New Method for the Double Bass by 
Motown Bass by 
Bass Secrets by
(Book). Bass Secrets brings together 48 columns highlighting specific topics ranging from the technical to the philosophical from masters such as Stu Hamm, Randy Coven, Tony Franklin and Billy Sheehan. They cover topics including tapping, walking bass lines, soloing, hand positions, harmonics and more. Clearly illustrated with musical examples.
The True Cuban Bass by
This book is written by one of the masters of Afro-Cuban bass playing. It is bilingual and comes with two CDs that have Carlos playing the exercises in the book, as well as some historic Cuban recordings re-issued. It is a complete overview of the evolution of the bass' role in Cuban music, as well as a method book on all the different styles of Afro-Cuban bass playing. Endorsed by Jimmy Haslip, Chucho Valdes, and Paquito D'Rivera.
The Music Lesson by
From Grammy-winning musical icon and legendary bassist Victor L. Wooten comes an inspiring parable of music, life, and the difference between playing all the right notes...and feeling them. The Music Lesson is the story of a struggling young musician who wanted music to be his life, and who wanted his life to be great. Then, from nowhere it seemed, a teacher arrived. Part musical genius, part philosopher, part eccentric wise man, the teacher would guide the young musician on a spiritual journey, and teach him that the gifts we get from music mirror those from life, and every movement, phrase, and chord has its own meaning...All you have to do is find the song inside. "The best book on music (and its connection to the mystic laws of life) that I've ever read. I learned so much on every level."-Multiple Grammy Award-winning saxophonist Michael Brecker
Mastering the Bass by
Mastering the Bass is a thorough method for both electric and upright bass designed to guide bassists to mastery. It begins with building strong time and rhythmic skills, a firm foundation upon which all bass playing must be rooted. Following this, students learn a wide range of grooves and practice reading all styles of music: Blues, Rock, Funk, Reggae, Fusion (including odd meters), Jazz, Latin, Baroque, Classical and more. Ear training incorporated into the method improves the students' listening skills, teaching students to hear chord progressions, melodies and rhythms. Theory lessons help students understand how the bass functions in music. Students also study improvisation of both bass parts and solos on chord changes, articulation (finger and bowing technique), performance goals, visualization, and more. Each volume moves logically to the next level Even seasoned players can fill holes in their technique by going through the method from Book I and moving on to greater technique as well as a deeper understanding in later volumes. Also available in Japanese from ATN, Inc.
Mastering the Bass, Book 2 by
Book 2 continues to build strong technique, ear skills, and musicality with obtainable goals relative to those accomplished in Book 1. A large number of shifting and position studies are presented to help players learn to navigate the fingerboard. For upright bassists, there are bowing exercises and variations as well as an explanation of bow articulations. In addition, you will find a further explanation of theory, which includes: triads, inversions, basic, diatonic harmony, minor scales, modes and simple chord progression analysis. You will also find discussions of musical expression markings, such as dynamics, and various articulations. A thorough knowledge of all of these musical elements contributes to your instrumental mastery.Also available in Japanese from ATN, Inc.
Instant Bass by
(Berklee Methods). Learn to play the bass instantly with this revolutionary method! Author Danny Morris has included a wealth of solid bass lines, tips on playing and locking in with a drummer, and strategies to help you understand the bass and develop your own bass lines. The accompanying CD lets you jam with a band in a variety of musical styles.
Bass Fitness by
(Guitar School). The purpose of this book is to provide the aspiring bass player with a wide variety of finger exercises for developing the techniques necessary to succeed in today's music scene. It can also play an important role in a bass player's daily practicing program. The 200 exercises are designed to help increase your speed, improve your dexterity, develop accuracy and promote finger independence. Recommended by world-acclaimed bass players, music schools and music magazines, this is the ultimate bass handbook. All exercises are written in standard notation and tab. This updated edition also includes a bonus section on 5-string bass. Bass Fitness app now available! Click here for details.
The Working Bassist's Tool Kit by
(Book). This book by Bass Player contributing editor and columnist Ed Friedland teaches electric or acoustic bassists of any style the musical skills essential in the working world, survival tips for tackling any gig, and techniques for achieving a competitive edge. It helps new working bassists hit the ground running, and pro players grow stronger. Topics include time and groove, chord charts, ear training, doubling, thumb technique, keeping time, faking tunes and many more, plus ways to assess a gig and deliver the goods. Includes lots of musical examples and exercises, both in the book and on the play-along CD.
Jaco Pastorius -- Modern Electric Bass by
Jaco Pastorius, one of the greatest bass players of all time, forged a landmark bass style that still permeates music today. His melodic sense, delicate touch, and groundbreaking bass grooves have influenced generations of musicians, while his music has consistently topped readers' and critics' polls worldwide. This book and CD set features transcriptions of the examples and solos from Jaco's Modern Electric Bass DVD, with an interview by legendary bassist Jerry Jemmott. The CD concludes with a trio performance with John Scofield and Kenwood Dennard.
The Bass Player's Handbook by
(Berklee Press). It's your bass take care of it! The Bass Player's Handbook provides bassists with a complete guide to understanding the origin and workings of their instrument. Greg Mooter outlines fundamental concepts of proper fingering, tone production and good practice habits. You will also learn how to care for your bass properly and keep it in top form with essential information on repairs, seasonal adjustments, and customizing for your own body, style and sound. Includes warm-up and full body stretching exercises and strategies to give you a lifetime of healthy bass playing. "This timely and precious 'bible' has important information you won't find anywhere else." Carole Kaye
Fingerstyle Funk Bass Lines by
(Berklee Guide). Learn the art of creating a solid fingerstyle funk bass groove. Whether you are an aspiring or seasoned bass player, this workshop will help you learn many of the bass lines and styles found in your favorite funk tunes, and inspire you to experiment with your own creations. Learn to: use fingerstyle funk technique, including hand position, tips for muting, and getting a good fingerstyle funk sound; play 69 solid funk riffs, set in both traditional notation and tablature; develop your own funk lines; identify the notes, scales, and chords used in funk bass lines; listen and jam along with funk grooves by playing along with the included audio; and much more. Each lesson contains several practice exercises, a funk song using the lines, and play-along tracks on the accompanying audio. Also included in each lesson is a section for you to write out your own bass grooves. Groove with attitude and confidence. Take your bass playing to the next level with Fingerstyle Funk Bass Lines ! Audio is accessed online using the unique code inside the book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.
Walkin: Intermediate to advanced bass lines to standard chord progessions by
For all bass clef instruments.
Bass lessons with the greats by
Lessons with Victor Wooten, Jimmy Haslip, Gary Willis, Lincoln Goines, Alphonso Johnson, Rocco Prestia. Digital Disc Included
Funkifying the cláve : Afro-Cuban grooves for bass and drums by
Includes 6 play-along charts, 90-minute audio with guest artists
Orchestral excerpts from the symphonic repertoire, for string bass by
A scorebook for the Double Bass containing Bach-Brandenburg Concerto #2 In F, Bach-Magnificat, and Beethoven-Symphony #8 In F among others.
Romance opus 50 for string bass and piano by Beethoven by
The Simandl-Sankey arrangement of Beethoven's famous "Romance", Op. 50. 4 pages; for solo tuning. Published 1976 by International.
Sonata für Kontrabass und Piano (Sonata for double bass and piano) by
A Sonata for the double bass and paino by prolific German composer Paul Hindemith.
Theraps : pour contrebasse solo by
A double bass solo by Greek-French composer Iannis Xenakis
Valse miniature :for string bass and piano, opus 1, no. 2 by
For double bass and piano. Uses solo tuning.
Jaco by
This story of a musician hailed as a genius and dismissed as a madman will appeal to anyone intrigued by the fine line between creative inspiration and insanity. Jaco looks deep inside the life and music of this talented but tormented bass player who revolutionized his instrument and became one of the most potent forces in modern music.
Broken Music by
"This is a book about the early part of my life, from childhood through adolescence, right up to the eve of my success with the Police. It is a story very few people know" - Sting
Bass Heroes by
From the publisher of Electric Bass Guitar comes Bass Heroes interviews with 30 of the world's greatest bass players. It's a collection of interviews spanning the past 25 years, adapted from Guitar Player magazine. The interviews here feature some of the best players who ever lived, regardless of stylistic leanings.
Bass Line by
The author looks back on his career as a jazz musician and shares his photographs and impressions of the major jazz performers with whom he worked.
Charlie Parker omnibook : for all bass clef instruments : transcribed from his recorded solos; transposed to concert key by
Confirmation -- Moose the mooche -- Ornithology -- Yardbird suite -- Anthropology -- Dewey Square -- Scrapple from the apple -- Blues for Alice -- K.C. blues -- Celerity -- Au privave : no. 1 -- Au privave : no. 2 -- Chi chi -- Cosmic rays -- Laird Baird -- She rote : no. 1 -- She rote : no. 2 -- Mohawk : no. 1 -- Mohawk : no. 2 -- An Oscar for Treadwell -- Constellation -- Donna Lee -- Kim : no. 1 -- Kim : no. 2 -- Cheryl -- Thriving from a riff -- Ko Ko -- Red Cross -- Marmaduke -- Barbados -- Perhaps -- Now's the time : no. 1 --Now's the time : no. 2 -- Buzzy -- Billie's bounce -- Chasing the Bird -- Blue Bird -- Ah-leu-cha -- Klaun stance -- Card board -- Bird gets the worm -- Segment -- Visa -- Passport -- Another hairdo -- Back home blues -- Bloomdido -- The Bird -- Steeplechase -- Diverse -- Merry-go-round -- My little suede shoes -- Relaxing with Lee -- Blues (fast) -- Shawnuff -- Leap frog -- Parker's mood -- Warming up a riff -- Si si -- Ballade.
Contact us at askalibrarian@berklee.edu or chat with a library employee (check the homepage for current chat hours)
