Skip to Main Content

Berklee Campus Event Recordings

a guide to campus event recordings and related policies

Campus Event Recordings Available from the Berklee Libraries

What we have:

The Berklee Libraries hold a variety of campus event recordings in myriad audio and video formats, including analog, optical, and streaming formats. 

Boston Conservatory recordings date from the 1960s through the present day, with coverage greatest from the 1990s forward.  

Berklee College of Music recordings date from 1950s through the present day, with coverage greatest from 2012 forward. Most recordings are Berklee Performance Center (BPC) or Cafe 939 events; 1A Berk Recital Hall, 1W Colvin Hall, and David Friend Hall recordings are not comprehensive.  

Not every campus event is recorded, but the most commonly available event recordings include: Annual commencement concerts and ceremonies; clinics, concerts, and special events; Master classes and lectures; student performances; faculty and student projects

How to find and view recordings 

There is currently no singular inventory for Berklee holdings of event recordings. To explore all available collections and resources, see Where to Search. 

Berklee campus event recordings are deposited in the Berklee Archives for permanent preservation. Therefore, with some exceptions, most viewing access is facilitated and mediated by Berklee Archives via onsite viewing appointments or a Berklee-access-only online streaming platform. Additionally, while an event recording may be inventoried or cataloged, it may not be available to view due to rights restrictions or format obsolescence. Please consult our Access and Distribution Policies for information on what we can make available and the restrictions governing personal copies.  

Additionally, gaps exist in our collection holdings and online catalogs due to the volume of events and the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic; most recordings 2021-2023 have not yet been cataloged. If you have questions about the online viewing availability of a recording, email archives@berklee.edu
 

  • Most recordings are searchable in the Albert Alphin Library catalog, however 2021-present are not yet cataloged. Please contact Berklee Archives to request viewing access. 

  • Recordings from 2016 to 2020 are accessible to the Berklee community via a streaming link in an item's Alphin Library catalog record. Access is limited to the Berklee community with a OnePass login. 

  • Recordings between 1999 and 2015 are available to view/listen on CD (1999-2015) or DVD (2004-2015) through the Alphin Library, at designated viewing/listening stations. Any on-campus patron can request a viewing/listening appointment at the Alphin Library.

  • Recordings on optical media, VHS, and older formats may be digitized for streaming access upon request, but may not be accessible due to material fragility or other restrictions.
     

  • Limited recordings 2019-present are available to the Berklee community to stream online (Berklee OnePass login required) via the item's catalog record. 

  • Any patron may schedule a viewing/listening appointment in the Berklee Archives for items in the catalog available on CD/DVD. 

  • Recordings on optical media, VHS, and older formats may be digitized for streaming access or on-campus viewing appointments upon request, but may not be accessible due to material fragility or other restrictions. 
     

To request an appointment or for more information, contact the Archives at archives@berklee.edu. Please allow two (2) weeks to process your request, as most recordings are stored offsite, and recordings on obsolete formats may need additional processing time to digitize on demand. Some formats may not be viable for transfer due to material fragility or availability for playback equipment. Additional restrictions may apply.