Contents |
Article Number: HLH1
Author: Darrow, Alice-Ann
Title: The Role of Music in Deaf Culture: Deaf Students' Perception of Emotion in Music
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 43:1 (Spring 2006) p.2-15
Abstract: Emotional interpretation of music is an individual and variable experience. However, typical listeners are consistent in associating basic or primary emotions, such as happiness, sadness, fear, and anger, to musical compositions. Individuals with sensorineural hearing loss or lesions in auditory perceptors in the brain may have trouble perceiving music emotionally. A study is presented that investigates whether students with hearing losses who associate with the deaf culture assign the same emotions to music as students without hearing loss. The study uses hearing tests from 62 elementary and junior high students at a school for the deaf and students at neighboring elementary and junior high schools.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Hearing Impairments; Deafness; Deaf Students; Listening Tests; Case Studies; Perception; Emotional Responses
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1096183
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1096183?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: HLH2
Author: Darrow, Alice-Ann; Novak, Julie
Title: The Effect of Vision and Hearing Loss on Listeners' Perception of Referential Meaning in Music
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 44:1 (Spring 2007) p.57-73
Abstract: The effect of vision and hearing loss on listeners' perception of referential meaning in music is examined. After listening to six 37-second excerpts, participants with typical hearing and vision agreed with the composer's intended meaning significantly more often than did participants with vision or hearing loss. Selected images were more easily identified, or were more difficult to identify across conditions. Participant responses were not random, indicating that some referential meaning in music is conventional.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, Graphs, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Perception; Musical Meaning; Blindness; Deafness; Statistical Analysis; Listeners
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1101004
Document URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1101004?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: HLH3
Author: Trehub, Sandra E; Mitani, Chisato; Kanda, Yukihiko; Nakata, Takayuki
Title: Pitch and Timing in the Songs of Deaf Children with Cochlear Implants
Reference: Music Perception 24:2 (December 2006) p.147-154
Abstract: A study is presented in which congenitally deaf children aged 5 to 10 years who use cochlear implants and hearing children of comparable age sang songs from memory. Analyses of their performances revealed timing similarities in the songs of deaf and hearing children but substantial differences in pitch patterning. Whereas the hearing children accurately reproduced the relative pitch patterns of the songs they sang, the deaf children did not. The deaf children's pitch ranges were considerably smaller than those of the hearing children, and their pitch ranges were unrelated to the direction of pitch change in the target songs. For children who use cochlear implants, the power and pleasure of music may arise primarily from its rhythm.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Broad subject: Vocal Music; Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Musical Ability; Music Perception; Children; Sound Quality; Hearing; Songs; Pitch (Acoustics); Rhythm; Deafness
Publisher: University of California Press
ISSN: 0730-7829
ProQuest Document ID: 1368698
Document URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1368698?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: HLH4
Author: Vongpaisal, T., Trehub, S. E., & Schellenberg, E. G.
Title: Song recognition by children and adolescents with cochlear implants
Reference: Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, 49, 5. p.1091(13).
Abstract: Purpose: To assess song recognition and pitch perception in prelingually deaf individuals with cochlear implants (CIs).
Method: Fifteen hearing children (5-8 years) and 15 adults heard different versions of familiar popular songs--original (vocal + instrumental), original instrumental, and synthesized melody versions--and identified the song in a closed-set task (Experiment 1). Ten CI users (8-18 years) and age-matched hearing listeners performed the same task (Experiment 2). Ten CI users (8-19 years) and 10 hearing 8-years-olds were required to detect pitch changes in repeating-tone contexts (Experiment 3). Finally, 8 CI users (6-19 years) and 13 hearing 5-year-olds were required to detect subtle pitch changes in a more challenging melodic context (Experiment 4).
Document type: Research and Analysis
Keywords: cochlear implants, auditory processing, music recognition
Publisher: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
ISSN: 1092-4388
Gale ID: GALE|A155783013
Full Text URL:http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?&id=GALE%7CA155783013&v=2.1&u=mlin_b_berklee&it=r&p=EAIM&sw=w
Database: Expanded Academic ASAP