Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Berklee Campus Event Recordings

a guide to campus event recordings and related policies
Archival Services During Covid-19
Berklee Archives is currently operating at reduced capacity. While archives staff are available to perform limited research services to Berklee community members, and to assist patrons with access to our rich set of digital resources, we are unable to host viewing/listening appointments or grant access to physical collections. Patrons may submit requests for digital access to Berklee event recordings by emailing archives@berklee.edu.

 

 

Campus Event Recordings Available from the Berklee Libraries

 


What do you have?

 

The Berklee Libraries hold a variety of campus event recordings on audio and video in myriad formats, including digital and analog, with limited content available for streaming. Not every campus event is recorded, but the most commonly available event recordings include: 
 

  • Annual commencement concerts and ceremonies

  • Clinics, concerts, and special events

  • Master classes and lectures

  • Student performances

  • Faculty and student projects


How comprehensive is the collection?

 

Berklee College of Music recordings date as far back as the 1970s through the present day (with a lag of 1 or 2 semesters), though coverage is most comprehensive from 2012 forward. Most recordings are Berklee Performance Center or Cafe 939 events; recordings of events from 1A Berk Recital Hall, 1W Colvin Hall, and David Friend Hall are not comprehensive.  

 

Boston Conservatory recordings date from the 1960s through the present day (with a lag of 1 or 2 semesters). 



How do I search the collection? 

 

Multiple resources provide information on Berklee's collection of event recordings. To explore what we have, see Where to Search.


How can I view a recording? 

 

For Boston Conservatory recordings: 

 

  • Recordings from 2016 to present are accessible via a Google Drive link in an item's catalog record
  • Most recordings between 1999 and 2015 are available to view/listen on CD (1999-2015) or DVD (2004-2015) through the Albert Alphin Library, at designated viewing/listening stations.
  • Older formats are digitized upon request (please allow 1-2 weeks for processing)  

 

‚ÄčRequests for reformatting of older recordings, copies, or release of recordings can be directed to the Audio/Visual Office at Boston Conservatory at avdept@bostonconservatory.edu 

 

For Berklee College of Music recordings: 

 

  • Select events are available to the Berklee community to stream online (Berklee OnePass login required)
  • Anyone can request a viewing/listening appointment at the Berklee Archives.
  • If you are an event leader, you can request a copy of the performance or event and distribute copies to others
  • If you performed in or composed a piece for an event and cannot obtain a copy from the event leader, requests can be directed to the Berklee Archives.    
  • If you are a faculty member interested in using a recording in the classroom, you may request a 24-hour checkout for recordings on optical media, or request for a recording to be made available through our streaming portal.
  • Requests for digital access can be submitted with this form.  

 

To request an appointment, a copy of a recording, or for more information, contact the Archives at archives@berklee.edu. Please allow 2-3 weeks to process your request. Most recordings are stored offsite, and recordings on obsolete formats may need additional processing time to digitize on demand.