Contents |
Article Number: PRF1
Author: Lindenfelser, Kathryn J; Grocke, Denise; McFerran, Katrina
Title: Bereaved Parents' Experiences of Music Therapy with their Terminally Ill Child
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 45:3 (Fall 2008) p.330-348
Abstract: The authors report results of a study in which they investigated bereaved parents' experiences of music therapy with their terminally ill child. Interviews were conducted with seven bereaved parents. Transcripts were analyzed using phenomenological strategies. Five themes emerged: (1) music therapy was valued as a means of altering the child's and family's perception of their situation in the midst of adversity; (2) music therapy was a significant component of remembrance; (3) music therapy offered a multifaceted experience for the child and family; (4) music therapy enhanced communication and expression; and (5) parents shared perceptions of and recommendations for improving music therapy services.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Illness; Children; Parents; Music Therapy; Palliative Care; Interviews; Perception; Communication; Remembrances; Emotions
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1092189
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1092189?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: PRF2
Author: Shoemark, Helen; Dearn, Trish
Title: Keeping Parents at the Centre of Family Centred Music Therapy with Hospitalised Infants
Reference: The Australian Journal of Music Therapy 19 (2008) p.3-24
Abstract: Music therapy for hospitalized newborn infants is an emerging clinical field. While a clear picture is being built in the literature about effective methods for direct work with infants, it is more difficult to inform the clinical reality of providing services in a family-centered practice model. Beginning with a single case study, the authors engaged in lengthy discussion about the broader issues of providing effective clinical services to the families of hospitalized infants. The authors wrote their own narrative about working with families, using their practice wisdom as music therapists and their personal experiences of hospitalization with family. These narratives were combined and framed into categories and these categories were revisited and overlapping material was collapsed under major themes. The themes include: The necessary character of the music therapist; music therapy is a triadic relationship; endurance - the long journey; parents experience joy during music therapy; music therapy acknowledges the "whole" developing child; the contingent relationship; a whole life. [Adapted from publication abstract]
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Neonatal Development; Infants; Health Care; Health Promotion; Medical Disorders; Parental Involvement; Families; Hospitals
Publisher: Australian Music Therapy Association Inc
ISSN: 1036-9457
ProQuest Document ID: 1467457
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1467457?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: PRF3
Title :The Effects of Music Therapy-Based Bereavement Groups on Mood and Behavior of Grieving Children: A Pilot Study
Authors: Hilliard, Russell E
Reference: Journal of music therapy 38.4 (2001): 291,291-306.
Abstract: Measures, in a study, the effects of music therapy-based bereavement groups on mood and behavior of grieving children. States that all 18 subjects participated in a battery of psychometric tests that measured behavior, mood, and grief symptoms for both pretests and posttests. Explains that statistical analysis indicated a significant difference among subjects in the experimental group for the Behavior Rating Index for children in the home environment and the Bereavement Questionnaire for Parents/Guardians. Concludes that participation in music therapy-based bereavement groups served to reduce grief symptoms among the subjects as evaluated in the home. Includes tables and references.
Publisher American Music Therapy Association
Journal Subjects: Education--Special Education And Rehabilitation, Medicine (Performing Arts), Music, Music and Other Disciplines
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID 1097486
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1097486?accountid=8581
Last updated 2011-02-28
Database International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text