1913: seeds of conflict by
This documentary examines a critical yet overlooked moment of transformation in Palestine, long before the Balfour Declaration and British Mandate period usually considered the matchstick for today's ongoing struggles. It was a time when identities were fluid and few Arabs or Jews living there could imagine the conflict that would engulf their region for the next century. 1913: Seeds of Conflict explores the crumbling of Ottoman rule and the rise of Jewish and Palestinian nationalism through the words of those who helped shape history: Albert Antebi, a Sephardic Jew known as the Jewish "pasha"; Ruhi al-Khalidi, the scion of a Palestine family and Jerusalem's elected representative to the Ottoman Parliament; Khalil Sakakini, a Christian schoolmaster and voice for Palestinian cultural autonomy; and Arthur Ruppin, a German Zionist who opens the Palestine Office to strategize the shape of a Jewish homeland to come.
The Lady in Number 6
Summary: Academy Award Winner - Best Documentary Short 2014 The Lady in Number 6 is one of the most inspirational and uplifting stories of the year. As the world's oldest pianist and holocaust survivor, 109 year-old Alice Herz Sommer shares her views on how to live a long and happy life. She discusses music, laughter and how to remain optimistic come what may. The film features beautiful photographs and rare film footage that truly brings Alice's extraordinary story to life. Alice Herz Sommer grew up knowing Gustav Mahler and Franz Kafka, became a acclaimed concert pianist, survived the holocaust and her love of music and her amazing ability to always look for the good in the world took her through to an incredible 110 years old. Living at home alone, playing Piano everyday, The Lady in Number 6 is a inspirational lesson on the power of music and how we can all live longer and happier, by truly understanding what is really important in our lives. This film won the Academy Award Documentary Short Award in 2014 and celebrates one of the most amazing people you will ever meet.
Broadway musicals : a Jewish legacy
Examines the unique role of Jewish composers and lyricists in the creation of the modern American musical. This entertaining documentary mingles cultural history with illuminating perspectives on the origins and meanings of some of Broadway's most beloved songs, stories and shows.
Driving Miss Daisy
Summary: Set in Atlanta in the 1950's, a textile factory owner insists on hiring an ever-patient chauffeur for his aging head-strong mother. The Jewish woman and her African American driver eventually build a relationship over many years.
Bikur ha-Tizmoret The band's visit
The Alexandria Ceremonial Police Orchestra arrives in Israel from Egypt for a cultural event. Once there, they find the expected delegation is not there to meet them. Arrangements to get to their destination of Petah Tiqva have not been taken care of either. They find their own ride and arrive instead at the remote town of Beit Hatikva. Stuck there until the next morning's bus, the band, lead by the repressed Tawfiq Zacharaya, gets help from the worldly lunch owner, Dina, who offers to put them up for the night. As the band settles in the best it can, each of the members attempts to get along with the natives in their own way. What follows is a special night of quiet happenings and confessions as the band makes its own impact on the town and the town on them.
The Jewish Americans by
Chronicles the 350 year saga of immigrants who gradually wove themselves into the fabric of American life without abandoning their cherished traditions.
Itzhak Perlman in the fiddler's house
Itzhak Perlman takes a break from the concert hall to explore the vitality of klezmer music, taking him on a journey from New York's Lower East Side to the Jewish Festival in Krakow, Poland.
Falsettos by
(Vocal Selections). Includes: 4 Jews in a Room Bitching * I'm Breaking Down * Marriage Proposal * March of the Falsettos * Making a Home * The Games I Play * I Never Wanted to Love You * Father to Son * The Baseball Game * A Day in Falsettoland * Everyone Hates His Parents * What More Can I Say? * Something Bad is Happening * Holding to the Ground * Unlikely Lovers * You Gotta Die Sometime * What Would I Do.
Farewell, Auschwitz : songs for soprano, mezzo-soprano, baritone with clarinet, violin, violoncello, contrabass and piano by
This is the second part of Heggie's opera in three parts, Out of Darkness--taken from composer's website.. Lyrics are based on Polish lyrics by Krystyna Żywulska written when she was imprisoned at Auschwitz-Birkenau
Divertimento for orchestra by
Divertimentos, serenades, cassations, divertissements, and notturni; Full score, miniature or study size
The Klezmer fiddler : Jewish music of celebration by 
The Leib Glantz Project by
Leib Glantz 1898-1964] is considered one of the greatest cantors and composers of Jewish Liturgical music. He composed 216 compositions of Cantorial, Chassidic, Hebrew and Yiddish titles, widely performed by cantors and singers around the world. The Leib Glantz Project commissioned several world famous musicians to compose new arrangements to 43 of Glantz's most important compositions -- their musical scores included in this 500 page book.
Rounds for string orchestra by
America composer David Diamond (1915-2005) composed "Rounds for String Orchestra" in 1944 in an effort to distract from the dark days of WWII. The light-hearted, energetic work uses contemporary harmonies, interesting textures, and intricate rhythm patterns to develop the form of the round. In three movements, performed without pause, the music travels through from the opening exuberant Allegro molto vivace to a rich, lyrical Adagio, flowing effortlessly into a vibrant Allegro vigoroso that unifies the themes in a glorious finale. Frequently programmed by well-known conductors, including Leonard Bernstein and Aaron Copland, this work has remained popular for decades.
Art Songs and Arias by
(Boosey & Hawkes Voice). These exciting new collections feature new transcriptions, previously unpublished material, and some selections never before published separately from complete vocal scores. High Voice edition features 29 selections and the Medium/Low Voice edition has 34. Contents: Afterthought * from Arias and Barcarolles: (Little Smary * Greeting) * La Bonne Cuisine, Four Recipes: (Plum Pudding * Queues de Boeuf (Ox-Tails) * Tavouk Gueunksis * Civet a Toute Vitess (Rabbit at Top Speed)) * I Hate Music: (I. My Name Is Barbara * II. Jupiter Has Seven Moons * III. I Hate Music! * IV. A Big Indian and a Little Indian * V. I'm a Person Too) * My Twelve-Tone Melody * Piccola Serenata * Silhouette (Galilee) * from Songfest: (Pennycandystore Beyond the El * To What You Said * Music I Heard With You * Zizi's Lament * What Lips my Lips Have Kissed * Two Love Songs: Extinguish My Eyes * When My Soul Touches Yours
Shostakovich's Complete Song Texts by 
Yiddish Folksongs from the Ruth Rubin Archive by
Among researchers and collectors of Yiddish folksongs, Ruth Rubin was unmatched in both her expertise and enthusiasm. Over the course of her career, Rubin collected some 2,000 songs from generations of people who had grown up in a flourishing Yiddish-speaking environment, an environment which was mostly ruined by Nazi annihilation and Stalinist repression. This collection is based on a manuscript that Rubin was unable to publish before her death, with additional annotation and commentary provided throughout by noted music scholars Chana Mlotek and Mark Slobin. The songs in this collection were gathered in oral interviews with Yiddish-speaking men and women who came to North America from Eastern Europe throughout the first half of the twentieth century. Rubin presents her commentary on these treasured songs, along with the sheet music for all of the songs. An audio CD is also packaged with this collection. Unlike earlier anthologies, this collection comes directly from oral tradition and has not been subject to adaptation, standardization, or harmonization. The text of the songs is given in standard Yiddish, unless the singer is singing in a different dialect. Variants of songs in this collection are indicated and linked with folksong collections included in the bibliography section. Although this anthology contains some very rare songs, it is aimed at a popular audience of singers, scholars, folklorists, students, and those interested in the rich but ravaged repertoire of one of Europe's most long-running and colorful folksong cultures. Published in cooperation with the YIVO foundation.
The Ultimate Jewish Wedding Book by
(Tara Books). This collection of 115 selections represent the most popular melodies for processionals, recessionals, ceremonies, Simcha dancing, Klezmer & Yiddish, Israeli Folk Dances and the Song of Songs. A broad-based introduction to Jewish wedding customs and history and a wedding sampler are also included.
New Jewish Tunes by
(Transcontinental Music Folios). Ruach is the Hebrew word for spirit. It is exactly that quality which the 27 songs in this book/CD possess. Representing the biggest names in contemporary Jewish folk/rock music (Steve Dropkin, e18hteen, Debbie Friedman, Mah Tovu, Noam Katz, Jeff Klepper and others), songs include: B'tzelem Elohim * Ashrey * Hillel's Song * Sim Shalom * Halleli * Children of Freedom * and more. The recordings on the two CDs that accompany this songbook are performed by the original artists.
Chanting the Hebrew Bible by
Chanting the Hebrew Bible provides a fine history of the tradition and offers a comprehensive explanation of the practice, an explanation of regional variations and grammatical rules, and shows how chanting dramatizes and interprets the meaning within the biblical text. In addition, Joshua R. Jacobson shares his unique system of notation and supplies extensive examples of musical notation. Errata Producing a book as expansive and detailed as Chanting the Hebrew Bible was a big undertaking, and author Joshua Jacobson and JPS are very proud of this remarkable book. We feel sure that it will be the most important reference in its field for years to come.
The klezmer clarinet : Jewish music of celebration
The Big Klezmer Fake Book by
(Tara Books). The leader in Jewish music, Tara Publications proudly presents The Big Klezmer Fake Book the largest collection of Klezmer tunes ever, culled from more than 10 Tara music editions. It contains more than 175 selections, including Freylachs, Shers, Doinas, Serbas and more. Also features traditional Jewish wedding songs and dances, and Yiddish and Hassidic selections. Includes melody lines, chords, transliterations, a bibliography and a discography.
The Lehman Trilogy by
On a cold September morning in 1844 a young man from Bavaria stands on a New York dockside dreaming of a new life in the new world. He is joined by his two brothers and an American epic begins. 163 years later the firm they establish - Lehman Brothers - spectacularly collapses into bankruptcy triggering the largest financial crisis in history. Weaving together nearly two centuries of family history this epic theatrical event charts the humble beginnings outrageous successes and devastating failure of the financial institution that would ultimately bring the global economy to its knees./ The Lehman Trilogy is the quintessential story of western capitalism rendered through the lens of a single immigrant family. Note: Nick Powell's original music from the Broadway and West End productions (which is available for streaming on music platforms) is not approved or licensed by Concord Theatricals for use in performance.
The Band's Visit by
After a mix-up at the border, Egypt's Alexandria Ceremonial Police Orchestra, bound for the cosmopolitan Israeli city Petah Tikvah, is stranded in a small desert town. With no transportation until the next day, the band is taken in by the locals. By morning, the lives of visitors and hosts are forever altered. The Band's Visit finds transcendence in the surprising and tender relationships that are forged between strangers under the desert sky. The Band's Visit is a musical with music and lyrics by David Yazbek and a book by Itamar Moses, based on the 2007 Israeli film of the same name, written by Eran Kolirin. The musical premiered Off-Broadway at the Atlantic Theater Company in 2016, and on Broadway at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre in 2017. It won ten Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Original Score and Best Book of a Musical.
Bad Jews by
Joshua Harmon's criticially acclaimed play asks questions about what you choose to believe when you're chosen. Bad Jews tells the story of Daphna Feygenbaum a "Real Jew" with an Israeli boyfriend. When Daphna's cousin Liam brings home his shiksa girlfriend Melody and declares ownership of their grandfather's Chai necklace a vicious and hilarious brawl over family faith and legacy ensues.
Stunning by
Characters: 2m 4f / DramaDavid Adjmi received the first ever Steinberg "Mimi" Playwright Award in 2009Sixteen year old Lily knows nothing beyond the Syrian-Jewish community in Brooklyn where she lives a cloistered life with her much older husband. Soon an unlikely relationship with her enigmatic African-American maid opens Lily's world to new possibilities - but at a huge price. David Adjmi's daring new work shifts from caustic satire to violent drama as it exposes the ways we invent and def
Women's Minyan by
Based on a true story, this play tells of a Haredi woman, wife of a rabbi, mother of 12, who leaves her home and stays with a friend. The community's 'modesty squad' tries in vain to force her to go back, and her friend is physically attacked. The rabbi's wife is punished by being cut off from her children, against her will.
My yiddishe mama's favorites by
Klezmer music with Latin influences.
All compositions traditional except as noted.
Compact disc.
Durations on insert.
Recorded Jan. 2, 2007 by Jim Anderson at Avatar, New York City.
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)
