Welcome to our research guide for Psychology. Scroll down or navigate the tabs above to see books, periodicals, videos, and more recommendations assembled by library staff.
^Navigate the tabs in this box to find books^
Types of books:
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV-TR by
Since the DSM-IV® was published in 1994, we've seen many advances in our knowledge of psychiatric illness. This Text Revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IV® was completed in 1994. Updated information is included about the associated features, culture, age, and gender features, prevalence, course, and familial pattern of mental disorders. The DSM-IV-TR® brings this essential diagnostic tool up-to-date, to promote effective diagnosis, treatment, and quality of care. Now you can get all the essential diagnostic information you rely on from the DSM-IV® along with important updates not found in the 1994 edition. Stay current with important updates to the DSM-IV-TR®: #149; Benefit from new research into Schizophrenia, Asperger's Disorder, and other conditions#149; Utilize additional information about the epidemiology and other facets of DSM conditions #149; Update ICD-9-CM codes implemented since 1994 (including Conduct Disorder, Dementia, Somatoform Disorders)
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by
With 1001 A-Z entries ranging from brief statements to substantial essays on major topics, the Oxford Companion to the Mind takes the reader on a lively tour of this endlessly fascinating subject, spanning many questions and answers within the broad compass of philosophy, psychology, and the physiology of the brain. An important feature of the book is the large number of articles on 'topics of mental life', in which well-known writers discuss subjects in which they have a particular expertise or interest. So A. J. Ayer writes on philosophical views of the relation between mind and body, John Bowlby on attachment, Chomsky on his own theory of language, R. D. Laing on interpersonal experience, Alexander Luria on neurolinguistics, and B. F. Skinner on behaviorism. The editor, Richard Gregory, writes on perception and illusions. The entries are arranged alphabetically and linked by a network of helpful cross-references. The 200 illustrations have been carefully chosen to amplify the text, while specialist bibliographies provide suggestions for further reading. The whole work is served by a comprehensive index, making this a Companion for instant reference as well as continuous reading.
Psychology by
Your Space is a three-level course designed to motivate students as they grow and change. The Level 1 Teacher's Book is designed to give teachers full support with lesson preparation to enable an enjoyable classroom experience. It provides extra activities linked to the project work for each unit. With comprehensive explanations and plenty of ideas for how to exploit the Student's Book material to maximum benefit, it also contains all the transcripts and answer keys for the activities from both the Student's Book and Workbook. The Tests CD contains an Entry and Exit Test, and Skills Tests and Unit Tests for each unit.
Introduction to Psychology by
Co-written by an author who garners more accolades and rave reviews from instructors and students with each succeeding edition, INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY: GATEWAYS TO MIND AND BEHAVIOR, TWELFTH EDITION attracts and holds the attention of even difficult-to-reach students. The Twelfth Edition's hallmark continues to be its pioneering integration of the proven-effective SQ4R learning system (Survey, Question, Read, Reflect, Review, Recite), which promotes critical thinking as it guides students step-by-step to an understanding of psychology's broad concepts and diversity of topics. Throughout every chapter, these active learning tools together with the book's example-laced writing style, discussions of positive psychology, cutting-edge coverage of the field's new research findings, and excellent media resources ensure that students find the study of psychology fascinating, relevant, and above all, accessible.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Queer Psychology by
This exciting and engaging textbook introduces students to the psychology of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer lives and experiences. It covers a broad range of topics including diversity, prejudice, health, relationships, parenting and lifespan experiences from youth to old age. The book includes'key researcher'boxes, which outline the contributions of significant individuals and their motivations for conducting their research in their own words. Key issues and debates are discussed throughout the book, and questions for discussion and classroom exercises help students reflect critically and apply their learning. There are extensive links to further resources and information, as well as'gaps and absences'sections, indicating major limitations of research in a particular area. This is the essential textbook for anyone studying LGBTQ psychology, psychology of sexuality or related courses. It is also a useful supplement to courses on gender and developmental psychology.
DSM-IV-TR Casebook by
Newly updated for DSM-IV-TR, the DSM-IV-TRr Casebook facilitates the transition from the concepts and terminology of DSM-IV-TR to actual clinical situations by providing clinical vignettes for illustration and study. Carefully updated, it helps both students and clinicians visualize DSM-IV-TR disorders through the use of clinical vignettes. Each is followed by a discussion of the DSM-IV-TR differential diagnosis. The DSM-IV-TRr Casebook is highly recommended for clinicians to help them develop a deeper comprehension of all diagnostic categories.
Civilization and Its Discontents by
It stands as a brilliant summary of the views on culture from a psychoanalytic perspective that he had been developing since the turn of the century. It is both witness and tribute to the late theory of mind--the so-called structural theory, with its stress on aggression, indeed the death drive, as the pitiless adversary of eros.Civilization and Its Discontents is one of the last of Freud's books, written in the decade before his death and first published in German in 1929. In it he states his views on the broad question of man's place in the world, a place Freud defines in terms of ceaseless conflict between the individual's quest for freedom and society's demand for conformity.Freud's theme is that what works for civilization doesn't necessarily work for man. Man, by nature aggressive and egotistical, seeks self-satisfaction. But culture inhibits his instinctual drives. The result is a pervasive and familiar guilt.Of the various English translations of Freud's major works to appear in his lifetime, only one was authorized by Freud himself: The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud under the general editorship of James Strachey.Freud approved the overall editorial plan, specific renderings of key words and phrases, and the addition of valuable notes, from bibliographical and explanatory. Many of the translations were done by Strachey himself; the rest were prepared under his supervision. The result was to place the Standard Edition in a position of unquestioned supremacy over all other existing versions.
The Ego and the Id by
The Ego and the Id ranks high among the works of Freud's later years. The heart of his concern is the ego, which he sees battling with three forces: the id, the super-ego, and the outside world
Man and His Symbols by
Illustrated throughout with revealing images, this is the first and only work in which the world-famous Swiss psychologist explains to the layperson his enormously influential theory of symbolism as revealed in dreams.
The Portable Jung by
This comprehensive collection of writings by the epoch-shaping Swiss psychoanalyst comprises Jung's pioneering studies of the structure of the psyche—including the works that introduced such notions as the collective unconscious, the Shadow, Anima and Animus—as well as inquires into the psychology of spirituality and creativity
The Undiscovered Self by
A brilliant and searching inquiry into the dilemma of the individual in today's society. "A passionate plea for individual integrity."-The New York Times Book Review.
Synchronicity by
Extracted from Volume 8. A parapsychological study of the meaningful coincidence of events, extrasensory perception, and similar phenomena.
Please Understand Me by
A 40 year clinical study of differences in temperament and character in mating, parneting, teaching and leading. Defines four types: Dionysians (SP), Epimethians (SJ), Prometheans (NT) and Apollonians (NF). Keirsey Temperament Sorter included.
Obedience to Authority by
Stanley Milgram's experiments on obedience to authority are among the most important psychological studies of this century. Perhaps because of the enduring significance of the findings--the surprising ease with which ordinary persons can be commanded to act destructively against an innocent individual by a legitimate authority--it continues to claim the attention of psychologists and other social scientists, as well as the general public.
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by
With 1001 A-Z entries ranging from brief statements to substantial essays on major topics, the Oxford Companion to the Mind takes the reader on a lively tour of this endlessly fascinating subject, spanning many questions and answers within the broad compass of philosophy, psychology, and the physiology of the brain. An important feature of the book is the large number of articles on 'topics of mental life', in which well-known writers discuss subjects in which they have a particular expertise or interest. So A. J. Ayer writes on philosophical views of the relation between mind and body, John Bowlby on attachment, Chomsky on his own theory of language, R. D. Laing on interpersonal experience, Alexander Luria on neurolinguistics, and B. F. Skinner on behaviorism. The editor, Richard Gregory, writes on perception and illusions. The entries are arranged alphabetically and linked by a network of helpful cross-references. The 200 illustrations have been carefully chosen to amplify the text, while specialist bibliographies provide suggestions for further reading. The whole work is served by a comprehensive index, making this a Companion for instant reference as well as continuous reading.
The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by
In his most extraordinary book, "one of the great clinical writers of the twentieth century" (The New York Times) recounts the case histories of patients lost in the bizarre, apparently inescapable world of neurological disorders.
The Mind's Ear: Exercises for Improving the Musical Imagination for Performers, Composers, and Listeners by
The Mind's Ear offers a unique approach to stimulating the musical imagination and inspiring creativity, as well as providing detailed exercises aimed at improving the ability to read and imagine music in silence, in the "mind's ear."
A Generative Theory of Tonal Music by 
Cognitive Foundations of Musical Pitch by
This book addresses the central problem of music cognition: how listeners' responses move beyond mere registration of auditory events to include the organization, interpretation, and remembrance of these events in terms of their function in a musical context of pitch and rhythm. Equally important, the work offers an analysis of the relationship between the psychological organization of music and its internal structure.
The Developmental Psychology of Music by
This book sets out the psychological basis of musical development in children and adults. The study has two major objectives: to review the research findings, theories and methodologies relevant to the developmental study of music; and to offer a framework within which these can be organised so as to pave the way for future research. It describes the relationship between thinking and music, and discusses the relationship between thinking and music in pre-schoolers and schoolchildren in areas such as singing, aesthetic appreciation, rhythmic and melodic development, and the acquisition of harmony and tonality. The book describes the development of musical taste, and discusses the questions of musical creativity, and of the social psychology of musical taste and fashion. As a comprehensive study of the links between developmental psychology and music education, Hargreaves' work demonstrates the practical and theoretical importance of psychological research on the process underlying children's musical perception, cognition and performance.
The Musical Mind by
In this survey of our current knowledge concerning the cognitive psychology of music, the author--a psychologist and practicing musician--examines the mental processes involved in composing, performing, listening to, and "understanding" music, and shows how such skills are acquired.
Music, Thought, and Feeling by
Music, Thought, and Feeling surveys the interplay among psychology, neuroscience and music. Thompson begins by establishing a foundation in the evolution of music and the building blocks of music. The text then explores: how humans perceive music; the links between music and emotion; whatthe latest neuroimaging techniques tell us about music's effect on the brain; and the psychological processes involved in imagining, composing, and performing music. Written for students of psychology and music alike, Music, Thought, and Feeling promises to become the defining text for thepsychology of music course.
Music That Works by
Many different disciplines are analyzing the impact of music today. How and why this ancient cultural asset molds, empowers and makes use of us can only become apparent in a synopsis and exchange involving scientific research. With this perspective as its foundation, the conference "Mozart and Science" extended invitations to the first interdisciplinary and international dialogue between the social and physical sciences about the effects of music. This book is based on the results of that congress. It contains contributions penned by leading scientists from around the world belonging to diverse music science disciplines and in particular covers psycho-physiological, neuro-developmental and cognitive aspects associated with the experience of music. Additional essays provide insights into research conducted about how music is applied in therapy and medicine.
Musical Forces by
Steve Larson drew on his 20 years of research in music theory, cognitive linguistics, experimental psychology, and artificial intelligence--as well as his skill as a jazz pianist--to show how the experience of physical motion can shape one's musical experience. Clarifying the roles of analogy, metaphor, grouping, pattern, hierarchy, and emergence in the explanation of musical meaning, Larson explained how listeners hear tonal music through the analogues of physical gravity, magnetism, and inertia. His theory of melodic expectation goes beyond prior theories in predicting complete melodic patterns. Larson elegantly demonstrated how rhythm and meter arise from, and are given meaning by, these same musical forces.
Psychology for Musicians by
What is it that accounts for the differences between musical beginners, advanced music makers, and world class performers? Virtually everyone likes music and has the capacity to be musical in some way (despite what some may say about themselves). Yet far fewer people come to be so involvedwith it that they identify themselves as musicians, and fewer still become musicians of international class.Psychology for Musicians provides the basis for answering this question. Examining the processes that underlie the acquisition of musical skills, Lehmann, Sloboda, and Woody provide a concise, accessible, and up-to-date introduction to psychological research for musicians.
The Science and Psychology of Music Performance by
What type of practice makes a musician perfect? What sort of child is most likely to succeed on a musical instrument? What practice strategies yield the fastest improvement in skills such as sight-reading, memorization, and intonation? Scientific and psychological research can offer answers tothese and other questions that musicians face every day. In The Science and Psychology of Music Performance, Richard Parncutt and Gary McPherson assemble relevant current research findings and make them accessible to musicians and music educators. This book describes new approaches to teachingmusic, learning music, and making music at all educational and skill levels.Each chapter represents the collaboration between a music researcher (usually a music psychologist) and a performer or music educator. This combination of expertise results in excellent practical advice. Readers will learn, for example, that they are in the majority (57%) if they experience rapidheartbeat before performances; the chapter devoted to performance anxiety will help them decide whether beta-blocker medication, hypnotherapy, or the Alexander Technique of relaxation might alleviate their stage fright. Another chapter outlines a step-by-step method for introducing children tomusical notation, firmly based on research in cognitive development. Altogether, the 21 chapters cover the personal, environmental, and acoustical influences that shape the learning and performance of music.
Exploring the Musical Mind by
This title includes the following features: Brings together in one volume important material from various hard-to-locate sources, giving the reader access to a body of work from one of the founders of music psychology; Complements and updates the bestselling 'The Musical Mind' (Sloboda);Focuses on ideas, interpretation, argument and application rather than on technical issues
Gifts Differing by
Like a thumbprint, personality type provides an instant snapshot of a person's uniqueness. Drawing on concepts originated by Carl Jung, this book distinguishes four categories of personality styles and shows how these qualities determine the way you perceive the world and come to conclusions about what you've seen. It then explains what they mean for your success in school, at a job, in a career and in your personal relationships
Attitudes, Behavior, and Social Context by
This book brings together an international group of researchers discussing private and public selves and their interaction through attitudes and behavior. It will interest all social psychologists, both basic and applied, at the graduate level and beyond
The Developmental Social Psychology of Gender by
Numerous publications have addressed gender issues from a social or a developmental psychological perspective. This volume breaks new ground in advancing a genuine synthesis of theory and research from these two disciplines. Building on the premise that a full understanding of the multifaceted nature of gender can be achieved only through a wider focus on processes of development and social influence, the contributors examine theoretical approaches to gender development and socialization, gender categorization and interpersonal behavior, and group-level and cultural forces that affect gender socialization and behavior. The book will be of interest to students and professionals in social psychology, developmental psychology, gender studies, sociology, anthropology, and educational psychology.
The Laramie Project by
On October 7, 1998, a young gay man was discovered bound to a fence in the hills outside Laramie, Wyoming, savagely beaten and left to die in an act of hate that shocked the nation. Matthew Shepard death became a national symbol of intolerance, but for the people of Laramie the event was deeply personal, and they we hear in this stunningly effective theater piece, a deeply complex portrait of a community.
A Child Called It by
This book chronicles the unforgettable account of one of the most severe child abuse cases in California history. It is the story of Dave Pelzer, who was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother: a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games--games that left him nearly dead. He had to learn how to play his mother's games in order to survive because she no longer considered him a son, but a slave; and no longer a boy, but an "it." Dave's bed was an old army cot in the basement, and his clothes were torn and raunchy. When his mother allowed him the luxury of food, it was nothing more than spoiled scraps that even the dogs refused to eat. The outside world knew nothing of his living nightmare. He had nothing or no one to turn to, but his dreams kept him alive--dreams of someone taking care of him, loving him and calling him their son.
The Social Animal by
A landmark text that maintains its relevance and unique approach edition after edition, The Social Animal offers a brief, compelling introduction to modern social psychology. Through vivid narrative, lively presentations of important research, and intriguing examples, Elliot Aronson probes the patterns and motives of human behavior, covering such diverse topics as terrorism, conformity, obedience, politics, race relations, advertising, war, interpersonal attraction, and the power of religious cults.
The Cradle of Knowledge by
In the past twenty-five years there has been an explosion in research on the development of perception. This research has produced discoveries at multiple levels: ecological analyses of the information available for perception, models of representation and process, and improved understanding of biological mechanisms. In this comprehensive treatment of infant perception, the authors bring together work at these multiple levels to produce a new picture of perception's origins.
Child Development by
This text's chronological organization covers all stages of child development, from conception through to adolescence, and features special chapters on genetics and child psychology.
Adolescent Psychological Development by
This advanced text presents a constructivist approach to the development of rationality, morality, and identity in adolescence and early adulthood. It provides a review, long overdue in the developmental literature of post-Piagetian approaches to adolescent cognition, examining classic theories and current research in these three domains.
The Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence by
Examine childhood and adolescent development and get a stronger picture of this maturing area of study through the cross-cultural, real-life examples and research presented in Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence.
How the Brain Learns by
One major development since the third edition of this text is the birth of a new academic discipline. Called educational neuroscience or mind, brain, and education science, this field explores how research findings from neuroscience, education, and psychology can inform our understandings about teaching and learning, and whether they have implications for educational practice. This new edition includes updated information on memory systems, especially the changes in working memory capacity; new research findings on how the explosion of technology may be affecting the brain; new information on brain organization and learning, and revised sections on hemispheric specialization;ánew research on how learning the arts enhances cognitive processing and creativity; an expanded Resources section that includes more Internet sites selected for their reliable information on the brain; and more than 150 new oráupdated references, most of which are primary sources for those who wish to explore the actual research studies. This book opens the door to educational neuroscience in the hopes that educators will experience the joy of seeing more students reach their full potential.
Happier by
Can You Learn to Be Happy? YES . . . according to the teacher of Harvard University's most popular and life-changing course. One out of every five Harvard students has lined up to hear Tal Ben-Shahar's insightful and inspiring lectures on that ever-elusive state: HAPPINESS. HOW? Grounded in the revolutionary "positive psychology" movement,Ben-Shahar ingeniously combines scientific studies, scholarly research, self-help advice, and spiritual enlightenment. He weaves them together into a set of principles that you can apply to your daily life. Once you open your heart and mind to Happier 's thoughts, you will feel more fulfilled, more connected . . . and, yes, HAPPIER. "Dr. Ben-Shahar, one of the most popular teachers in Harvard's recent history, has written a personal, informed, and highly enjoyable primer on how to become happier. It would be wise to take his advice." --Ellen J. Langer, author of Mindfulness and On Becoming an Artist "This fine book shimmers with a rare brand of good sense that is imbedded in scientific knowledge about how to increase happiness. It is easy to see how this is the backbone of the most popular course at Harvard today." --Martin E. P. Seligman, author of Authentic Happiness
Manage Your Stress and Pain Through Music by
(Berklee Guide). Heal your body, mind and spirit using the profound power found in music. This research-based approach to wellness will help you to feel better. Learn to use music to manage your stress and reduce your physical suffering, whether due to the everyday stresses of life or emotional and physical pain. Dr. Hanser and Dr. Mandel share uniquely effective music therapy strategies, learned from many years of research, clinical practice, and personal experience. The accompanying CD provides musical selections with guided relaxation and imagery to enhance your well-being. Includes a foreword, introduction and index.
Overcoming Destructive Beliefs, Feelings, and Behaviors by
First developed in 1955, Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (REBT) is the original form of Cognitive Behavior Therapy and one of the most successful psychotherapeutic techniques in the world. Its founder, world-renowned psychologist Albert Ellis, now offers an up-to-date description of the main principles and practices of this innovative and influential therapy. REBT emphasizes the importance of cognition in psychological disturbances. Its aim is to help patients recognize their irrational and destructive beliefs, feelings, and behaviors, and to restructure harmful philosophic and behavioral styles to achieve maximal levels of happiness and productivity. In this book Dr. Ellis points out the most recent revisions of the original therapy and examines the use of REBT in treating specific clinical problems. Among the topics considered are depression, stress management, addiction, marital problems, the use of hypnosis, disposable myths, and many other obstacles to mental health. This fascinating look at REBT by its internationally recognized creator will be of inestimable value to professionals and laypersons alike.
Selecting Effective Treatments by
This thoroughly revised and updated version of Linda Seligman's classic book, Selecting Effective Treatments, presents a comprehensive, systematic research-based approach to the diagnosis and treatment of all the major mental disorders found in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This third edition includes the most current information and expands the understanding of pervasive developmental disorders, bipolar disorder, disorders of childhood, schizophrenia spectrum disorders, and eating disorders. In addition, the book expands on the sections that deal with the treatment of depression, borderline personality disorder, and more. This important resource also includes new information on assessment, the treatment of dual diagnosis, the spectrum concept of mental disorders, suicide risk factors, and new approaches to treatment.
Theories of Psychotherapy and Counseling by
In this extensive revision of his illuminating text, Richard S. Sharf presents significant theories that provide a systematic approach to the helping professions. Comprehensive yet succinct in its description and explanation of of the major theories of psychotherapy and counseling, THEORIES OF PSYCHOTHERAPY AND COUNSELING: CONCEPTS AND CASES, SECOND EDITION makes ample use of case summaries and client-therapist dialogue. This approach demonstrates how each of 12 major theories can be applied to common psychological disorders (such as depression, anxiety, and borderline disorders) or to modes of treatment (such as individual, couples, families, and groups). Sharf's skillful blending of concepts and examples makes psychotherapy and counseling clearer and more real for the student wanting to learn more about the therapeutic process. For each therapy presented in the text, information about background, personality theory, and theory of psychotherapy provides a means for understanding the application of psychotherapy theory. Through a discussion of goals, assessment, therapeutic relationships, and techniques, as well as current issues that each theory translates in to action. Sharf draws on the knowledge of over 50 experts in a wide variety of theoretical approaches to psychotherapy and counseling. Each specialist provided suggestions for inclusion of specific content as well as reviews of chapters at various stages of the book's developmental. This consultative approach brings a new dimension and candor to the material. Experts make contributions to the discussion of Psychoanalysis, Jungian Analysis and Therapy, Adlerian Therapy, Existential Therapy, Person-Centered Therapy, Gestalt Therapy, Behavior Therapy, Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy, Cognitive Therapy, Reality Therapy, Feminist Therapy, Family Systems Therapy, and Alternative Therapies.
Addressing Cultural Complexities in Practice by
Pamela Hays' 'ADDRESSING' framework enables therapists to better recognise & understand cultural influences as a multidimensional combination of age, developmental & acquired disabilities, religion, ethnicity, socio-economic status, sexual orientation, indigenous heritage, native origin & gender.
Musician's Yoga by
(Berklee Press). Become a better musician through yoga. By integrating yoga into your practice routines, you will develop a more focused and concentrated mind for performance. You will be able to increase awareness of how you use your body to allow for proper posture and ease of movement while performing, helping you to avoid overuse injuries and play with greater expression. These concepts, exercises, and practice routines present yoga from the musicians' perspective, focusing on the direct relationships between using yoga and creating music. You will learn to: * Practice meditation approaches, breathing techniques, and yoga postures that will help improve musicianship * Play using healthy posture and technique * Get more out of your practice through improved focus * Use your breath to improve your phrasing and also to ease performance anxiety * Play with deeper expression through inspiration.
The Music Effect by
Music is well known to have a significant effect on physiology and is widely used as an effective therapeutic tool in stress and pain management, rehabilitation, and behavior modification, but its effects are not well understood. This book explains what 'music' is, how it is processed by and affects the body, and how it can be applied in a range of physiological and psychological conditions. Rhythm, melody, timbre, harmony, dynamics, and form, and their effects on the body are explored in detail, helping practitioners create effective therapy interventions that complement other treatment systems. Case studies and evidence from research and practice show how music therapy can benefit people with autistic spectrum disorders, Down syndrome, schizophrenia, and sensory difficulties, among other conditions. The Music Effect is an essential resource for music therapists, clinicians, educators and anyone with an interest in holistic therapy.
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)