Skip to main content

Berklee Campus Event Recordings

a guide to campus event recordings and related policies

How do I view or listen to a recording?

Campus event recordings are considered archival, and therefore cannot be checked out, but can be viewed by appointment at the Berklee Archives (for College event recordings), or at viewing/listening stations in the Albert Alphin Library (for Conservatory event recordings).
 

To view or listen to a Berklee College of Music campus event recording, please contact archives@berklee.edu to schedule an appointment. Please note that in some cases, the recordings are housed off-site and will require 1-2 business days for retrieval.
 

To view or listen to a Boston Conservatory at Berklee campus event recording, visit the designated viewing/listening stations in the Albert Alphin Library.


Important: Older recordings on obsolete formats require 1-2 weeks  processing time to digitize on-demand, so please plan ahead!

 

Can I get a copy of an event recording?

If your event was recorded, you have the right to request a personal copy of the recording. You can also grant distribution privileges (e.g. to fellow performers in the event, or to someone requesting a copy.) 

Current Students and Faculty: Video Services will provide with access to the master video recording of your show. You will receive a link to download the video file of your performance within 5 business days of your performance. Please contact videoservices@berklee.edu directly for more information.

Alumni and Former Faculty: to request a copy of a recording you led, email archives@berklee.edu with the event information (date, venue, and any other descriptive information). The Archives will contact you within 3 business days to confirm your request. You may be required to sign a release form. Keep in mind that recent performances (within the last 1-2 semesters) may not be immediately available, and some performances are not eligible for distribution due to copyright restrictions. 


Video Services has provided links to event leaders of all Berklee campus performances. Event leaders have the right and ability to distribute and share access to the recording. If you have not already done so, contact the event leader directly to request access.

If you're unsuccessful in obtaining access from the event leader, contact archives@berklee.edu with the event information (date, venue, and any descriptive information, including names of performers involved if known) to make a request. The Archives will contact you within 3 business days to confirm whether we can provide a copy of the recording. If granted, you may be required to complete a release form. 

You may also view your performance at any time at the Library. Please note that recent performances (within the last 1-2 semesters) may not be immediately available. 

If you composed a work performed in an event and are unable to secure a copy from the event leader, contact archives@berklee.edu with the event information (date, venue, and any descriptive information, including names of performers involved if known) to make a request. The Archives will contact you within 3 business days to confirm whether we can provide a copy of the recording. If granted, you will be required to complete a release form. 

Please make every effort to secure permission from the event leader prior to contacting the Archives. 

Most campus event recordings are eventually available for viewing on-site and by appointment in the Berklee Archives or at designated viewing stations at the Albert Alphin Library to anyone within or external to the Berklee community. 

Please contact archives@berklee.edu for further information or to request an appointment. When requesting an appointment, please allow 1-2 weeks for processing, as most recordings are stored off-site, and recordings on obsolete formats may need additional processing time to digitize on demand.

 

Can I use a recording in my classroom?

If you are a faculty member, you can request a 24-hour check-out of a recording for use in the classroom. 

Please plan ahead when making your request, as many recordings are stored offsite and exist on obsolete formats.