Piano: Articles & Databases

Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.

Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.

RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.

RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.

Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Features more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.

African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.