Contents |
Article Number: MTG1
Author: Standley, Jayne M; Walworth, Darcy; Nguyen, Judy
Title: Effect of Parent/Child Group Music Activities on Toddler Development: A Pilot Study
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 27:1 (2009) p.11-15
Abstract: The authors report results of a study that attempted to ascertain the effects of structured group music activities on childhood development prior to age 2. Findings indicate that participation in four to seven music sessions led to a significant increase in higher-level developmental skills. More children in the group receiving music sessions demonstrated higher-level music and cognitive skills than those in the control group.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Child Development; Cognitive Development; Music Therapy
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1371930
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1371930/132366618826C2110CE/1?accountid=8581
Last Updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals
Article Number: MTG2
Author: Walworth, Darcy D
Title: Effects of Developmental Music Groups for Parents and Premature or Typical Infants Under Two Years on Parental Responsiveness and Infant Social Development
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 46:1 (Spring 2009) p.32-52
Abstract: A study is presented that examined the effect of music therapy intervention on premature infants' and full-term infants' developmental responses and parents' responsiveness. Subjects were parent-infant dyads who attended developmental music groups or a control condition assessing responsiveness during toy play. Observations were coded with the number of seconds spent in each behavior using the SCRIBE observation program. Parents completed a questionnaire on the perception of their infant's general development, interpretations of their child's needs, the purpose of using music with their child, and their child's response to music. The infants attending the developmental music groups with their parents demonstrated significantly more social toy play during the standardized parent-infant toy play than infants who did not attend the music groups.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Tables, Graphs, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Infants; Statistical Analysis; Comparative Analysis; Social Interactionism; Autism
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1096807
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1096807/1323667AF1023139935/1?accountid=8581
Last Updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals
Article Number: MTG3
Author: Register, Dena; Humpal, Marcia
Title: Using Musical Transitions in Early Childhood Classrooms: Three Case Examples
Reference: Music Therapy Perspectives 25:1 (2007) p.25-31
Abstract: Three case examples with different client groups are spotlighted to illustrate the efficacy of music in facilitating transitions in common early childhood settings. For each case, discussion includes the setting, participants, method, and data collection that reflect changes in behavioral response of children when structured musical transition was used. Results suggest that music seemed to effectively help children transition more quickly within the organization of the school day.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Musical Scores, Graphs, References
Broad subject: Music Education
Topics: Transitions; Case Studies; Early Childhood Education; Behavior; Music
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0734-6875
ProQuest Document ID: 1372687
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1372687/132366936BE70922AF4/3?accountid=8581
Last Updated: 2010-12-24
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals
Article Number: MTG4
Author: Sunah, Kim; Karan Kverno; Lee Eun Mi; Park Jeong Hwa; Lee Hyun Hwa, and Kim Hyun Lye.
Title: Development of a Music Group Psychotherapy Intervention for the Primary Prevention of Adjustment Difficulties in Korean Adolescent Girls.
Reference: Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing; Aug 2006, Vol. 19 Issue 3, p103-111, 9p,
Abstract: PROBLEM: Traditionally, adolescent mental health in Korea has not been a prime focus for educators, health workers, and politicians, yet a majority of sampled adolescents report interpersonal sensitivity ( Kim, 2003). METHOD: Thirty-five adolescent girls took part in a six-session school-based music group psychotherapy pilot intervention designed to promote relationships and improve self-control skills. FINDING: Participants identified several outcome benefits that may serve as protective factors in their continued social and emotional development. CONCLUSIONS: Music is a medium that promotes interpersonal relatedness among Korean adolescent girls. More research is necessary to identify long-term benefits of preventive music group psychotherapy interventions among the adolescent population.
Subject Terms: Adolescent psychology; Mental health; Psychotherapy; Sensitivity; Social development
Keywords: Korean adolescents; Music therapy; Prevention Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell
ISSN: 1073-6077
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=21796588&site=ehost-live
Database: Academic Search Premier