Contents |
Article Number: CCS1
Author: Silverman, Michael J
Title: Forty Years of Case Studies: A History of Clinical Case Studies in the "Journal of Music Therapy," "Music Therapy," and "Music Therapy Perspectives"
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 24:1 (2006) p.4-12
Abstract: A study is presented that identifies and catalogues all of the clinical case studies in music therapy that have appeared in "Journal of Music Therapy," "Music Therapy," and "Music Therapy Perspectives" from 1964 through 2003. Through analysis and identification of 123 studies, it is reasoned that music therapy interventions have been successful with a wide variety of populations using a diversity of clinical techniques to address client deficit areas. The majority of these studies contained only qualitative data. Additionally, 50% of the reviewed articles examined more than one participant.
Special Features: References, Tables, Graphs
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Reference Works; Research Methods; Literature Reviews; Case Studies; Analysis
Organization: Journal of Music Therapy; Music Therapy Perspectives; Music Therapy (Journal)
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1372746
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1372746/132366C51B162D882F8/2?accountid=8581
Last Updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals
Article Number: CCS2
Title : The Effect of Composition (Art or Music) on the Self-Concept of Hospitalized Children
Authors: Colwell, Cynthia M; Davis, Kathy; Schroeder, Linda K
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy42. 1 (Spring 2005): 49-63.
Abstract: The purpose of the present study was to determine the effect of composition (art or music) on the self-concept of hospitalized children. The music composition was created using the program Making More Music. The art composition was a drawing using standard medium. The Piers-Harris Children's Self-Concept Scale was used to measure self-concept. When examining subjects as one group, a significant difference from pre- to posttest for the Total score indicated an improved self-concept.
Subjects: Education--Special Education And Rehabilitation, Medicine (Performing Arts), Music, Music and Other Disciplines
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1100762
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1100762?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: CCS3 Title: Effects of Music Therapy on Young Children's Challenging Behaviors: A Case Study
Author: de Mers, Catherine L; Tincani, Matt; Van Norman, Renee; Higgins, Kyle
Publication title: Music Therapy Perspectives
Volume: 27
Issue: 2
Pages: 88-96
Publication year: 2009
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
Journal subject:Music and Other Disciplines, Medicine (Performing Arts), Psychology, Music
ISSN: 0734-6875
Abstract': A study is presented that examined the effectiveness of music therapy incorporating social stories for three young children with challenging behaviors within a special education setting. Two problem behaviors - hitting and screaming - and one alternative behavior - asking - were targeted for intervention. Music therapy was administered within a multiple baseline across participants design with target behaviors measured during 10-minute free play sessions immediately following therapy. Visual analyses revealed that music therapy decreased problem behaviors and increased alternative behaviors for participants 1 and 2. For participant 3, who exhibited few challenging behaviors during baseline, music therapy had less therapeutic effect. Maintenance probes revealed that music therapy gains continued at least three weeks after intervention.
ProQuest document ID: 1373029
Full Text URL': http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1373029?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text