Music in words : a guide to researching and writing about music by
"Music in Words is both a guide and an invaluable reference tool for researching and writing about music. Fully updated and revised, the book aims to address all the issues that anyone, from students to professional musicians, may encounter when undertaking a writing task, irrespective of the style of music they are writing about." -- WorldCat
Writing about Music by
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words. Updates include greatly simplified citations of Internet locators, the recognition of multiple platforms, and the expectation of paperless transmission and storage of work. Cited as the authority by The Chicago Manual of Style, this classic handbook is the go-to source for anyone writing about music.
Writing in Music by
Writing in Music demystifies music writing conventions and methods by offering strategies for the types of writing that students most often encounter in college courses on music. The book offers guidance through the writing process and, for research assignments, through the research process.Geared for an audience of music majors and other students taking undergraduate music-major courses - as well as for master's students in music desiring more training in academic writing - Writing in Music covers the two approaches common to academic coursework in virtually all music-major programs:the study of music with a focus on its cultural and historical contexts, and the exploration of works using the tools of music analysis. Whether students want to apply a specific approach or take a broader, interdisciplinary stance, this guide prepares them to think and write about music.
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by
A Short Guide to Writing about Music parallels musical skills to writing skills, examining a wide range of writing tasks for undergraduate and graduate courses. Intended for all writers on music -- college through budding professional -- and far more than a course textbook, this brief and inexpensive text coaches writers how to approach, research, and write about music. A Short Guide to Writing about Music is written in a clear and conversational style, and employs a variety of writing samples (both student and professional) as a means to illustrate effective writing.
A Guide to Library Research in Music by
A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces students to the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. It provides examples of different types of writing, offers a thorough introduction to music literature, describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems, and explores the wide array of music resources. This second edition discusses the latest innovations in library catalog searching, new matters in digital technology, and the expansion in musical genres for library research. The book's organization allows for three independent tracks of study. Part 1 treats essentials of the research process, explaining starting-point resources such as library catalogs, dictionaries, and bibliographies. It addresses scholarly documentation, the use of style manuals, and basics of copyright. Part 2 develops skills and strategies for library- and Internet-based research, describing database structures and library catalogs, subject searching in catalogs and journal indexes, keyword searching techniques, related-record searching and citation databases, and the use of experts and thematic catalogs. Part 3 discusses the organization of a music library, emphasizing score collections, books and journals in music literature, and music teaching publications.
They Say / I Say by
This book identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing. It shows students how to frame their arguments as a response to what others have said and provides templates to help them start making the moves.
The Rowman and Littlefield Guide to Writing with Sources by
The Rowman & Littlefield Guide to Writing with Sources offers the most thorough and up-to-date discussion of plagiarism and the proper use of sources available today. The new edition incorporates the latest revisions to MLA, CSE, and CMS styles and the lexicon of electronic materials. This succinct and accessible handbook helps writers of all levels to assess, quote, cite, and present information from a variety of sources, including electronic and Internet sources. It features samples, updated throughout, of writing and style sheets, as well as a checklist for quoting and paraphrasing, to help strengthen writing in any field.
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing by
This "worthy successor to Strunk and White" now features an expanded style guide covering a wider range of citation cases, complete with up-to-date formats for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles.
The Elements of Style: Classic Edition (2018) by
This updated 2018 Classic Edition contains the original version of William Strunk's The Elements of Style, plus a variety of enhancements that make this book even more useful. It is now being used as a textbook in classes at University of Minnesota, University of Texas, UC Berkeley, and elsewhere.Generations of college students and writers have learned the basics of English grammar from this short book. It was rated "one of the 100 most influential books written in English" by Time in 2011, and iconic author Stephen King recommended it as a grammar primer that all aspiring writers should read.Written a century ago, Strunk's book is a nostalgic link to the Art Deco era and the Roaring Twenties. Many of the grammar rules listed in his book still apply today; but the English language has changed over the years, and some of these rules have are now obsolete. This Classic Edition addresses these changes with the following enhancements and additional content:1. This 2018 update adds two new chapters requested by college professors and students: Basic Rules of Capitalization and Style Rules for Better Writing.2. Editor's notes have been inserted throughout the book to flag grammar rules that are become obsolete and to provide up-to-date advice for students and writers.3. Emojis have been added to help readers identify correct examples from errors at a glance.4. A Study Guide is included in the last chapter, and the paperback version includes blank, lined pages in the back of the book for note taking.5. The e-book version has been restyled for improved display on the latest generations of digital book-reading devices.Elements of Style: Classic Edition 2018 gives students and writers a blueprint that they can follow to write clearly and effectively while learning the fundamental rules of English Grammar.
The Little, Brown Compact Handbook by
For courses in English Composition. The platinum standard of handbooks¿¿ -- unmatched in accuracy, currency, and reliability The Little, Brown Compact Handbook maintains the authority of its best¿selling parent (The Little, Brown Handbook) in a briefer book with spiral binding, tabbed dividers, and plentiful exercise sets. It is an essential reference tool, designed to help readers find the answers they need quickly and easily. While keeping pace with rapid changes in writing and its teaching, this meticulous compact handbook combines comprehensive research and documentation ¿¿with grammar coverage that is second to none. Incorporating detailed discussions of critical reading, media literacy, academic writing, argument, and much more, The Little, Brown Compact Handbook is an accurate, reliable, and accessible resource for writers of varying experience levels and in a variety of fields. The 10th Edition includes timely new student samples, new learning objectives, updates to MLA and Chicago style, a new chapter on writing about literature, and more. The Little, Brown Compact Handbook is also available via Revel(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Writing down the Bones by
With insight, humor, and practicality, Natalie Goldberg inspires writers and would-be writers to take the leap into writing skillfully and creatively.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online by
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
A Writer's Reference with Writing in the Disciplines with 2016 MLA Update by
Learn to write well outside of composition courses, regardless of discipine, with the practical advice and models found in Writer's Reference with Writing in the Disciplines with 2016 MLA Update.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by When using a citation generator, it’s essential to review the generated citations for accuracy and ensure they align with the specific style guide you are following.