Contents |
(4 article)
Article Number: BDMT1
Title: Musically Adapted Social Stories to Modify Behaviors in Students with Autism: Four Case Studies
Author: Brownell, Mike D
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 39.2 (May 2002): 117-144.
Abstract: This article examines four case studies that investigated the effect of a musical presentation of social story information on the behaviors of four first- and second-grade students with autism attending an elementary school in eastern Iowa. A unique social story was created for each student that addressed a current behavioral goal. Subsequently, original music was composed using the text of the social story as lyrics. The results of the studies suggest the use of a musically adapted version of social stories is an effective and viable treatment option for modifying behaviors with this population.
Publication subject: Education--Special Education And Rehabilitation, Medicine (Performing Arts), Music, Music and Other Disciplines
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest document ID: 1100499
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1100499?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2012-08-01
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: BDMT2
Title:The Use of Music with Chronic Food Refusal: A Case Study
Author: Dellatan, Alana K
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 21.2 (2003): 105-109.
Abstract: Chronic food refusal in children has been treated by a variety of methods of behavioral psychologists and therapists. A case study is presented in which the contingent use of music with a five-year-old male diagnosed with autism-spectrum disorder was examined. Results indicated a significant decrease in food refusal behaviors after the contingent use of music, as well as an increase of food consumption quantities. Various therapy interventions and research avenues are discussed.
Narrow subject: Music Therapy, Eating Disorders, Behavior, Autism
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest document ID: 1372517
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1372517?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2013-07-10
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: BDMT3
Author: de Mers, Catherine L; Tincani, Matt; Van Norman, Renee K; Higgins, Kyle
Title:Effects of Music Therapy on Young Children's Challenging Behaviors: A Case Study
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 27.2 (2009): 88-96.
Abstract: A study is presented that examined the effectiveness of music therapy incorporating social stories for three young children with challenging behaviors within a special education setting. Two problem behaviors - hitting and screaming - and one alternative behavior - asking - were targeted for intervention. Music therapy was administered within a multiple baseline across participants design with target behaviors measured during 10-minute free play sessions immediately following therapy. Visual analyses revealed that music therapy decreased problem behaviors and increased alternative behaviors for participants 1 and 2. For participant 3, who exhibited few challenging behaviors during baseline, music therapy had less therapeutic effect. Maintenance probes revealed that music therapy gains continued at least three weeks after intervention.
Narrow subject: Music Therapy, Children, Comparative Analysis, Case studies, Behavior
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest document ID: 1373029
Full text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1373029?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2013-07-10
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Title: The Effect of an Idiosyncratic Stimulus on Self-Injurious Behavior During Task Demands.
Authors: Carey, Yvonne A. Halle, James W.
Source: Education & Treatment of Children (ETC). Feb 2002, Vol. 25 Issue 1, p131. 11p. 2 Graphs.
Subject Terms:
Abstract: Examines the effects of idiosyncratic stimulus on self-injurious behavior during tasks demand. Evaluation on the functional analysis methodology; Discussion on the demand condition in alternating treatment designs; Availability of music and demand.
ISSN: 07488491
Accession Number: 6600752
Full text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=6600752&site=ehost-live
Database: Academic Search Premier
(3 articles)
Article Number: EBD1
Author: Hilliard, Russell E
Title: The Effects of Orff-Based Music Therapy and Social Work Groups on Childhood Grief Symptoms and Behaviors
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 44:2 (Summer 2007) p.123-138
Abstract: The effects of Orff-based music therapy, social work, and wait-list control groups on behavioral problems and grief symptoms of bereaved school-aged children are evaluated and compared. Statistical analyses indicated that participants in the music therapy group significantly improved in the behaviors and grief symptoms, and those in the social work group experienced a significant reduction in their behavioral problems but not their grief symptoms. Participants in the control group made no significant improvements in either area. Results support the use of Orff-based music therapy interventions for bereaved children in a school-based grief program.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Orff Schulwerk; Music Therapy; Statistical Analysis; Therapy; Children; Behavior; Emotions
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1093967
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1093967?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: EBD2
Author: Robb, Sheri L
Title: Designing Music Therapy Interventions for Hospitalized Children and Adolescents Using a Contextual Support Model of Music Therapy
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 21:1 (2003) p.27-40
Abstract: A Contextual Support Model of Music Therapy, based on a synthesis of information from related research, theory, and clinical practice, is presented. This developing theory seeks to explain how music functions to create supportive environments and, in turn, promote active coping behaviors in children. An overview of the proposed theoretical model, including an extensive overview of related literature and research used to formulate the theory, is provided. Skinner and Wellborn's (1994) Motivational Theory of Coping, environmental aspects of pediatric hospitalization, development of cognitive, psychosocial, and coping skills in children and adolescents, and pediatric music therapy are areas of research and literature summarized by the author. In addition to an overview of the Contextual Support Model of Music Therapy, suggestions on how to use the model as a guidepost for developing music therapy interventions is provided. Charts, tables, and references are included.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Children; Adolescents; Models; Theories; Illness; Music Therapy
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1372564
Citation URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1372564?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2011-02-28
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
For full text see Music Therapy Journal Archive.
Article Number: EBD3
Author: Choi, Ae-Na; Lee, Myeong Soo; Lee, Jung-Sook
Title: Group Music Intervention Reduces Aggression and Improves Self-esteem in Children with Highly Aggressive Behavior: A Pilot Controlled Trial.
Reference: Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine, vol. 7, no. 2, (2010) p. 213-217.
Abstract: We investigated the effects of group music intervention on aggression and self-esteem in children with highly aggressive behavior. Forty-eight children were allocated to either a music intervention group or an untreated control group. The music intervention group received 50 min of music intervention twice weekly for 15 consecutive weeks. The outcome measures were Child Behavior Checklist Aggression Problems Scale (Parents), Child Aggression Assessment Inventory (Teachers) and Rosenberg Self-esteem Scale.
Topics: Music Therapy; Aggressive Behavior
Publisher: Hindawi Pub.
ISSN: 1741-4288
Document URL: http://www.hindawi.com/journals/ecam/2010/465730/abs/
Copyright Note: This is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
Last updated: NA
Database: http://www.hindawi.com/
Article Number: EPD1
Author: Snow, Shelley; D'Amico, Miranda
Title: The Drum Circle Project: A Qualitative Study with at-risk Youth in a School Setting/Projet de cercle de tambours : étude qualitative auprès de jeunes à risque en milieu scolaire
Reference: Canadian Journal of Music Therapy 16:1 (2010) p.12-39
Abstract: A qualitative study is presented that explores possible therapeutic benefits from the implementation of a music therapy drumming circle with at-risk youth in an alternative high school. The study was conducted over a 12-week period with nine students aged 16 and 17. The study data consisted of questionnaires filled out by the students, videotapes of six of the 12 sessions, and observations of each group by an educational psychology researcher. The results indicate that a number of the students reported feeling better about themselves; the group helped them feel more open.
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Drum Circles; High School Students; Urban Environments; Music Therapy
Publisher: Canadian Association for Music Therapy
Country: Canada
Language: English|French
ISSN: 1199-1054
ProQuest Document ID: 756569131
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/756569131?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Author: Douglass, Elizabeth T
Title: The Development of a Music Therapy Assessment Tool for Hospitalized Children
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 24:2 (2006) p.73-79
Abstract: An essay is presented that highlights the development of a music therapy assessment form for use with hospitalized children. Assessment is an important aspect of the music therapy process because it helps the therapist to identify patient needs, communicates to other parties the rationale for music therapy treatment, and guides the choice of objectives and the ongoing evaluation of treatment benefits. The steps taken to develop the assessment tool are described, including determining the needs of the target population, examining existing assessment tools used by music therapy professionals, determining format and content, piloting the form with patients and revising initial drafts based on feedback, and determining the validity and reliability of the form.
Topics: Music Therapy; Children; Medical Treatment; Assessment; Methodology; Analysis
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1371829
Full Text URL http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1371829?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text