Skip to main content

Drama Online : Collections

Aurora Metro Books

Aurora Metro Books

 

This collection includes over 125 plays and non-fiction books on theatre, including wide-ranging and highly contemporary new drama with a focus on women’s drama, international drama and drama by black and Asian writers.

 

BBC Drama Films and Documentaries

BBC Drama Films and Documentaries

BBC Drama Films and DocumentariesThis collection features stunning film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare, to Oscar Wilde, Henrik Ibsen, August Strindberg, Bernard Shaw and contemporary writers, Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall.

Hollow Crown

The Hollow Crown

The Hollow CrownThe first series of The Hollow Crown brings together four filmed adaptations of Shakespeare's History Plays - Richard II, Henry IV Part 1, Henry IV Part 2, and Henry V. Starring Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons and Tom Hiddleston, this continuous story of monarchy follows events during sixteen years of dynastic and political power play.


In Series 2, Henry VI in two parts and Richard III, tell the story of ‘The Wars of the Roses’, an exceptionally turbulent period in British history. Starring Benedict Cumberbatch, Hugh Bonneville, Judi Dench, Michael Gambon, Sally Hawkins, Sophie Okonedo and Tom Sturridge, these exhilarating and emotionally charged films feature some of Shakespeare’s most eloquent and powerful language.

Nick Hern Books

Nick Hern Books

A ​collection of almost 400 titles includes works from Jez Butterworth, Caryl Churchill, David Edgar, Helen Edmundson, Liz Lochhead, Conor McPherson, Rona Munro, Enda Walsh and Nicholas Wright. More recent additions to NHB include plays by Mike Bartlett, Alecky Blythe, Alexi Kaye Campbell, Vivienne Franzmann, debbie tucker green, Ella Hickson, Lucy Kirkwood, Bruce Norris, Nina Raine, Jack Thorne and Tom Wells.

Royal Shakespeare Company

Royal Shakespeare Company 

The RSC Live Collection includes live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company performed between 2013 and 2017. These included the cutting-edge The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale featuring innovative live motion capture.

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)Founded by the American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare’s Globe celebrates Shakespeare’s transformative impact on the world. Inspired by two beautiful, iconic theatres, the Globe's diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance and excites learning to make his work accessible to all.