Pictures at an Exhibition: For the Piano by
From the staff:
A virtuosic set of pieces later orchestrated by Ravel and much later arranged and performed by Emerson Lake and Palmer, the piano version is still the most definitive.
Complete Ballades, Impromptus and Sonatas by
From the score:
"Frédéric Chopin's four ballades, four impromptus and three sonatas are among the composer's most mature works, [rivaled] only by his scherzos and polonaises for extended thematic development and formal structure. In their broader scope and more dramatic impact, these important compositions show us Chopin's other face, balancing those brief, wonderfully melodious pieces--the waltzes, preludes and mazurkas--that make up his most popular repertoire."
Zweite Sonate für Klavier by
From the staff :
One of Hindemith's most popular piano sonatas.
Deux Arabesques by
From the staff:
One of Berklee's most favored composers, the deux arabesques are a standard piece of repertoire.
Complete Preludes for Piano: Op. 3, 23, 32 by
From sheetmusicplus.com:
"Complete Preludes For Piano (Op. 3, Op. 23, Op. 32). (Centennial Edition). By Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943). For solo piano. Piano Collection. Classical Period. SMP Level 10 (Advanced). Collection. Standard notation, fingerings and introductory text (does not include words to the songs). 108 pages."
Sonata No. 2 for Piano: Concord, Mass., 1840-1860 by
From the catalog:
"The reading matter...is taken from the composer's Essays before a sonata, written primarily as a preface for this sonata." Emerson.--Hawthorne.--The Alcotts.--Thoreau.
Seriously Brubeck: Original Music by
From Amazon.com:
"This comprehensive anthology of Dave Brubeck's serious piano works is a must for every Brubeck fan. These dynamic works for the early advanced to advanced player are enveloped within boundaries of romanticism yet remain cutting-edge. [This score contains] dramatic concert works that effectively showcase Brubeck's compositional genius." This folio includes numerous photos.
Das Wohltemperierte Klavier = The Well Tempered Clavier: 48 Preludes and Fugues by
From Google Books:
"A newly engraved edition of the 48 preludes and fugues, Volume II for piano was edited by the noted Bach expert Dr. Hans Bischoff. It includes a table of embellishments and a preface from Dr. Bischoff. KALMUS EDITIONS are primarily reprints of Urtext Editions, reasonably priced and readily available. They are a 'must' for students, teachers, and performers."
Sonaten von W.A. Mozart by
From the catalog:
"score (2 v.)"
Sonatas for Piano: Original Version, Unedited by
From the catalog:
Contents: "v.1. Sonatas 1-15.--v.2. Sonatas 16-32."
Piano Works by
From Google Books:
"The music of Brahms shows great respect for the form and structure of eighteenth-century classicism, yet it also incorporates the romantic style that was typical of the nineteenth century. Brahms is considered a giant among nineteenth-century composers of chamber music and symphonies."
Piano Masterpieces of Maurice Ravel by
From Amazon.com:
"Handsome, affordable treasury of outstanding works by French master: Pavane pour une infante défunte, Jeux d'eau, Sonatine, Miroirs, Menuet antique, Gaspard de la nuit, more. Influential works belong in the repertoire of every serious pianist."
Twentieth-Century Piano Classics by
From Amazon.com:
"Pianists at intermediate and advanced levels will applaud this fine compilation of works by a trio of the century’s most significant composers. Contents include Stravinsky’s Three Movements from Petrushka, Rag Time, Piano-Rag-Music, and The Five Fingers: 8 Very Easy Melodies on 5 Notes; Schoenberg’s Symphony, Op. 9, Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11, and Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19; and Hindemith’s 1922: Suite for Piano, Op. 26. Reprinted from authoritative editions."
George Gershwin's Preludes for Piano by
From the catalog:
Contents: "1. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso -- 2. Andante con moto e poco rubato -- 3. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso."
Klavierstück: Op. Posth. by
From allmusic.com:
"There is precious little Webern piano music. Aside from appearances in ensembles and, more plentifully, as an accompaniment in songs, the pianoforte figures into Webern's mature catalog only three times: first, a tiny solo piano Kinderstück [Children's Piece] composed in 1924, and last, the Piano Variations, Op.27 of 1936. In between these two is a two-page Klavierstück written in 1925 as one of Webern's very earliest experiments into the workings of Arnold Schoenberg's brand-new twelve-tone method." - Blair Johnston
Works for Piano, Prepared Piano and Toy Piano. Volume 4, (1933-1952) by
From sheetmusicplus.com:
"The pieces in this volume are newly engraved and each is edited by acclaimed Cage pianist Margaret Leng Tan. 'This volume offers a treasure of lesser-known works by Cage. . . . The editorial suggestions will help pianists to better understand the composer's attention to details in the score as well as his variety of musical styles during this time period.'" - Clavier, July/August 2005.
The Virtuoso Pianist: In Sixty Exercises: For the Piano by
From Amazon.com:
"Since the first release of this classic Schirmer edition over 100 years ago, almost anyone who has taken piano lessons for more than two years has played from The Virtuoso Pianist. Millions of copies have been sold of these progressive exercises which guide a player's technique, building finger independence and strength."
The School of Velocity: For the Piano: Op. 299 Complete by
From Google Books:
"This popular volume offers practical training in well-articulated pianistic passage work, particularly in playing the virtuoso music of the romantic period. In addition to this, each study is a complete music composition, demanding attention to dynamics and phrasing. Students who master Opus 299 have indeed progressed a long way in the 'school of velocity.'"
Jazz Hanon by
From Amazon.com:
"This one-on-one lesson with Musicians Institute instructor Peter Deneff features 50 exercises for the beginning to professional jazz pianist, covering: angular lines, large intervals, pentatonic patterns, blues scales, irregular chromatic melodies, double-note patterns, suggested fingerings, suggestions for practice, and more."
14 Blues & Funk Etudes: C Instruments by
From Amazon.com:
"A collection of studies composed for musicians who wish to extend themselves in improvisation, composition, sight reading and general musicianship skills. Each etude has a theoretical explanation, suggestions for performance and tips for practice routines. Two CDs of combo accompaniments performed by members of the Yellowjackets are included. All books are compatible and written so that they can be performed together."
Essential Jazz Lines in the Style of Bill Evans. Piano Edition by
From Amazon.com:
"...This book of original musical studies and analyses by Corey Christiansen and Per Danielsson is designed to help you develop your own personal improvising style. It presents numerous musical lines with chord symbols in the style of Bill Evans, grouped by the harmony they can be used against."
Two-Part Inventions: For the Piano by
From the staff:
A standard in every pianist's practice routine, Bach's two-part inventions are the building blocks of pianistic perfection.
Jazz Piano: The Left Hand by
From Google Books:
"Covering a span of time and styles ranging from jazz beginnings to some of the most recent developments, this book collects and analyzes many of the most frequently used jazz, blues, and Latin jazz left-hand piano techniques. Generally, each proposed technique is first introduced by a 'model' figure derived from original sources."
Oscar Peterson: Classic Trio Performances: A Step-By-Step Breakdown of the Piano Styles and Techniques of a Jazz Virtuoso by
From the publisher:
Learn how to play 14 of Oscar Peterson's trademark pieces: C-Jam Blues • Cheek to Cheek • Come Rain or Come Shine • Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me • Don't Get Around Much Anymore • The Girl from Ipanema • I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good • Indiana • The Lady Is a Tramp • Lover • My One and Only Love and more.
The Art of Finger Dexterity: Fifty Studies for the Piano, Op. 740, Complete by
From Amazon.com:
"These 50 excellent and systematic exercises Czerny devised for developing finger dexterity are as useful today as when they were first written. Each exercise is preceded by a statement of specific goals. Exercises range from achieving even finger action with a quiet hand to virtuoso studies that emphasize affectations such as the bravura touch."
The Perfect Wrong Note: Learning to Trust Your Musical Self by
From Amazon.com:
"In this groundbreaking book, prize-winning pianist and noted educator William Westney helps readers discover their own path to the natural, transcendent fulfillment of making music. Drawing on experience, psychological insight, and wisdom ancient and modern, Westney shows how to trust yourself and set your own musicality free. He offers healthy alternatives for lifelong learning and suggests significant change in the way music is taught..."
Oscar Peterson, Note for Note: Transcriptions of Classic Recordings by
From the publisher:
This fabulous book/CD pack features transcriptions of 18 piano solos by the legendary Oscar Peterson, taken directly from the original recordings. The solos are divided into two groups: eight Oscar Peterson Classic Originals (Chicago Blues, Hymn to Freedom, Nightingale, Night Time, and more) and ten selections in Oscar Peterson Plays the Blues (Blues Etude, Greasy Blues, Oscar's Boogie, R.B. Blues, Ron's Blues, and more).
The Artistry of Bill Evans by
From Google Books:
"These pieces display the innovative style of the late, great jazz master Bill Evans including his highly original harmonic and melodic concept, his creative sense of rhythmic subdivision and his free-flowing phrase construction."
Brubeck: Original Themes and Improvised Variations for Solo Piano by
From the catalog:
"Biographical information and commentary on the music on t.p. verso of each volume."
Keyboard Anthology by Dream Theater by
"Exact transcriptions for all the keyboard parts to 15 Dream Theater songs."
Classic Jazz Compositions & Piano Solos by Herbie Hancock by
From ejazzlines.com:
"Herbie Hancock is certainly one of the most influential jazz pianists. His recordings as a member of the Miles Davis Quintet and as a leader of several sessions for the Blue Note Label have made an impact on practically all contemporary jazz pianists, especially in terms of harmonic conception and the spontaneous development of melodic and rhythmic ideas. This book contains compositions and piano solos from both of these historically influential sources."
The Giants of Jazz Piano by
From Amazon.com:
"This handsome, insightful hardcover volume delves deep into the music of 88 visionaries who have made an indelible mark on the world of jazz through their mastery of the piano's 88 keys. This engaging collection describes the intriguing personality and performance characteristics of each pianist."
The Bud Powell Collection by
From Google Books:
"Known for his innovative technique and sheer intensity, Bud Powell was one of the finest bop pianists of the 1940s-60s. This folio features note-for-note transcriptions of his performances of nine tunes - his own compositions and standards. Includes: April in Paris * Danceland * Get Happy * It Could Happen to You * Oblivion * Parisian Thoroughfare * So Sorry Please * Tempus Fugit * Un Poco Loco. Also contains a biography and discography."
Glenn Gould: The Performer in the Work: A Study in Performance Practice by
From Library Journal:
"Not another biographical tribute, this is instead a detailed critical study of Gould the musical interpreter, complete with a CD of pertinent recordings. Examining recorded performances occasionally note by note the author analyzes Gould's interpretations first in light of their faithfulness to the printed score and then in a historical and aesthetic context..." - Timothy J. McGee, Univ. of Toronto
Jazz Piano: A Jazz History by
Staff Summary:
Through his career Billy Taylor documented the progression of jazz and sees it as America's classical music.
The Piano: Its Story from Zither to Grand by
Staff Summary:
Written by a piano manufacturer, this is the story of the piano from its primeval mechanical beginnings from the zither to the clavichord, the harpsichord, spinet, and our various renditions of the piano. He discusses the piano's technical development and describes the construction of the contemporary piano.
Music for Piano: A Short History by
From Google Books:
"This historical survey focuses on music for piano solo but also includes important compositions for piano duet and two pianos. Scholarly yet readable, it covers the entire repertoire from the Renaissance to the late 20th century and incorporates a bibliography of 1,100 sources for further study."
88: The Giants of Jazz Piano by
From Google Books:
"This handsome, insightful hardcover volume delves deep into the music of 88 visionaries who have made an indelible mark on the world of jazz through their mastery of the piano's 88 keys... Seven major figures are covered in depth: Jelly Roll Morton, Earl Hines, Art Tatum, Thelonious Monk, Bud Powell, Keith Jarrett and Cecil Taylor..." - Dick Hyman
The Cambridge Companion to the Piano by
From Google Books:
"The Cambridge Companion to the Piano is an informative and practical guide to one of the world's most popular instruments. This collection of specially commissioned essays offers an accessible introduction to the history of the piano, performance styles, and its vast repertoire..."
Stride!: Fats, Jimmy, Lion, Lamb, and All the Other Ticklers by
Staff Summary:
Documents the stride piano's history from minstrel shows and ragtime to its beginnings in Harlem. The time period stride developed was from World War I to the Great Depression. This book discusses the greats that made stride piano including Eubie Blake, Luckey Roberts through Willie 'the Lion Smith' and Duke Ellington.
Twentieth-Century Piano Music by
From barnesandnoble.com:
"In Twentieth-Century Piano Music, David Burge offers a personal and inviting overview of the often challenging music written for solo piano during this century, an artistic response by a pianist and educator widely acclaimed for introducing much of this literature to the repertoire. Divided into four sections, each covering a key historical period, the text examines the development of different styles and compositional techniques, and integrates historical and artistic details with a sophisticated and accessible approach to the music."
The Book of the Piano by
From Google Books:
"Explains how the piano works, shows a variety of piano designs, discusses modern, classical, and jazz piano music, and offers profiles of famous composers and pianists."
The Evolution of Solo Jazz Piano by
From pianoplace.com:
"The Evolution of Solo Jazz Piano is a study of solo piano styles developed by 24 of the most influential solo pianists from 1900 to the present. In order to clearly illustrate the specific contributions of the various pianists, Bill Dobbins composed a theme based on the well known standard 'All Of Me'. By applying the stylistic approaches of the different pianists to the same theme, one becomes aware of the subtle yet [evocative] elements of each individual style."
A History of Pianoforte-Playing and Pianoforte-Literature by
From the Author's Preface and Introduction to the book:
"Hitherto,...an orderly historical view, comprehending the entire field of clavier-literature, and at the same time calling to mind the names of those masters to whose activity we owe the perfection and extension of our art, has been wanting. It is the purpose of the present work to bridge over this sensible gap in writing devoted to the history of music."
History of the Piano by
From the book's introduction:
Instead of a comprehensive history, the authors "have preferred to draw the broad outlines, to emphasize the chief stages of the instrument's history, to show the bonds and interchange between the principal [centers] of its manufacture, to point out the relationship between the instrument and the music written for it."
A Left Hand Like God: A History of Boogie-Woogie Piano by
From Google Books:
"The Story of Boogie-Woogie: A Left Hand Like God examines the socio-historical background of the boogie-woogie piano style, from its early appearances in the barrelhouses of lumber, turpentine, and railroad camps in the southern United States, to its emergence at rent parties in Chicago and St. Louis, to its rise as a popular form of music in the nightclubs of New York, to its status as an international craze during World War II."
Men, Women and Pianos: A Social History by
From Amazon.com:
"An internationally renowned pianist presents a delightful 'piano's-eye view' of Western European and American social history from the 16th through 20th centuries. With wit and erudition, Loesser traces the history of the instrument's design and manufacture and its music, from the clavichord and harpsichord to the modern spinet and concert grand."
Pianos, Pianists, and Sonics by
From the book's dust jacket:
"Written in non-technical terms, this book is intended for all music lovers and sound enthusiasts. It deals with the piano from every angle--evolution, construction, touch and tone, tuning, toning, etc."
Pianos and Their Makers: A Comprehensive History of the Development of the Piano from the Monochord to the Concert Grand Player Piano by
From Google Books:
"Leading inventor offers full history of piano technology, earliest models to 1910. Types, makers, components, mechanisms, musical aspects. 300 illustrations."
Steinway & Sons by
From Amazon.com:
"The exquisite pianos produced by Steinway & Sons are revered by musicians, music lovers, and collectors around the world. [Published] to coincide with the firms 150th anniversary, this beautiful new edition celebrates the history of the family and the instruments it creates with fully updated text and a striking new cover. Interweaving the stories of the pianos, their creation, and the music they inspire with more than 200 photos, designs, sketches, and paintings, Steinway pays elegant tribute to these incomparable instruments."
Ask Us Live! when our chat button is active on the homepage
or
Email askalibrarian@berklee.edu to send a question or request a research consultation with a librarian