The mission of Berklee Archives is to ensure that robust documentation of Berklee is preserved and made available to the Berklee community and to researchers at large. Given Berklee’s stature as the preeminent institute of contemporary music and the performing arts, the Archives preserves, supports, and promotes Berklee’s multidisciplinary curriculum by providing historical context and content that fosters virtuosity, innovation, collaboration, and community.
Berklee Archives serves as the primary repository for materials documenting the history, activities, and contributions of the College and the Conservatory, including its academic and administrative departments, faculty, students, and alumni. In addition, the Archives actively collects materials pertaining to Joseph Schillinger and the Schillinger System of Musical Composition, the history of jazz in Boston, and other jazz and popular music materials of note. Finally, the Archives also manages Berklee’s institutional repository for scholarly and creative work by faculty, students, and the greater Berklee community.
Berklee Archives encourages and supports research, teaching, and scholarship involving the use of materials from our collections.
Berklee Archives is open by appointment to all Berklee community members, scholars, and members of the general public who wish to view our materials. Please review our visitor policies and request an appointment by emailing archives@berklee.edu. Archival collections are non-circulating.
Please note that all archival collections are stored off-site and require advance notice for retrieval. Certain items, such audiovisual materials requiring the production of listening or viewing copies, may require additional processing time before they are ready for use. Limited reproduction services may be available on a case by case basis.
Please see our complete Access and Use policies on our website, including reproduction request forms.
Berklee Archives is located in the Stan Getz Library at 150 Massachusetts Ave. in Boston, Massachusetts. Access to archival materials is available by appointment, Monday - Thursday from 10AM to 4PM. To schedule an appointment, receive research assistance, or request information about our collection or policies, please email archives@berklee.edu or call 617-747-8001
