Ultimate Guide to Promoting your Music: Articles, Ultimate Guide to Booking Gigs, Indie Spotify Bible, Independent Artist's Guide to Spotify, and The Indie Venue Bible (includes the US and Canada).
Music Business Watch
Music Business Watch is one of the leading companies who publish contact information for the music industry. Their titles include the A&R Registry, Music Publisher Registry, and the Film & Television Music Guide. They publish contact information within the music industry; A&R Registry that covers personnel at the major and independent labels, creative personnel at the major and independent music publishers, music business attorneys, artist managers, and all of the music contacts within the film, television and video game community.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier aims specifically at business schools and libraries, containing 2,966 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing.
Music Industry Reports
Find the NAMM Global Report, Berklee's Women in the Music Industry, IFPI's Global Music Report, and other industry reports for the music business.
Anything for a Hit by
Call Number: ML429.C23 A3 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Dorothy Carvello knows all about the music biz. She was the first female A&R executive at Atlantic Records, and one of the few in the room at RCA and Columbia. But before that, she was secretary to Ahmet Ertegun, Atlantic's infamous president, who signed acts like Aretha Franklin and Led Zeppelin, negotiated distribution deals with Mick Jagger, and added Neil Young to Crosby, Stills & Nash. The stories she tells about the kingmakers of the music industry;are outrageous, but it is her sinuous friendship with Ahmet that frames her narrative.
Never split the difference: Negotiating As if Your Life Depended On It by
Call Number: BF637.N48 V67 2017
A former international hostage negotiator for the FBI offers a new, field-tested approach to high-stakes negotiations effective in any situation. After a stint policing the rough streets of Kansas City, Missouri, Chris Voss joined the FBI, where his career as a hostage negotiator brought him face-to-face with a range of criminals, including bank robbers and terrorists. Reaching the pinnacle of his profession, he became the FBI's lead international kidnapping negotiator. Never Split the Difference takes you inside the world of high-stakes negotiations, revealing the skills that helped Voss and his colleagues succeed when it mattered most.