Contents |
(Phonological, Articulation, Voice, Fluency, Motor-Speech)
Article Number: CDS1
Author: Gross W; Linden U; Ostermann T
Title: Effects of music therapy in the treatment of children with delayed speech development - results of a pilot study.
Reference: BMC Complementary And Alternative Medicine (2010) Jul 21; Vol. 10, pp. 39.
Abstract: Language development is one of the most significant processes of early childhood development. Children with delayed speech development are more at risk of acquiring other cognitive, social-emotional, and school-related problems. Music therapy appears to facilitate speech development in children, even within a short period of time. The aim of this pilot study is to explore the effects of music therapy in children with delayed speech development.
Article subject: Music Therapy* Language Development Disorders/*therapy: Language Therapy/*methods : Age Factors ; Child ; Child, Preschool ; Humans ; Intelligence ; Observation ; Pilot Projects ; Speech Disorders/therapy
Update Code: 20110204
PubMed Central ID: PMC2921108
PMID: 20663139
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=mnh&AN=20663139&site=ehost-live
Database: MEDLINE with Full Text
(Phonological, Morphological, Syntactical, Semantic, Pragmatic)
Article Number: CDM1
Author: Overy, Katie; Molnar-Szakacs, Istvan
Title: Being Together in Time: Musical Experience and the Mirror Neuron System
Reference: Music Perception 26:5 (June 2009) p.489-504
Abstract: A paper based on a presentation given at a workshop on musical movement and synchronization held at the Max-Planck-Institut in Leipzig, Germany, on May 3-4, 2008, is offered. The authors review research into the mirror neuron system and its potential role in human communication and empathy. They outline their model of musical experience: Shared Affective Motion Experience (SAFE) and suggest that imitation, synchronization, and shared experience may be key aspects of human musical behavior. They may therefore be key to special education and music therapy. Two small-scale studies of the potential of music to support language skills are cited, and the role of music therapy in autism is considered.
Document type: Conference Paper
Special Features: References
Broad subject: Theory/Analysis/Composition
Topics: Music Perception; Language; Autism; Models; Music Therapy; Special Education; Synchronization; Neurobiology; Emotional Responses
Organization: Max-Planck-Institut
Publisher: University of California Press
ISSN: 0730-7829
ProQuest Document ID: 1368875
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1368875?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-24
Database International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: CDM2
Author: Perry, Mary M Rainey
Title: Relating Improvisational Music Therapy with Severely and Multiply Disabled Children to Communication Development
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 40:3 (Fall 2003) p.227-246
Abstract: The particular influences of disability of musical interaction with children who have preintentional and early intentional communication were explored. Analysis of video recordings and other data confirmed that the children's level of communication development was reflected in individual music therapy. Both turn taking and playing and singing together were found to be important forms of communication during music therapy. Communication problems related to disability included difficulties in using objects as a focus of joint attention, difficulties in interpreting the interactive environment, being sufficiently motivated to communicate, severely limited means of interaction, attaining and maintaining an appropriate level of arousal, and lack of interest in interaction and the outside environment.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: References, Tables
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Music Therapy; Disabilities; Children; Communication; Influences
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1096622
Full Text URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1096622?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Article Number: CDM3
Author: McCarthy, John; Geist, Kamile; Zojwala, Rashida; Schock, Molly Z
Title: A Survey of Music Therapists' Work with Speech-Language Pathologists and Experiences with Augmentative and Alternative Communication
Reference: Journal of Music Therapy 45:4 (Winter 2008) p.405-426
Abstract: Using an Internet-based tool, Board Certified Music Therapists were surveyed regarding their work with speech-language pathologists (SLP) and experiences with augmentative and alternative communication (AAC). Specifically, participants were asked about: (1) demographics; (2) populations worked with professionally; (3) past and present work with speech-language pathologists; (4) goals addressed; (5) benefits and challenges encountered; and (6) work with AAC. The survey responses indicated that the majority of participants (73.6%) had worked with SLPs at some point in various roles and in various settings. Sharing knowledge was reported as a top benefit of working with SLPs, and scheduling was reported as the most frequent challenge.
Document type: Research and Analysis
Special Features: Graphs, Tables, References
Broad subject: Music and Other Disciplines
Topics: Pathology; Speech Therapy; Polls and Surveys; Communication; Statistical Analysis; Music Therapists
Publisher: American Music Therapy Association
ISSN: 0022-2917
ProQuest Document ID: 1101171
Document URL: http://catalog.berklee.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1101171?accountid=8581
Last updated: 2010-09-23
Database: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text