LibGuides: Berklee NYC Guide to eResources: Home

eResources at Berklee

All Berklee online resources are available using your OnePass (Berklee login credentials). Everyone at Berklee NYC has the same access to online resources that our other campuses have. The databases listed here are some of the ones that are most relevant to Berklee NYC programs of study but you can also view our full list. If you are looking for a specific journal or magazine, you can use this search.

Music Industry

Looking for charts?

Billboard is available as a magazine in Flipster. If you are looking for articles you found on their website, here are some tips on how to find them in our databases.
Get a premium account for Chartmetric by emailing jschaeffer@berklee.edu. An invite will be sent to your Berklee email address.

Looking for industry reports?

Here is a guide to recent industry reports including NAMM, IFPI, RIAA, and others.
Find studies on creator tools, streaming music services, app use, international markets and more on MIDiA Research.

Looking for industry directories?

Indie Bible This link opens in a new window
The Indie Bible is is an a music resource that helps independent artists with their music promotion, indie marketing campaigns, finding a record deal, getting reviews, and more. Includes the most recent Indie Bible, Ultimate Guide to Promoting your Music, Ultimate Guide to Booking Gigs, Indie Spotify Bible, Indie YouTube Bible, and Indie Venue Bible (includes the US and Canada).
Music Business Watch This link opens in a new window
Music Business Watch publishes contact information for the music industry. Their titles include the A&R Registry, Music Publisher Registry, and the Film & Television Music Guide.

Streaming Resources

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Includes over 600 productions from contemporary theaters in the UK, several BroadwayHD musicals, ballet, opera, and more. Digital Theatre+ also has supplementary videos to accompany the productions and educational texts.
Qwest TV This link opens in a new window
Qwest TV preserves diverse live performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond — representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 HD videos of concerts, operas, ballets, archival performances, documentaries, master classes, and more. The recently added Medici Jazz Includes performances from members of the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice team.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content featuring over 900,000 albums and more than 11 million tracks. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.

Discovering Songs

Hit Songs Deconstructed This link opens in a new window
Provides its subscribers with an in-depth understanding of the craft and trends that shape today's chart-topping hits for success in today's music industry. This search features over 200 criteria enabling highly customizable and comparative searches based on compositional characteristics, production techniques and more.
WhoSampled This link opens in a new window
Discover music through samples, cover songs and remixes. Explore direct connections among over 397,000 songs and 136,000 artists, from Hip-Hop, Rap and R&B via Electronic / Dance through to Rock, Pop, Soul, Funk, Reggae, Jazz, Classical and beyond.

A sampling for ebooks

Berklee students and faculty can request ebooks and we will try our best to accommodate you. This is a sample of a few ebook that might be of interest to Berklee NYC students.

The Automated Lighting Programmer's Handbook by Brad Schiller
ISBN: 9780367653255
Publication Date: 2021-11-30
-New edition of a trusted resource for lighting programmers. -This edition includes new information on programming structure, advanced recording/editing, cloning, multi-cell fixtures, safety routines, GDTF, and Pre-Visualization.
Beyond Broadway by Stacy Wolf
ISBN: 9780190639525
Publication Date: 2019-12-23
The idea of American musical theatre conjures up images of bright lights and big city, but its lifeblood is found in local and amateur productions at schools, community theatres, summer camps, and more. In Beyond Broadway, author Stacy Wolf considers the widespread presence and persistence of musical theatre in U.S. culture, and examines it as a live, pleasurable, participatory experience of creating, watching, and listening.
New Tax Guide by Peter Jason Riley
ISBN: 9781585108336
Publication Date: 2016-11-03
New Tax Guide provides an in-depth look at income and taxes for various types of artists, writers, performers, and other creative people. A general guide to smart record keeping, business and tax forms, best practices, and common mistakes to avoid, the fifth edition offers creatively employed individuals the most current and clear advice on topics such as crowdfunding, deductible expenses, and what to do if you get audited.
The Ultimate Live Sound Operator's Handbook by Bill Gibson
ISBN: 9781538133170
Publication Date: 2020-07-15
If you're a sound operator, you know that regardless of the musical genre or venue, high-quality audio is imperative to your and the artist's success. Any live act must sound great to be well received by today's increasingly demanding audiences. Fully revised and updated, The Ultimate Live Sound Operator's Handbook focuses on each aspect of live sound operation in a way that is straightforward and easy to understand-from basic system and acoustic considerations to miking, mixing, and recording the live show.

Berklee NYC Guide to eResources: Home

eResources at Berklee

Music Industry

Streaming Resources

Discovering Songs

A sampling for ebooks

Other Questions?