In the Heights
by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The eagerly awaited follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller Hamilton: The Revolution, Lin-Manuel Miranda's new book gives readers an extraordinary inside look at In the Heights, his breakout Broadway debut, written with Quiara Alegría Hudes, now a Hollywood blockbuster. "[An] exuberant, unique, and invaluable record of dynamic, brilliant, and soulful creativity."--Booklist (starred review) In 2008, In the Heights, a new musical from up-and-coming young artists, electrified Broadway. The show's vibrant mix of Latin music and hip-hop captured life in Washington Heights, the Latino neighborhood in upper Manhattan. It won four Tony Awards and became an international hit, delighting audiences around the world. For the film version, director Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians) brought the story home, filming its spectacular dance numbers on location in Washington Heights. That's where Usnavi, Nina, and their neighbors chase their dreams and ask a universal question: Where do I belong? In the Heights: Finding Home reunites Miranda with Jeremy McCarter, co-author of Hamilton: The Revolution, and Quiara Alegría Hudes, the Pulitzer Prize-winning librettist of the Broadway musical and screenwriter of the film. They do more than trace the making of an unlikely Broadway smash and a major motion picture: They give readers an intimate look at the decades-long creative life of In the Heights. Like Hamilton: The Revolution, the book offers untold stories, perceptive essays, and the lyrics to Miranda's songs--complete with his funny, heartfelt annotations. It also features newly commissioned portraits and never-before-seen photos from backstage, the movie set, and productions around the world. This is the story of characters who search for a home--and the artists who created one.
Scenes for Latinx Actors
by
The repertoire offered here provides actors with a multitude of stories about Latinx life in the Americas in all of its complexity. Nonetheless each scene provides performers with what they need from this volume for classroom and professional presentations: short, incisive, lucid scenes and compelling relationships and play worlds that make the richness of Latinx life perceivable by a variety of audiences. The content of scenes varies wildly, some take on contemporary racist and xenophobic political formations, others gesture to the long history and the effects of dictatorships in the Southern Cone. Others take on daily life in American cities, revealing the characters¿ struggles to survive. There are stories of leaving and coming home, plays based on Greek myths, plays that re-write history, plays that point to the racism of Hollywood and the industry. All are compelling and emotionally gripping, many are slyly humorous, a few downright heartbreaking. ¿Scenes for Latinx Actors¿ is an extraordinary resource for the American Theater of the 21st Century.
The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity
by
Dramatic Comedy CHaracters: 5 male (1 non-speaking) Single Set Finalist for the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Drama Winner 2011 Obie Award for Best New American Play Winner 2011 New York Times Outstanding Playwright Awards Winner 2008 National Latino Playwriting Award Mace is a professional wrestler. He's a really good professional wrestler. He's not the champion though - that's the impossibly charismatic Chad Deity. When Mace discovers a young India
Evita
by
True-life story of Eva Peron, who rose above childhood poverty and a scandalous past to achieve fortune and fame.
Real Women Have Curves and Other Plays by Josefina Lopez
by
Five well known plays by well known playwright and screenwriter Josefina Lopez presented with a detailed introduction from Dr. Jorge A. Huerta. Real Women Have Curves explores the politics of beauty and the power women have when working together. Simply Maria or the American Dream deals with the struggle of a young Mexican girl to find her identity and stay true to her self and her dreams. Confessions of Women from East L.A. shatters stereotypes of Latina women by providing complex explorations into to the Latina experience. Food for the Dead is a satirical look at machismo while celebrating Mexican cultural traditions and sexual liberation. Unconquered Spirits explores the legend of "La Llorona" from a Chicana feminist perspective retelling the spiritual conquest of Mexico and celebrating the unbeatable spirit of the indigenous and Chicanos. Josefina L pez is best known for authoring the play and co-authoring the film Real Women Have Curves, a coming-of-age story about Ana, a first-generation Chicana torn between pursuing her college ambitions, a personal goal, and securing employment which is a family expectation. Along the way, Ana confronts a host of cultural assumptions about beauty, marriage and a woman's role in society. Although Real Women Have Curves is Lopez' most recognized work, it is only one of many literary and artistic works she has created since her artistic career began at 17. Born in San Luis Potosi, Mexico in 1969, Josefina Lopez was five years old when she and her family immigrated to the United States and settled in the East Los Angeles neighborhood of Boyle Heights. Josefina was undocumented for thirteen years before she received Amnesty in 1987 and eventually became a U.S. Citizen in 1995. Josefina has been an activist and has been doing public speaking for over 20 years and has lectured on various topics including Chicano Theater, Women's History Issues, Minority representation in Cinema at over 200 universities such as Yale, Darmouth, and USC. She also has a magazine column called "Ask A Wise Latina". She has been the subject of countless TV & Radio interviews in which she has passionately discussed immigration issues and other controversial subjects concerning women and minorities. Josefina is the recipient of a number of other awards and accolades, including a formal recognition from U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer's 7th Annual "Women Making History" banquet in 1998; and a screenwriting fellowship from the California Arts Council in 2001. She and Real Women Have Curves co-author George LaVoo won the Humanitas Prize for Screenwriting in 2002, The Gabriel Garcia Marquez Award from L.A. Mayor in 2003, and the Artist-in-Residency grant from the NEA/TCG for 2007. Josefina is presently developing the musical version of Real Women Have Curves. Her first novel titled Hungry Woman in Paris came out last spring. She wrote a play to protest SB1070 titled Detained in the Desert, which she is currently making into a film. She is working on her next novel Summer of San Miguel and opening a cultural center in Boyle Heights where she plans to continue celebrating women and Latinos For more information please go to josefinalopez.com & casa0101.org.
The Transition of Doodle Pequeno
by
On New Ground
by
Like American society in general, American theatre has been enriched by the influence of Hispanic cultures. This first major collection presents six outstanding authors who write in English but draw from their various Hispanic backgrounds. Lynne Alvarez's The Guitarron is a mysterious tale set by the Mexican seaside of a meeting between a cellist, two fishermen, a master boatwright and two young lovers. An Obie award-winning play, The Conduct of Life by Maria Irene Fornes examines the sadistic relationships in the household of a Latin-American torturer. White Water by John Jesurun is an experimental performance piece looking at the interrogation of an adolescent boy who has witnessed a mysterious healing. A wedding reception in Southern California provides the setting for Eduardo Machado's darkly comic play, Broken Eggs, which looks at the problems facing a formerly wealthy Cuban family adjusting to life in the United States. In Jose Rivera's The House of Ramon Iglesia, two generations of a Puerto Rican family clash over who owns their dilapidated house on Long Island and whether their home should be on Long Island at all. The return of a long-absent father to his Chicano family is the scene for Milcha Sanchez-Scott's Roosters and the cause of much confusion, fiery conflict, humour and poetry. The volume also contains profiles on each of the writers and a preface from editor M. Elizabeth Osborn.
Evita - Musical Excerpts and Complete Libretto
by
(Vocal Selections). 11 songs from this beloved Andrew Lloyd Webber/Tim Rice musical: And the Money Kept Rolling In (And Out) * Another Suitcase in Another Hall * Buenos Aires * Don't Cry for Me Argentina * Eva, Beware of the City * High Flying, Adored * I'd Be Surprisingly Good for You * On This Night of a Thousand Stars * Rainbow High * She Is a Diamond * Waltz for Eva and Che. Includes fabulous color photos from the Broadway production!
In the Heights
by
(Vocal Selections). The 2008 Broadway musical In the Heights explores three days in the characters' lives in the New York City Latino neighborhood of Washington Heights, with an infectious score featuring hip-hop, salsa, merengue and soul music. Our piano/vocal selections songbook features 14 tunes from the production, which won the Tony for Best Musical and Best Original Score, plus awards from the Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, Theatre World and more! Songs: Breathe * Enough * Everything I Know * Hundreds of Stories * In the Heights * Inutil * It Won't Be Long Now * 96,000 * No Me Diga * Paciencia Y Fe * Piragua * Sunrise * When the Sun Goes Down * When You're Home. Includes a bio of composer Lin-Manuel Miranda, and his Tony acceptance speech. 2008 Tony Winner 4 Awards, Including Best Musical and Best Original Score!
Kiss of the Spider Woman (Vocal Selections)
by
Titles are: Anything for Him * Day After That * Dear One * Dressing Them Up * I Do Miracles * The Kiss of the Spider Woman * The Morphine Tango 1 * Only in the Movies * Over the Wall 2 * She's a Woman * Where You Are.
Once on This Island (Vocal Selections)
by
With full-color photos from the production. Includes: We Dance * Waiting for Life * Rain * Forever Yours * Ti Moune * Mama Will Provide * Some Girls.
West Side Story
by
(Vocal Score). The complete vocal score to one of the most beloved American musicals of all time. Includes complete cast list, vocal ranges, instrumentation list plus an introduction about the famous collaboration that worked together on this project: Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim, Arthur Laurents, and Jerome Robbins.
Antonio Carlos Jobim
"Direct from Brazil comes this deeply appreciative musical tribute to Antonio Carlos Jobim (1927-94), co-founder and leading composer of the Bossa Nova...
V.I.E.W. Video presents an extraordinary gathering of jazz giants in this enhanced DVD presentation with many bonus features. Along with Jobim himself (in his last recorded concert appearance), these superstars recreate Jobim's classic melodies in a beautiful concert-length 'Thank You.'"
Dance in Video Series is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th century concert dance. It features performances from the most influential dancers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos to aid in the teaching of this nuanced art form.
Please note: at this time we are having trouble with Met on Demand for on campus access but the website is working off campus. Hundreds of video performances of The Metropolitan Opera, many of which are in HD.
BTOT 2012 keynote address: Gloria Estefan
Latin American VIVE Music Festival
by
2002 clinic with Abe Laboriel
by
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)
