It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Augmented Search is the default search engine found on the library's homepage. It allows users to search both the Berklee College and the Boston Conservatory catalogs and most Berklee-licensed electronic resources, including e-books, streaming audio, e-scores and full-text articles. Although the results are extensive, it's important to note that it does not include ALL materials available online to the Berklee community.
When should I use "Augmented Search"?
You should use it when:
You just need a few books and articles on a topic and you want to quickly search in one place.
You need articles on a topic and you would like to search across multiple databases.
You want a book, score, CD or DVD but you’re not sure which Library would have it.
Making the most of "Augmented Search"
Use the facets in the search results!
After running a search, you can limit the results by using the sidebar on the left. We recommend limiting by:
Choosing "Electronically Available" for online materials or "Offered by Berklee Libraries" for physical items in the libraries
Publication date, if you need more recent research or date specific research
Source Type, such as "Academic Journals" for articles, "Books" or "eBooks", or specific audiovisual materials.
Language, if you find that you are getting many articles in foreign langauges
When off-campus, be sure to log in in the upper right corner of your results page with your Berklee OnePass - some results and content can only be shown if you are a verified member of the Berklee community.
Notice that not all results will provide a full-text version of the article. You may need to search further for a specific article. We suggest searching for the title again in Augmented Search (in case it's available through a different database) or searching Google for a freely accessible copy. If that does not work, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
This database is focused on health care and scientific research.
Cochrane Collection Plus contains six database collections: Systematic reviews, Clinical trials, Method studies, Reviews of effects, Technology assessments, Economic evaluations. The primary database, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes articles, reviews, and protocols that focus on the effects of healthcare.
PsycINFO contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
If the article you request is not available with full text, please visit:
and request the article via InterLibrary Loan.
The databases listed above are hosted by EBSCO. Pro tip: Select "Choose Databases" from above the search bar and you can search multiple EBSCO databases. In addition to the ones listed above, other good choices are:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Academic Search Complete
Education Research Complete
Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this collection.
Want to know statistics on disabilities, or how many children in the US have autism? Statista is the world’s largest online statistics portal, containing over 1 million statistics from 18,000 sources. With information arranged in graphs, dossier reports, and infographics that can be easily exported, Statista is a go-to source for reports and presentations that require statistical data.
There are additional databases online, some of which have full-text articles, while others only provide indexed descriptions of existing articles.
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short, the DOAJ aims to be the one-stop shop for users of open access journals.
The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported.
Here is a list of some of the major journal related to music therapy research, including where you can find full text access through our databases. If you need to find a specific journal not listed here, use our Publication Finder
ILL is available for current undergraduates, graduates, faculty and staff.
Due dates vary and are set by the lending institution. Renewals can be requested via firstname.lastname@example.org but are not guaranteed.
ILL takes time to come in give yourself 1-2 weeks for articles and 2-3 weeks for books and scores.
How do I get an article that the Library doesn’t have and isn’t available as full text online?
Request the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL):
Most databases will allow you to email the citations directly. When requesting articles from the library always email citations to email@example.com, you must include your full name and email address somewhere in the message/comment. Failing to do so will result in the request going unfilled. Please use part of article title as subject title.
If not using the database’s interface to email a citation, you may email firstname.lastname@example.org directly but you must include the entire citation.