Sinatra! The Song Is You by
Drawing upon recent interviews with hundreds of his collaborators as well as with "The Voice" himself, this book is the only full-length work to chronicle, critique, and celebrate Frank Sinatra's five-decade career.
American Singers by
A complete collection of profiles on singers that Whitney Balliett has written for The New Yorker. "Whitney Balliett is, without a rival in sight, the most literate and knowledgeable living writer on jazz." -Alistair Cooke
Cash by
The personal story of an American icon in his own words.
Dark Midnight When I Rise by
Setting out initially to raise money for their university, the Fisk Jubilee Singers -- a troupe of young ex-slaves and freedmen -- ended up changing the face of American music.
Positively 4th Street by
The story of how four young bohemians on the make - Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, Mimi Baez, and Richard Farina - converged in Greenwich Village, fell into love, and invented a sound and a style that are one of the most lasting legacies of the 1960s
The Tenors by
Five noted writers on music discuss the art and personalities of five operatic superstars
The Soul of Rock 'N Roll by
From amazon.com:
"The Soul of Rock 'N Roll highlights and celebrates the powerful influence of African Americans in rock music, and this work is a 'must read' for any person who considers themselves a serious fan of ROCK 'N ROLL!"
Jazz Singers by
Nat "King" Cole, Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra, and Sarah Vaughan are among the 20 unforgettable vocalists presented in lively interviews by fine music commentators, coupled with classic photos.
The great singers : from the dawn of opera to our own time by
Henry Pleasants recreates the personalities and performances, the lives and art of "the great singers" who have left their mark on our musical culture.
African American Concert Singers Before 1950 by
Marian Roberts, Roland Hayes, and Paul Robeson were among the most visible early African American concert singers, but they were not the only ones. Many others were involved in the arts as concert singers and, given the times in which they lived, achieved tremendous results in the face of great adversity and helped pave the way for the post-1950 African American vocal artist.
Master singers :advice from the stage by 
Stand up Straight and Sing! by
One of America's most admired and decorated artists tells her amazing story, from her childhood in the South to the world's greatest stages. Jessye Norman is not only one of the world's most admired and beloved singers, she is an American icon whose life story is as moving and dramatic as the great operatic roles she has performed on stage. Born and raised in Augusta, Georgia, nurtured in a close family and tight-knit community centered around the church, she studied the piano and sang the songs of her childhood, not dreaming that this passion for music might lead to her life's profession. InStand Up Straight and Sing!, Jessye Norman recalls in rich detail the strong women who were her role models, from her ancestors to family friends, relatives, and teachers. She hails the importance of her parents in her early learning and experiences in the arts. And she describes coming face-to-face with racism, not just as a child living in the segregated South, but also as an adult out and about in the world. She speaks of the many who have inspired her and taught her essential life lessons. A special interlude on her key relationship with the pioneering African American singer Marian Anderson reveals the lifelong support that this great predecessor provided through her example of dignity and grace at all times. The story of one woman's astonishing life,Stand Up Straight And Sing! is not just for lovers of music, but for everyone.
Lives and Legends of Flamenco by
the people who have been influntial in flamenco, histories,and characters
Ella Fitzgerald by
The life of the very private and media-shy Ella Fitzgerald has long been shrouded in a mixture of half-truths and fiction. What emerges in Stuart Nicholson's groundbreaking biography is a remarkable story of a poor black girl's determination to realize the American Dream in the face of racial and sexual prejudice.
Mariah Carey Revisited by
One of the hottest pop divas in the world, this hip, gutsy, talented superstar is the top-selling female singer of the nineties.
Hip Hop Divas by
It's time to stand up, take notice, and give props to the women who have made their mark on hip hop culture.
Great Women Singers of My Time by
English music critic Herman Klein goes over the great women singers of the early 20th century
The Ladies Who Sing with the Band by
Bennett confronts issues of race and gender in the entertainment industry, particularly the jazz world
A Biographical Guide to the Great Jazz and Pop Singers by
Will Friedwald's illuminating, opinionated essays--provocative, funny, and personal--on the lives and careers of more than three hundred singers.
Women of Motown: an oral history by
The key to the incredible Motown hit factory was sheer depth of talent, an extended family of performers, songwriters, and producers making musical magic. This book is a collection of no-holds-barred accounts from the great Motown women.
Girls Like Us by 
Voice and the Alexander Technique by 
Sight Singing by
By systematically examining each interval within the octave and providing a wealth of exercises from all periods, Sight Singing: Pitch, Interval, Rhythm teaches students to perform Western music of any style or harmonic organization.
Vocal improvisation / Michele Weir. by 
It's not on the page! : how to integrate jazz and jazz rhythm into choral and solo repertoire / Stephanie Nakasian by 
The Rock-N-Roll Singer's Survival Manual by
(Book). This book is perfect for the aspiring rock singer that needs improvement, but cannot or will not take lessons. It is a thorough, yet easy-to-understand presentation of the basic elements of singing, including vocal production, training, breathing, posture and diet. Written in a down-to-earth style, the author addresses such relevant topics as overcoming nervousness, dealing with emotions, and the true consequences of coffee, alcohol & smoking. Includes useful illustrations and diagrams.
On Singing Onstage by
(Applause Acting Series). A terrific take on theatre singing by a master teacher. "David Craig knows more about singing in the musical theatre than anyone in this country which probably means the world. Time and time again his advice and training have resulted in actors moving from non-musical theatre into musicals with ease and expertise. SHORT OF TAKING CLASSES, THIS BOOK IS A MUST." Harold Prince
The Ultimate Breathing Workout (Revised Edition) by
From the author of Raise Your Voice and only documented singer in the world to shatter a glass by voice alone-This book provides a nine step breathing program designed to increase breath capacity, strengthen the breathing apparatus and enable you to hold out notes for over a minute. Contains 1 illustration and 10 audio examples.
Care of the Professional Voice by
Singer and actors are a unique group of performers, relying almost entirely on their voice for the professional livelihood. Jet lag, amplification, allergens, stress, pollution, and vocal strain all affect vocal performance. Written for the performer, the teacher, and the vocal coach, Care of the Professional Voice offers clear explanations and medical advice on vocal problems and vocal health. Care of the Professional Voice is written by experts in laryngology in the United States and Great Britain. Thisnbsp;second edition includes a singer's guide to self-diagnosis.
Confessions of a Session Singer by
(Book). An educational and entertaining look at professional studio work from the vantage point of a veteran session vocalist. Confessions tackles topics that will help readers define, improve and maintain a professional studio career. This book takes the reader from the first steps of researching, networking and preparing for a career as a session singer to building their career strategically. Tips for communicating effectively with the audio engineer, the client and the producer are covered, including definitions of commonly used studio terms. Specific techniques and gear that enhance a vocalist's performance are explained to the reader in detail. Interspersed between the tips and trade secrets are entertaining anecdotes to give the reader real world examples and insight as they relate to the pertinent chapter topics.
Professional Singer's Handbook by
(Book). This book realistically prepares a singer for life in the world of professional music. Author Gloria Rusch gives candid advice on topics including: getting started, finding a vocal coach, defining one's voice, learning correct breathing, conquering stage fright, microphone techniques, connecting with an audience, common vocal ailments, recording studio pointers, finding a band, landing a record deal, and much more. The book includes extensive interviews with Kevon Edmonds of the group After 7, stage and television producer Ken Kragen, Janis Siegel of Manhattan Transfer, multi-platinum songwriter Andy Goldmark, and other knowledgeable session singers, sound engineers, and arrangers. 212 pages, 9" x 12"
The Singer's Ego by
From the psychological to the practical, the serious challenges and issues that can affect a singer's performance are explored in this groundbreaking book. Author Lynn Eustis, herself a professional signer and voice instructor, argues that the daily psychological conflicts that make up a singer's world can have profound implications for both the singer and the teacher. The book is divided into two parts: The Inner World, which discusses all of the emotional and personal issues involved with singing, and The Outer World, which addresses questions of public perception and performance. The end of each chapter includes a section for further exploration that is filled with introspective exercises. This book is a valuable addition to the libraries of singers, conductors, and teachers of singing at all levels.
The Singing Voice by
This book is an informal survey, written admittedly as a highly personal review, of some of the varying aspects of the subject by an author who has been devoted to the singing voice all his life and has had extensive vocal training. He tells the earliest history of singing from the first sounds made by man to the place of song in the church, the castrati, and the evolution of bel canto.
Training Tenor Voices by
This text presents a combination of historical and pedagogical information on how tenors sing. It emphasizes the special nature of the tenor voice and the proper physiological function leading to the establishment of vocal proficiency.
Expressive singing.Volume 2,correlated advanced theory, technic, pedagogy, and repertoire :a textbook for school or studio, class or private teaching by 
A spectrum of voices :prominent American voice teachers discuss the teaching of singing by 
The naked voice :a wholistic approach to singing by 
Twenty-four Italian songs and arias of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. by
Formatted Contents Note:
Per la gloria d'adorarvi / Giovanni Battista Bononcini -- Amarilli, mia bella / Giulio Caccini -- Alma del core ; Come raggio di sol ; Sebben, crudele / Antonio Caldara -- Vittoria, mio core! / Giacomo Carissimi -- Danza, danza, fanciulla gentile ; Vergin, tutto amor / Francesco Durante -- Caro mio ben / Giuseppe Giordani -- O del mio dolce ardor / Christoph Willibald von Gluck -- Che fiero costume / Giovanni Legrenzi -- Pur dicesti, o bocca bella / Antonio Lotti -- Il mio bel foco / Benedetto Marcello -- Non posso disperar / S. De Luca -- Lasciatemi morire / Claudio Monteverdi -- Read Less
Nel cor piu non mi sento / Giovanni Paisiello -- Se tu m'ami, se sospiri ; Nina / Giovanni Battista Pergolesi -- Gia il sole dal Gange ; Le violette ; O cessate di piagarmi ; Se Florindo e fedele / Alessandro Scarlatti -- Pieta, Signore! / Alessandro Stradella -- Tu lo sai / Giuseppi Torelli.
American Arias by
(Boosey & Hawkes Voice). The Boosey & Hawkes catalog is one of the greatest treasures of contemporary American vocal literature. This book includes access to professionally recorded piano accompaniments for each piece, accessed online. Contents: THE DEATH OF KLINGHOFFER: Mrs. Klinghoffer's Aria * I WAS LOOKING AT THE CEILING AND THEN I SAW THE SKY: Consuelo's Dream, Leila's Song: Alone (Again or at Last) * EL NINO: La anunciacion * THE ASPEN PAPERS: Tina's Aria * CASANOVA'S HOMECOMING: Bellino's Aria * THE DREAM OF VALENTINO: Nazimova's Aria * MISS HAVISHAM'S FIRE: Estella's Aria * POSTCARD FROM MOROCCO: A Foreign Singer in a Waiting Station * THE SHOEMAKERS' HOLIDAY: Rose's Air * THE SWEET BYE AND BYE: Mother Rainey's Aria * MASS: A Simple Song * TROUBLE IN TAHITI: There is a garden, What a movie! * THE TENDER LAND: Ma's Song * THE PICNIC: Shaun, do not go * BERTHA: The Norway Aria * THE RAKE'S PROGRESS: Baba's Aria and Monologue
45 arias from operas and oratorios by
English and Italian words, and German words with English and Italian translations; many selections also printed as text, with English translations as appropriate.
The Oratorio Anthology by
(Vocal Collection). Contents: Bach: Cantata No. 21 (Seufzer, Thranen, Kummer, Noth) * Cantata No. 68 (Mein glaubiges Herze) * St. Matthew Passion (Blute nur, du liebes Herz, Ich will dir mein Herze schenken) * St. John Passion (Zerfliesse mein Herze, Ich folge dir gleichfalls) * Christmas Oratorio (Nur ein Wink von seinem Handen) Beethoven: Christus am Olberge (Preist, der Erlosers Gute) Faure: Requiem (Pie Jesu) Handel: Jephtha (Tune the soft melodious lute) * Joshua (Oh! had I Jubal's lyre) * Judas Maccabaeus (O liberty, thou choicest treasure) * Messiah (Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion, I know that my Redeemer liveth, If God be for us) * Samson (Let the bright Seraphim) Haydn: The Creation (With verdure clad, On mighty pens) * Die Jahreszeiten (Welche Labung fur die Sinne) * Stabat Mater (Quis non posset) Mendelssohn: Elijah (Hear Ye, Israel) Mozart: Mass in C Minor (Laudamaus te) * Vesperae Solennes de Confessore (Laudate Dominum) Pergolesi: Stabat Mater (Cujus animam gementum, Vidit suum dulcem natum) Purcell: Come Ye Sons of Art (Bid the Virtues, bid the Graces) Rossini: Stabat Mater (Inflammatus et accensus) Vivaldi: Gloria (Domine Deus).
Sacred songs for voice and piano / Charles E. Ives by
Note:
Abide with me.--Forward into light.--Naught that country needeth.--Disclosure.--The waiting soul.--The camp meeting.--His exaltation.--Watchman!--Down east.--Religion.--The collection
Treemonisha Vocal Score by
Dubbed the "King of Ragtime" by his music publisher, Scott Joplin (1868–1917) was a formally educated musician whose popular piano rags inspired him to go on to composition on a larger, far more developed scale and conception. His second opera, Treemonisha, an example of his most serious work, was published in 1911 at his own expense. The story of a confident young woman whose life, in many respects, paralleled Joplin's, the work was a blueprint for social, racial, and sexual equality. The opera became Joplin's obsession, taking precedence over his other creative efforts while tragically affecting his health and fortune. In describing its energetic rhythms and melodies, The New York Times praised Treemonisha as gently imbued with ragtime, aspiring "to genuine operatic richness." The vocal score of this pioneering opera appears here in a handsome and inexpensive edition, sure to be valued by soloists, rehearsal pianists, and anyone who delights in the music of this important African-American composer.
Examples of Gregorian chant and other sacred music of the 16th century by
"The only systematic survey of its kind! The great composers of the sixteenth century Palestrina, Victoria, des Pres, Lassus, and Morales employed a common body of techniques in their approach to ecclesiastical art music before the development of harmony. Now available from Waveland Press, this systematic survey of examples of their music stresses these similarities, thereby helping musicians to master the techniques of sixteenth-century counterpoint..."
50 Gershwin classics : [piano, vocal, guitar]. by
"All of the finest from this vastly talented composer. Includes: An American in Paris * But Not for Me * Embraceable You * A Foggy Day * Funny Face * I Got Rhythm * I've Got a Crush on You * Lorelei * Love Is Here to Stay * The Man I Love * Nice Work If You Can Get It * Rhapsody in Blue * Someone to Watch Over Me * Swanee * Sweet and Low-Down * 'S Wonderful * They Can't Take That Away from Me * more!"
The Beach Boys complete : [piano, vocal, guitar] / editor, Audrey L. Kleiner ; production, Frank J. Hackinson by
For voice and piano, principally with chord symbols and guitar chord diagrams.
The Beatles - Complete Scores by
(Transcribed Score). A fitting tribute to possibly the greatest pop band ever - The Beatles. This outstanding hard-cover edition features over 1100 pages with full scores and lyrics to all 210 titles recorded by The Beatles. Guitar and bass parts are in both standard notation and tablature. Also includes a full discography. Songs include: All You Need Is Love * And I Love Her * Baby You're a Rich Man * Back in the U.S.S.R. * The Ballad of John and Yoko * Blackbird * Can't Buy Me Love * Come Together * Drive My Car * Eleanor Rigby * From Me to You * Glass Onion * A Hard Day's Night * Help! * Hey Jude * I Saw Her Standing There * I Want to Hold Your Hand * Michelle * Penny Lane * She Loves You * Twist and Shout * Yesterday * and many more! Book is packaged in its own protective box. A must-own for any serious Beatles fan or collector! 7-2/8 x 10-7/8 .
Music and Lyrics by Cole Porter by
Cole Porter wrote some of the best-loved standards of all time. These collection showcase his phenomenal output. Volume 1 features music and lyrics for 59 songs, including: All of You * Begin the Beguine * Down in the Depths (On the Ninetieth Floor) * Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye * Friendship * From This Moment On * I Get a Kick Out of You * I Love Paris * I've Got You Under My Skin * In the Still of the Night * It's All Right with Me * It's De-Lovely * Just One of Those Things * Let's Do It (Let's Fall in Love) * Love for Sale * Night and Day * You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To * and more! Includes a show chronology and B/W photos.
Walking in the Light of Freedom: Celebrating African-American history through plantation songs and folklore / [text and musical arrangements] by René Boyer-Alexander by
(Expressive Art (Choral)). The history and spirit of the enslaved African remain alive in the songs and storytelling that have been passed down through word of mouth for generations. The music of the spiritual song, plantation songs and folklore, children's songs and games, blues, jazz, gospel and freedom songs is the key to unlocking true understanding of African American culture and the role it has played in the history of America. Walking in the Light of Freedom will serve as a major resource series with its chronological history of songs, speech and rhythmic activities, stories and commentaries that have been designed to appeal to people of all ages. Volume II songs include: Casey Jones, Down By The Riverside, Hold On, I've Been Working On The Railroad, John Henry, Michael Row The Boat Ashore, Pay Me My Money Down, Wayfaring Strange, All Around the Kitchen and 18 more. For all ages.
Carole King : deluxe anthology ; [piano, vocal, guitar] by
Back to California -- Beautiful -- Been to Canaan -- Being at war with each other -- Believe in humanity -- Bitter with the sweet -- Brother Brother -- Can't you be real -- Chains -- Chicken soup with rice -- Come down easy -- Corazon -- Crying in the rain -- Dancin' with tears in my eyes -- Don't bring me down -- Down home -- Ferguson Road -- Go away little girl -- God only knows -- Halfway to paradise -- Hard Rock Cafe -- Hey, girl -- Hi-de-ho (that old sweet roll) -- High out of time -- Home again -- I can't stay mad with you --I feel the earth move -- It might as well rain until September -- It's going to take some time -- It's too late -- Jazzman -- Keep your hands off my baby -- The loco-motion -- Main Street Saturday night -- Music -- (You make me feel like) A natural woman -- Nightingale -- Now that everything's been said -- Oh no, not my baby -- One fine day -- One to one -- Only love is real -- Paradise Alley -- Simple things -- Smackwater Jack -- Snow queen -- So far away -- So many ways -- So much love -- Some kind of wonderful -- Stand behind me -- Sweet seasons -- Take good care of my baby -- Tapestry -- Time gone by -- Too much rain -- Up on the roof -- Wasn't born to follow -- Way over yonder -- What a sweet thing that was -- Where you lead -- Will you love me tomorrow? -- Wrap around joy -- You go your way, I'll go mine -- You light up my life -- You're something new -- You're the one who knows -- You've got a friend
The Rodgers and Hammerstein Collection by
(P/V/G Composer Collection). It's a grand collection fit for two of the most influential and successful composers of the modern era! This folio presents 70 songs from 11 of their blockbusters, complete with background information on each show and a great bio of this famous team. It also features an index by show and an alphabetical song title index. Songs include: Bali Ha'i * The Carousel Waltz * Climb Ev'ry Mountain * Dites-Moi (Tell Me Why) * Do-Re-Mi * Edelweiss * A Fellow Needs a Girl * Getting to Know You * A Hundred Million Miracles * I Cain't Say No * I Enjoy Being a Girl * I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair * It Might as Well Be Spring * It's a Grand Night for Singing * June Is Bustin' Out All Over * Kansas City * My Favorite Things * Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin' * Oklahoma * Our State Fair * Shall We Dance? * Some Enchanted Evening * The Surrey with the Fringe on Top * There Is Nothin' like a Dame * You'll Never Walk Alone * You've Got to Be Carefully Taught * and more.
Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits by
(Music Sales America). Matching folio to Bob Dylan's Greatest Hits albums volumes 1, 2 and 3, in one complete edition. 45 songs including the classic hits: Blowin' in the Wind * Mr. Tambourine Man * The Mighty Quinn * and more.
Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women by 
Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias by 
The Cambridge Companion to Singing by
Ranging from medieval music to Madonna and beyond, this book covers in detail the many aspects of the voice.
Jazz Singing by
This comprehensive study of jazz traces the growth and development of jazz beginning at its roots, with legendary greats Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald, and introducing readers to such less well-known figures as Connie Boswell and Cliff Edwards.
Torch Singing by
With an ethnographer's eye, Stacy Holman Jones offers us a cultural critique of torch singing--as much more than the familiar tune of a woman's lamenting her own willing deception and passivity. She takes us into the space between music and language, allowing us to view torch singing not only as an expression of burgeoning desire but also of a more firmly resolved resistance and promise of change. An engaging read for performing arts and music professionals, and instructors in mass media and experimental ethnography.
Angels and Monsters by
A riveting history of the early male and female sopranos for whom many of the greatest roles in opera were written.
Women Icons of Popular Music: the Rebels, Rockers, and Renegades [2 Volumes] by
Popular music owes greatly to the spirit of rebellion. In all of its diversified, experimental, modern-day micro-genres, music's roots were first watered by good old-fashioned social dissension- its incendiary heights pushed heavenward by radicals and rogue revolutionaries. And perhaps none are more influential and non-conformist than women. Always first in line to give convention a sound thrashing, women in music have penned sonic masterpieces, championed sweeping social movements, and breathed life into sounds yet unimagined.
Great Singers on Great Singing by
Jerome Hines has interviewed 40 singers, a speech therapist, and a throat specialist to provide this invaluable collection of advice for all singers.
Music Speaks by
From Daniel Albright, author of Musicking Shakespeare and Berlioz's Semi-Operas, comes a collection of essays on music and on dance, probing the problems of articulating the meaning[s] of music.
Ma Rainey and the Classic Blues Singers by
A critical discussion of Ma Rainey, Bessie Smith and the 'Classic' women singers of the 'twenties who first put blues on record and established its relationship to jazz.
The great singers: from the dawn of opera to our own time by 
16-Bar Theatre Audition by
16-bar song excerpts, primarily from musicals and motion pictures, for mezzo-soprano and piano.
Includes chord symbols. Includes preface.
Diana Krall by
20 of the signature songs of jazz vocalist/pianist Diana Krall
Audition songs for female singers: Rock Hits by
CD and music pack specially developed for female singers auditioning for shows, reviews and bands
The great audition sourcebook by
40 songs arranged for voice and piano, with guitar chord symbols where appropriate.
CD's contain backing tracks.
Jazz Phrasing by
Jazz Phrasing is a perfect workbook for all jazz vocalists. It covers: Specific Rhythm Phrasing interpreting 8th notes, specific rhythm figures; Open Phrasing exploring tempos and styles, working with ballads; Tips on Performance choosing a tempo and counting off, telling the song's story, working with your ensemble; and more. Accompanying sound disc contains vocal and instrumental examples and sing-along rhythm section tracks
A Performer Prepares by
A Performer Prepares is a 13-part master class on how to perform on any stage from bleak rehearsal room to the Palace Theatre.
Scat! by
A comprehensive approach to vocal improvisation with rhythmic and melodic exercises, transcribed solos, vocal bass lines and drum grooves, syllable articulation etudes, and more.
The Art of the Song Recital by
The Emmons-Sonntag text has continually stood out as the definitive work on the song recital.
