Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here you will find major sources of French texts and translation, including "Nico Castel" translation books of operas and songs, and other translation books found in the reference section.
For translations of individual operas, check the ML50 section in the Conservatory library.
Opera and Song texts - Nico Castel and others
French Opera Libretti by
Call Number: Vocal REF ML48 .I884 2000
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
V. 1. Werther ; Carmen ; Samson et Dalila ; Lakḿe ; Pelléas et Mélisande ; Chérubin ; Don Carlos ; Les contes d'Hoffmann
V. 2. Faust ; Roméo et Juliette ; La juive ; Mignon ; Hamlet ; Thaïs ; Les pêcheurs de perles
V. 3. Le prophète ; Cendrillon ; Louise ; Don Quichotte ; Les Huguenots ; Les Troyens.
Francis Poulenc : selected song texts by
Call Number: Vocal REF ML54.6.P71 N47 2010
The book does discuss seventy songs composed for voice and piano, written from texts now in the public domain. Because of copyrights, this volume does not contain the complete song texts of Francis Poulenc.The text included in this volume are of poems by Apollinaire, Banville, Charles d'Orléons, Cocteau, Eighteenth-Century Anonymous, Jacob, Kangourou, Malherbe, Moréas, Racine, Radiguet, Ronsard, and Shakespeare.
Gluck and Monteverdi Opera Libretti by
Call Number: Vocal REF ML48 .G57 2008
Orfeo ed Euridice -- Alceste -- Iphigénie en Aulide -- Iphigénie en Tauride -- L'Orfeo -- Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria -- L'incoronazione di Poppea
Italian/French Belcanto Opera Libretti, Vol. 3 by
Call Number: Vocal REF ML48 .I882 2000 v.3
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Guillaume Tell (Rossini) ; Le comte Ory (Rossini) ; Otello (Rossini) ; Semiramide (Rossini) ; Il viaggio a Reims (Rossini) -- La fille du régiment (Donizetti) -- La favorite (Donizetti) ; Beatrice di Tenda (Bellini)
The Interpretation of French Song by
Call Number: REF MT892 .B4
Publication Date: 1978-02-17
This is the standard work on its subject, and its author the outstanding authority. Pierre Bernac had a long and distinguished career as a singer, specializing in the French song (or mélodie) repertoire. For many years he was incomparable partnered by Francis Poulenc, one of the composers discussed in this book. M. Bernac later taught and gave master classes in Europe and the United States. He died in 1979. Among eighteen composers whose vocal works are covered in the book are Berlioz, Gounod, Duparc, Chausson, Fauré, Debussy, Satie, Ravel--as well as Poulenc and others. The greater part of each composer's output in the genre is discussed: texts of nearly 200 songs are given in French, with line-for-line verse translations by Winifred Radford, notes on pronunciation, and simple but detailed suggestion for performance and interpretation. Preceding these sections on the songs themselves are three most important chapters on performance and interpretation in vocal music, on singing in French, and on the particular problems involved in the interpretation of French mélodies. This is the book every serious singer needs--and, more and more, singers are "discovering" French song. It is also an invaluable guide for the concert-goer and record collector.
Word-by-Word Translations of Songs and Arias by
Call Number: REF ML54.6 .W65 pt.1
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
This classic test first published in 1966 has withstood the test of time as a teaching aid for English-speaking singers, coaches, and accompanists, in order that their art may be more communicative to the public. This word-by-word translation allows the artist to properly interpret and express the feelings and emotions that the words require at the proper time.
Masters of the French Art Song by
Call Number: REF ML54.6 .M33 2001
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Now in paper An invaluable reference text for singers, teachers, and vocal and operatic coaches, this volume contains the complete song texts of the songs for voice and piano by Chausson, Debussy, Duparc, Faure, and Ravel. All these song texts are in an easy-to-read three-line format; Line 1: the original language text; Line 2: a vertically accurate word-by-word translation into English, using the exact word order of the original language; Line 3: a poetic reconstruction of Line 2 into a more poetically understandable English form. This format differs from purely poetic or singing translations by giving the user an exact, accurate knowledge of each word as it is understood by a native language singer. Cloth edition published in 1991. Available in paperback in 2001.
Encyclopedia of French Art Song by
Call Number: REF ML102 .S6 D39 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
The Encyclopedia of French Art Song: Fauré, Debussy, Ravel, Poulenc is ideal for student and professional singers, pianists, voice teachers, and anyone interested in French art song and culture. This multi-disciplinary work is a unique single source, fusing encyclopedic entries on songs, poems, poets, historical and cultural figures and movements with a dictionary of pertinent nouns and adjectives. It provides both facts and context in an authoritative yet engaging style. The book is cross-referenced for greater ease in finding information relevant to each song discussed.
Cassell's French Dictionary by
Call Number: REF PC2640 .C3 1977
Publication Date: 1977-10-15
French-Canadian terms are included in this French dictionary which also affords a comprehensive coverage of classical literary language.
Understanding French Verse by
Call Number: PC2511 .H86 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
While other books help singers with French diction, or offer translations of French texts, this book helps a singer understand the meaning behind what they are singing. Understanding French Verse is an essential tool for singers, accompanists, and other musicians who want to understand more about the French texts with which they are working.