LibGuides: Music Doctoral Candidate Guide: Library Resources

Databases

A-Z list of all of our databases
This list of databases provide the proxy links for paid access to exclusive content provided by The Library. In most cases, login with your OnePass information for access.

This list is also organized with interactive filtering options to target a particular subject area or resource format (e.g. streaming media). There is also a search box to look for terms mentioned in the database description.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Grove Music: Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Features more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.
Music Index This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a database with both scholarly eBooks from University presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences. Please note that we get very limited articles on this platform. While searching you should limit to "Only content I have access to" in the filters on the left.
Recent Researches in Music Online This link opens in a new window Recent Researches in Music consists of seven critical performing editions of music. The series fall into two basic categories: editions that span the history of Western music, and editions with ties to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre.
RILM Music Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window (Note: Use Browse or Search to access content, clicking on images of books will only provide info about the book.) RILM Music Encyclopedias covers historical musicology, ethnomusicology, and theory, with topics ranging from popular music and rock, opera, instruments, and blues and gospel to recorded music and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages—currently English, German, French, Italian, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Portuguese, Slovak, and Spanish.

Libguides

Citation Guide
This guide includes resources to help you with how to cite your sources when writing papers, giving a presentation, or other project that require you to reference other works.
Library Study Guides
Browse or search through our research guides that help provide starting points discovering resources and databases for a variety of subject areas.

Writing and Formatting Resources

Basic Principles of Academic Writing
Presents Berklee standards for academic writing.
How to Write Abstracts and Keywords
Provides instructions for developing your CE abstract and indexing keywords
Notes-Bibliography Sample Citations in Chicago and Turabian Style
Provides notes-bibliography style examples in several common types of sources that students use in their CE papers.
Author-Date Sample Citations in Chicago and Turabian Style
Provides bibliographic examples in the author-date style for several common types of sources that students use in their CE papers.

Turabian Student Paper-Formatting Tip-Sheets
"Official Chicago style, in easy-to-use, printable PDF paper-writing tip sheets for students, teachers, and librarians. Guidelines are per Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th ed.) and are fully compatible with The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)." -- Chicago Manual of Style webpage

Music Doctoral Candidate Guide: Library Resources

Databases

Libguides

Writing and Formatting Resources

Find Theses & Dissertations