The International Student Experience: Databases

Cambridge Companions to Music cover composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind.

Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Features more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.

Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.

Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

Provides its subscribers with an in-depth understanding of the craft and trends that shape today's chart-topping hits for success in today's music industry. This search features over 200 criteria enabling highly customizable and comparative searches based on compositional characteristics, production techniques and more.

A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.

Offers global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.

Powered by Gale’s popular What Do I Read Next? series, Books & Authors combines both browseable menus and visual search technology to guide readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests.

Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.

Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this collection.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in more than 25 languages.

Statista is the world’s largest online statistics portal, containing over 1 million statistics from 18,000 sources. Industries represented include marketing, finance, energy & environmental services, international sources, and government agencies. With information arranged in graphs, dossier reports, and infographics that can be easily exported, Statista is a go-to source for reports and presentations that require statistical data.

Find the NAMM Global Report, Berklee's Women in the Music Industry, IFPI's Global Music Report, and other industry reports for the music business.

African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

A collection of streaming classical music available online and via their app. It includes more than 1.7 million tracks from more than 700 labels, with new content added monthly. Search by composer, work, performer or other keyword.

Contains a wide range of streaming popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Dance in Video Series is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th century concert dance. It features performances from the most influential dancers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos to aid in the teaching of this nuanced art form.

Drama Online is an award-winning digital library of with playtexts, and hours of streaming video from leading theatre publishers and companies offering a complete multimedia experience of theatre. The databases Play Tools allow research into Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
Our Berklee subscription includes access to specifically (looking for a play? you may want to limit database to "Show subscribed content only"