LibGuides: Bass: Articles & Databases

Home

Books & Scores

Style & Technique
Performance Literature
History & Development
Transcriptions & Performance Preparation

Articles

Magazines
Academic Journals
Research Databases

Audio & Video

CDs
Streaming Audio & Video
DVDs

Bass Frontiers Bass Frontiers Magazine is an online publication that specializes in coverage of bass guitar via video interviews, text articles, gear and media reviews, as well as the educational aspects of bass.
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Bass player Bass Player is a magazine for bassists. Each issue offers a variety of artist interviews, lessons, and equipment reviews. The magazine was founded in 1988 as a spinoff of Guitar Player magazine, with Jim Roberts as its first editor. The original headquarters was in San Francisco, CA.
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Bass world : the journal of the International Society of Bassists Bass World is an eclectic, not-for-profit magazine published for the enjoyment and education of the ISB's membership. It serves as a vital link among the members of the international bass-playing community. Regular features include: columns for soloists, orchestra members and jazz bassists; advice from experts about instrument maintenance; profiles of early and 20th century music specialists; discussions of health issues for bassists; tips for teachers of young bassists; a page just for kids; reviews of new recordings and music; and interviews with leading bassists from around the world.
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Bassics
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Double Bassist “Double Bassist” was published from 1996 until 2007 by the same British company that publishes the long-standing “Strad” magazine.
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Bass guitar magazine Bass Guitar is a UK-based music magazine established in 2003 and continuing to the present day. The magazine was originally a bi-monthly publication until 2009 when it became monthly. The magazine has featured articles and tuition columns from a long list of world-renowned bassists, including Nick Beggs, pop and progressive rock veteran; Jeff Berlin, jazz legend; Steve Lawson, solo artist; Alex Webster of Cannibal Corpse; Suzy Starlite of the Starlite Campbell Band; Paolo Gregoletto of Trivium; Michael McKeegan of Therapy?; Ruth Goller, jazz educator and session bassist; and Paul Geary, session bassist with George Michael, Lisa Stansfield, Westlife and many others.
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks
Guitar & bass
Call Number: Some issues available in print in the Library's Periodical Stacks

American String Teacher by American String Teachers Association
Published quarterly, the American String Teacher (AST) journal covers subjects of interest in relation to the teaching of stringed instruments and the performance of all types of music for strings. This award-winning journal keeps professionals up-to-date on the string profession and provides feature articles, teaching tips, and music reviews, as well as association and industry news.
Online Journal of Bass Research
The purpose of this journal is to foster and communicate original scholarly research pertaining to the history, development, function and features of the double bass and other related bowed bass instruments, their players and repertoires, as well as to disseminate critical reviews of recently published books and articles in these subject areas.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 3,000 journals back to 1881, as well as full text for more than 2,000 journals back to 1936, and includes full text for numerous education-related conference papers and more than 500 books and monographs back to 1972.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection provide resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, and more.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of over 25,000 reviews, articles, and interviews from publications such as Rolling Stone, Creem, and Billboard as well as audio interviews with Joni Mitchell, Mick Jagger, and more. From Abba to Zappa, this is the largest online resource for rock journalism.

Bass: Articles & Databases

Table of contents

Articles

Need help?