LibGuides: Voice: Articles & Databases

Home

Books & Scores

Biographies
Style & Technique
Performance Literature
History & Development
Transcriptions & Performance Preparation

Articles

Magazines
Academic Journals
Research Databases

Audio & Video

CDs
Streaming Audio & Video
DVDs

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, and more.

The Performing songwriter by Lydia Hutchinson
Publication Date: Periodical
“Performing Songwriter is more than a magazine; it is host to a community of people who love songs, a community that includes fans as well as the songwriters." - Mary Gauthier, Songwriter and Recording Artist
Opera America
Opera America, styled OPERA America, is a New York-based service organization promoting the creation, presentation, and enjoyment of opera in the United States.
Opera News
Opera News is an American classical music magazine. It has been published since 1936 by the Metropolitan Opera Guild, a non-profit organization located at Lincoln Center which was founded to engender the appreciation of opera and also support the Metropolitan Opera of New York City.
Opera Now
The new-look Opera Now captures the drama, colour and vitality of one of the most powerful of all the performing arts. In our print edition, we showcase the creative spirit of opera, both on stage and behind the scenes, with profiles of opera companies, singers, directors and designers. Our in-depth features reflect how diverse cultural elements have influenced opera, including travel, history, literature, art, architecture, politics and philosophy.
Opera Wire
Opera is not dying, nor does it need to be saved. In fact, if anything, it is undergoing a unique transformation around the world. Our main mission with OperaWire is to shine a spotlight on all the amazing people nurturing and developing the art form today.

Journal of Voice by International Association of Phonosurgeons
Call Number: Library Periodical Stacks & Online

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.
All Music This link opens in a new window
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians and songs. It includes exhaustive discographies supplemented with reviews, biographies, sound samples and other information about audio releases.
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Boundless This link opens in a new window
Downloadable ebooks and escores including Berklee Press publications. NOTE: Works best on iOS or Android devices using the Boundless app

EBSCO Host
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide. With quality databases and search features, EBSCOhost helps researchers of all kinds find the information they need fast.
RIPM
RIPM publications offer access online for the first time to extensive collections of rare, primary source music periodicals dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern Period. Collectively this unique archive offers both an almost daily chronicle of musical activities extending over a period of more than 200 years (1760–1966), and immense possibilities for original research. RIPM’s collection is unique, not available in any other online resource and contains more than 1,000,000 full–text pages of rare music periodicals.
Music Index
Music Index includes rigorous curation of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 68 global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.  
JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE, a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, is an online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books.
Worldcat
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of tens of thousands of institutions, in many countries, that are current or past members of the OCLC global cooperative. It is operated by OCLC, Inc.
Grove
Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Related Resources

Post 1960 Jazz Vocal Repertoire
The current Index contains 100 songs with lyrics selected from project contributor nominations and Lisa Thorson, Project Creator and Curator Professor, Berklee College of Music, Voice Department.
Traditional Voice Repertoire
An interactive database of downloadable traditional repertoire scores PDFs. Access with active Berklee OnePass.

Finding Lead Sheets, Fake or Real Books, and Scores
by Stacey Snyder Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 1411 views this year
Voice and Speech Resources
by Brendan Higgins Last Updated Sep 2, 2024 60 views this year

Ask A Librarian

For research help:

Ask Us Live! when our chat button is active on the homepage

Email askalibrarian@berklee.edu to send a question or request a research consultation with a librarian

Voice: Articles & Databases

Table of Contents

Articles

Related Resources

Ask A Librarian

For research help: