Contents |
Article Number: NRA1
Author: Bower, Janeen; Shoemark, Helen
Title: Music Therapy to Promote Interpersonal Interactions in Early Paediatric Neurorehabilitation
Reference: The Australian Journal of Music Therapy 20 (2009) p.59-75
Abstract: The authors present a case study of a pediatric patient with an acquired brain injury (ABI) who emerged from coma and posttraumatic amnesia. He was able to produce some speech, but was unable to successfully use it to relate to others. The clinical music therapy program promoted basic interpersonal interaction skills, other than speech, in the early stages of his recovery. Music therapy and co-facilitated music therapy/speech pathology interventions were successful in engaging the patient in musical interactions and offered the opportunity to musically rehearse appropriate interpersonal interactions to build social capacity.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Rehabilitation; Patients; Music Therapy; Interactions; Case Studies; Children; Interpersonal Relationships; Speech; Brain Activity; Injuries
Publisher: Australian Music Therapy Association Inc
Country: Australia
Language: English
ISSN: 1036-9457
ProQuest Document ID: 1467269
Document URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1467269?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Author: Daveson, Barbara A
Title: A Description of a Music Therapy Meta-Model in Neuro-Disability and Neuro-Rehabilitation for Use with Children, Adolescents and Adults
Reference: The Australian Journal of Music Therapy 19 (2008) p.70-85
Abstract: Recently, the need for adaptable models of music therapy within neuro-disability and neuro-rehabilitation, alongside the need to demonstrate outcomes, has been identified within music therapy literature. This paper presents a flexible, tri-pronged meta-approach to music therapy practice that promotes service-user involvement and allows for the measurement of outcomes through the use of a particular approach to goal-setting. The three approaches of the meta-model (i.e. restorative, compensatory and psycho-social-emotional approaches) are described, and case vignettes of work with those with brain injury and neuro-degenerative disease are shared to illustrate how the model can be used to support these treatment approaches. An outline of the development of the model is provided and comment about the potential challenges regarding the use of the model is included. This meta-model is applicable to practice in hospitals as well as residential and outpatient settings with children, adolescents, and adult patients in neurology, neuro-disability and neuro-rehabilitation. [Adapted from publication abstract]
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Diagrams, Charts, References, Tables
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Disabilities; Rehabilitation; Brain damage; Neurobiology; Diseases; Medical Treatment
Publisher: Australian Music Therapy Association Inc
Country: Australia
ISSN: 1036-9457
ProQuest Document ID: 1465832
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1465832?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: NMR1
Author: Clair, Alicia Ann; O'Konski, Marjorie
Title: The Effect of Rhythmic Auditory Stimulation (RAS) on Gait Characteristics of Cadence, Velocity, and Stride Length in Persons with Late Stage Dementia
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 43:2 (Summer 2006) p.154-163
Abstract: A study is presented that examined persons diagnosed with dementia in late-stage who had locomotion Functional Independence Measure ratings of total assistance required and maximial assistance required. Patients were enrolled in a restoration ambulation program and were studied under three conditions: (1) rhythmic auditory stimulation, by which metronomic beats were imbedded in music; (2) rhythmic auditory stimulations with metronomic beats and no music; and (3) no auditory stimulus. Gait characteristics of cadence, velocity, and stride length were compared across the three variables with no statistically significant differences. However, the presence of rhythmic auditory stimulation showed the lessening of assistive burdens.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Narrow Subject: Topics: Older People; Music Therapy; Mental Illness; Case Studies;
Metronomes; Rhythm
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
Country: USA
Language: English
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1093341
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1093341?accountid=8581
Last updated 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: NMR2
Author: Kwak, Eunmi Emily
Title: Effect of Rhythmic Auditory Stimulation on Gait Performance in Children with Spastic Cerebral Palsy
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 44:3 (Fall 2007) p.198-216
Abstract: Kwak explores the use of rhythmic auditory stimulation (RAS) for children with spastic cerebral palsy (CP) in a clinical setting in order to determine its effectiveness in gait training for amulation. Results support three conclusions: (1) RAS does influence gait performance of people with CP; (2) individual characteristics, such as cognitive functioning, parental support, and physical ability play an important role in designing training applications, the effectiveness of RAS, and expected benefits; and (3) velocity and stride length can be improved by enhancing balance, trajectory, and kinematic stability without increasing cadence.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, Charts, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Body movements; Music Therapy; Medical Disorders; Rhythm; Brain damage
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1100135
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1100135?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: NMR1
Author: Mondanaro, John F
Title: Music Therapy in the Psychosocial Care of Pediatric Patients with Epilepsy
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 26:2 (2008) p.102-109
Abstract: Presented here is a working model of music therapy as an invaluable component to the psychosocial care of pediatric patients admitted for the diagnostic testing and treatment of epilepsy. Central to this model is the implementation of music therapy across three domains: psychoeducation to increase patient understanding and awareness, procedural support to maximize coping and compliance, and psychotherapeutic support to facilitate the expression and processing of feelings pertinent to the experience of living with epilepsy. Data collected over a four-year period in which 835 patients successfully underwent Video Electroencephalogram (diagnostic testing for epilepsy) without the use of sedation or medical controls reflect the efficacy of the model and may also suggest certain cost effectiveness as well. [Publication abstract]
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Medical Conditions; Children; Patients; Medical Treatment; Research; Psychology; Emotions
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1372841
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/iimp/docview/1372841/13236569EB54E46F5EC/1?accountid=8581
Last Updated: 2010-09-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals