LibGuides: Berklee Campus Event Recordings: Where to Search

Important Update on Searching for Events in Library Catalogs

The Alphin and Stan Getz Libraries are migrating to a single platform catalog! Starting January 13, 2025, event recording assets may not be searchable/browsable in these Library interfaces and several links to catalog resources throughout this guide are not currently functional. Please contact archives@berklee.edu for assistance identifying recordings of interest, and refer to our Access and Distribution polices for information on how the Archives is able to provide viewing access to historic recordings.

Events in the Library Catalog

Please note that while an event recording may be cataloged, it may not be available to view due to rights restrictions or format obsolescence. Please consult our Access and Distribution Policies for information on what we can make available.

Search the Library Catalog

Use the Library catalog to search for Boston Conservatory and Berklee College of Music event recordings on all formats, including online access.

Note: Most Dance and Musical Theater recordings are not cataloged per Division policy. Please contact the Archives to request viewing access to specific events.

Cataloged College event recordings can be searched using following series and/or subjects:

2017-2018 Berklee Archives GRAMMY Grant Digitization Project
Berklee clinics
Berklee concerts
Berklee events online (streaming video)
Berklee visiting artist series

Note: Catalog searches return events available on analog and optical media as well as streaming. Berklee event recordings on VHS, CD, and DVD do not circulate; recordings on optical media may be viewed by appointment in the Berklee Archives (College performances) or Alphin Library (Conservatory performances). Additionally, patrons with a Berklee OnePass login may also request for an event to be processed for streaming access.

Need help with catalog searches?

If you can't find what you're looking for or would like more assistance running a catalog search, visit the Library in person or online to get help from a librarian.

See also Search Tips by Media Type for some starting searches of campus event recordings.

Highlighted Streaming Collections

Our Berklee Events Online streaming platform provides Berklee community members access to concerts, clinics, and other events. Highlighted collections include the Virtual Visiting Artist Series, and selected Berklee College of Music commencement and convocation speeches (1986-2002) digitized through through the Berklee Archives GRAMMY Grant Digitization Project, 2017-2018.

Archival Collections

While many campus event recordings are available through our library catalogs, these listings represent only a portion of Berklee Archives' holdings of audiovisual material.

For College events, three primary archival collections contain the bulk of preserved performances, though event recordings are present in various institutional record groups within the Archives. Descriptions of these collections are available in online collection guides (also called “finding aids”), linked below. Please note that some guides, but not all, include item-level inventories.

To view recordings from these collections that are not currently accessible via the library catalogs, submit a request for an event to be processed into our streaming portal or contact the Archives to request an on-campus viewing appointment. Archival collections do not circulate.

Video Services Collection (BCA-018), 1979-2005
This archival collection comprises approximately 3,900 video recordings of clinics, concerts, and other special events on campus spanning 1979-2005 (with most recordings taking place 1985-2004). These recordings are primarily housed on VHS tapes; other formats include Beta and Umatic tapes. Sample event types include: Singer Showcase concerts, commencement concerts, and the dedication and grand opening of the Genko Uchida Building.

Please note: advance notice is required to retrieve archival items because these materials are stored offsite. In addition, use of the materials in this collection requires the production of viewing copies, so please allow 1-2 weeks for processing.

For more information, email archives@berklee.edu.

Music Production & Engineering Departmental Recording Collection (BCA-016), 1968-1995
This archival collection includes over 700 one-inch reels spanning 1968-1995, containing recordings of faculty and student projects, visiting artist clinics, master classes, lectures, annual commencement concerts and ceremonies, and student performances of note. Some of the major figures represented include: Herb Pomeroy, Arif Mardin, Delfeayo Marsalis, Chick Corea, Gary Burton, and Phil Wilson. Also included are additional materials MP&E held from outside studio work, such as MediaSound, etc.

Please note: these materials have not been digitized and are stored offsite. Advance notice is required to retrieve and transfer archival recordings to accessible formats.

For more information, please contact archives@berklee.edu.

Berklee campus events audio recordings (BCA-027), 1969-1994
This collection consists of 11 boxes of quarter inch, quarter track analog audio tapes of events held on the Berklee College of Music campus dating from approximately 1969-1995. Campus events recorded include clinics, master classes, concerts, opening convocation, and commencement ceremonies. These campus event recordings were once part of the circulating collection in the library at Berklee and were referred to as "Tape Berklee Concerts." Circulation of the tapes likely stopped in the early 1990s.

Please note: these materials have not been digitized and are stored offsite. Advance notice is required to retrieve and transfer archival recordings to accessible formats.

For more information, please contact archives@berklee.edu.

Related Collections

We recommend that patrons consult the following resources for help identifying performance dates, venues, and participants.

Berklee College of Music Event Programs
Digitized College event programs for student, faculty, visiting artist, and professional performances in the following five campus venues: Lawrence and Alma Berk Hall, Oliver Colvin Hall, David Friend Hall, The Red Room @ Café 939, and the Berklee Performance Center.

Current years: 1972-2019, with additions forthcoming

Berklee Campus Event Recordings

Need Assistance?

Contact a Reference Librarian: askalibrarian@berklee.edu

Contact the Berklee Archives: archives@berklee.edu

Berklee Archives