Portraits in rhythm: 50 studies for snare drum by
One of the classic snare drum books in print today. This publication presents the reader with challenging and stimulating material for the intermediate and advanced percussion student
Bach for marimba: for 2, 3 and 4 mallet solos by
The arrangements are for 2, 3 and 4 mallet marimba solos, grades 3 to 5.
Contrapunctus III : for marimba trio by
Equipment needed: 1) 3 marimbas; however soprano and bass (I & III) may be played on the same marimba, thus requiring only 2 marimbas
Etude, op. 6 no. 8 by
Musser's Etudes have remained a staple in marimba repertoire and they continue to be performed daily all over the world.
Works for marimba by
Keiko Abe has developed her position as a world-class marimbist thanks to a rare combination of creative power, acute sensitivity, and virtuosic technique.
20th century orchestra studies for percussion by 
Advanced Funk Studies by
Included in Modern Drummer magazine's list of the 25 greatest drum books, Advanced Funk Studies will help take your groove to the next level. With author and renowned drummer Rick Latham as your guide, you'll learn hi-hat, funk, and fill patterns. Many of the ideas in this book are derived from some of the most famous and proficient funk drummers. The accompanying audio CDs provide examples of the exercises.
Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer by
The classic jazz independence book is now new and improved and with two CDs! Jim Chapin, known as the Father of Jazz Independence," has written one of the most popular drumset books of all time. This classic work should be in every drummer's library as there is always something new to learn and develop from this masterful book. Whether for a beginner or an accomplished drummer, this system will greatly improve independence and coordination, sticking, power, speed, and endurance on the drumset. Dedicated to Sanford Moeller, this book proves Jim's teaching techniques like no other."
Arabic tambourine: A comprehensive course in techniques and performance for the tambourine, tar, and mazhar by
From the book's preface:
"The value of the book lies partly in its encompassing nature. The student is taught: a) old traditional patterns considered 'classics' in the Arab-Turkish musical repertoire; b) currently used Arab patterns derived from various folk, urban, and ethnic Western-derived patterns now part of the Arab rhythmic vocabulary... The book is a thorough and detailed treatment of rhythmic material as realized in the arena of practice through traditional playing techniques of the daff and related frame-drum types." - A. Jihad Racy, Music Department, UCLA
The Art of Bop Drumming by
The definitive book on bop drumming---a style that is both the turning point and the cornerstone of contemporary music's development. This comprehensive book and audio presentation covers time playing, comping, soloing, brushes, more jazz essentials, and charts in an entertaining mix of text, music, and pertinent quotes.
The Best of Modern Drummer by
This special book is a compilation of the 50 best 'Rock Perspectives' articles that have appeared in Modern Drummer magazine since its beginnings. The informational articles are packed with tips and instructions, and the authors include famous drummers like Neil Peart, Will Kennedy, Kenny Aronoff, and more. Includes lots of musical examples.
Brazilian percussion by
This book is much more than a drum manual. First the author delves into the history and development of Brazilian percussion. He then devotes himself thoroughly to instrumental techniques for the most widespread rhythms such as Batucada, Samba Reggae and Maracatu.
Building basic drum technique: strength, speed, endurance, and control for single bass drum players by
This book from Modern Drummer publisher Ron Spagnardi will help drummers using a traditional single bass set-up attain the most effective and efficient results from their playing
The Commandments of R&B Drumming by
The Commandments of R&B Drumming is a historical and in-depth study of R&B drumming, from soul to funk to hip-hop, written by world-renowned session & live drummer Zoro (Lenny Kravitz, Bobby Brown, Sean Lennon). Topics include practice tips, developing the funky bass drum and hi-hat, creating and playing with loops, and what are considered the Ten Commandments of Soul, Funk, and Hip-Hop (the top ten recordings from each era). This book not only pays homage to the R&B drummers of the past, but gives the reader a fortune of invaluable information both in history and playing. This newly revised 10th anniversary edition features updated information and loads of new photos and album artwork throughout. It includes a play-along CD featuring various styles of R&B, and also includes an R&B history tree. 160 pages covering every imaginable angle, nook, and cranny of R&B for only $24.95! The book was voted the #1 educational drum book in the world by Modern Drummer magazine's Readers Poll and also deemed a must-have for the soulful drummer," by Traps Magazine. "Zoro's book is a milestone achievement and the most comprehensive book on the subject of R&B drumming I have ever seen." -Vinnie Colaiuta "I consider Zoro's book an essential investment!" -Dennis Chambers"
Doumbec delight: a thirty lesson course in Middle Eastern drumming with basic music theory by
The [CDs] include Mary Ellen playing most of the examples in the Doumbek Delight book, improvising solos, and playing the accent patterns of each rhythm at length to provide a steady backup for student practice.
The Essence of Afro-Cuban Percussion and Drum Set by
An in-depth study (324 pages) of all the percussion instruments, rhythms and song styles of Afro-Cuban music, along with their applications to the drumset. Detailed technical studies of each instrument are presented along with notations of many rhythm styles. The entire rhythm section (parts for bass, piano, horn section, string section, tres, and guitar) is also studied in detail. The book comes with online audio that includes performances of each percussion instrument, drumset, all rhythm section instruments, as well as examples of all musical styles with full instrumentation in score form.
Fast forward. Hip hop drum patterns by
(Music Sales America). This exciting series of instrumental instruction books includes complete music plus easy-to-follow instructions, tips and advice. The accompanying CDs allow you to listen and play along to the matching audio tracks. These user-friendly book/CD packs provide riffs, licks, chords & tricks you can learn now , and easily incorporate into your own playing style! This useful book and CD will add a new dimension to your drum technique. Play along with the tracks on the CD and discover all you need to know about hip hop, funk and soul beats, developing your own style as you learn. Includes unique Guide To Drums pull-out chart with all you need to know to get started.
Master Studies by
(Percussion). Among the very few truly iconic drum method books, legendary drummer Joe Morello's Master Studies is, according to Morello's own preface, not a "how-to" book, but rather a workbook of material to use in developing the hands for accenting and controlling the different pressures used in single strokes, double strokes, and closed rolls. "You can go through the book uding any technique you'ved been taught," Morello states, "and you can apply the ideas in this book to any style of music you want." Chapters are broken down into subjects of accents, buzz rolls, stroke combinations, control studies, fill-ins, ostinatos, and flams. Volume II is a logical extension of the original book. "Like Master Studes ," offered Morello, "it's a workbook of material to use in developing the hands. It's not a drumset or coordination book, although several of the exercises can be played on the drumset. The book can be used by the classical, jazz, rock or even rudimental drummer."
The Moeller book: the art of snare drumming by
This book presents "rudimental drumming as essentially applied to martial music or field music, but with ample proof that it is the foundation of all snare drumming and necessary in the proper execution of modern band and orchestra music, as well as that of the military band and drum corps. In this edition we are not going into an exhaustive and confusing treatise, but are giving an adequate and positively correct school for the modern drummer.
New Orleans Jazz and Second Line Drumming by
This book & CD traces the evolution of New Orleans jazz and second-line drumming from the early styles of ragtime and traditional jazz to their modern applications in contemporary jazz.
Solo Tabla Drumming of North India by
Performances by six of India's leading exponents, each representing a particular gharana, form the basis of this study. Each performance is completely transcribed. The Transcriptions (Vol. II) have provided the basic materials for the descriptions and analysis of the various repertoire forms and the performance practices. The Text (Vol. I) contains background information on the origins of the tabla, the gharanas, construction and nomenclature of the tabla, descriptions of the drum strokes and the repertoire, the theory of rhythm, and the underlying principles which govern the improvisational practices. The Commentary section which follows contains detailed accounts of what is happening in all parts of the performances with particular emphasis begin given to the improvisational procedures.
Advanced rhythm studies: for the percussionist by 
Method of movement: for marimba, with 590 exercises by 
101 Drum Tips Book by
(Percussion). Ready to take your playing to the next level? This book presents valuable how-to insight that drummers of all styles and levels can benefit from. The text, photos, music, diagrams, and accompanying CD provide a terrific, easy-to-use resource for a variety of topics, including: grooves * practicing * warming up * tuning * gear * performance * and much more!
Buddy Rich -- Jazz Legend (1917-1987) by
In addition to being a collection of transcriptions of the Buddy Rich solos featured on the Buddy Rich Jazz Legend DVD (00-903792), this publication concentrates on the specifics of "The World's Greatest Drummer's" playing. The techniques covered include left-handed/bass drum coordination, drumset crossovers, cymbal patterns, left-hand/right-hand singles, left-hand time patterns, hi-hat work, blisteringly fast alternating single strokes, and various nuances that made Buddy so special. Together with the videos, or by itself, this book is a must for any drummer's library.
Drum Standards by
(Classic Jazz Masters). Essential for all drummers, this collection includes transcriptions of fantastic standards performed by legendary jazz drummers: Billy Boy (Philly Joe Jones) * Delilah Dances (Delilah) (Max Roach) * Fly Me to the Moon (Roy Haynes) * If I Should Lose You (Roy Haynes) * Israel (Paul Motian) * It's Only a Paper Moon (Art Blakey) * Seven Steps to Heaven (Tony Williams) * Softly as in a Morning Sunrise (Elvin Jones) * The Surrey with the Fringe on Top (Philly Joe Jones) * Take Five (Joe Morello). In addition to the solos and drum breaks, this book includes transcriptions of their playing on the "heads" of the tunes, providing insight into their mastery of form and structure. Includes notes on each song, as well as info about the recordings. "People try to get into drums today, and after a year they're working on their own style. You must first spend a long time doing everything that the great drummers do. Not only do you learn how to play something, but you also learn why it was played." Tony Williams, from The Drummer's Time
Four-Mallet Marimba Playing by
(Percussion). This book contains a lot of music, from musical etudes designed for beginning and intermediate players, to recital material appropriate for intermediate and advanced marimbists. It includes: examples taken from contemporary solo and chamber works, with commentary and performance tips; 50 studies to develop four-mallet technique in a musical way; 18 classic and contemporary solos for recitals, auditions or juries, written by Beethoven, Handel, Chopin, Debussy, Leonard Bernstein, Duke Ellington and others; and helpful guidelines for mallet selection, grip, strokes, tone production, rolls, stickings, phrasing and other important topics.
Groove Essentials - The Play-Along by
(Percussion). This play-along package presented by Vic Firth has been the world's top drum method for the past ten years. It has now been re-released with access to online audio for download or streaming for even more ease and flexibility. It features over 6 hours of music, including 47 grooves and feels from all over the world most in two tempos 88 tracks in all, truly professional sketch charts and incisive text by Tommy. An interactive groove experience for all level drummers with rhythm tracks that feature some of New York City's top musicians. Works in conjunction with the best-selling Groove Essentials DVD. For beginning drummers: simple rock beats with a real band feel; for intermediate drummers: syncopated, 16th-note grooves as well as jazz/swing feels; for advanced drummers: challenging world grooves, as well as jazz shuffles, jazz waltzes and R&B feels. Additionally, you'll find 3 "Global Tour" tracks that are 15-minute journeys through all the grooves and feels you've learned.
The Inner Game of Music by
By the best-selling co-author of Inner Tennis, here's a book designed to helpnbsp;nbsp;musicians overcome obstacles, help improvenbsp;nbsp;concentration, and reduce nervousness, allowing them tonbsp;nbsp;reach new levels of performing excellence andnbsp;nbsp;musical artistry.
Intermediate Masterworks for Marimba, vol. 2 by 
Latin Soloing for Drumset by
(Musicians Institute Press). Discover the secret phrasing of African-descent rhythms in this one-on-one lesson! MI instructor Phil Maturano teaches Relayed Time Shifting (RTS), a unique system of shifting between cut time and 6/8, and covers complex and stylistically challenging rhythms such as mambo, cha cha, samba, bossa nova, soca and cumbia. On the audio, Phil demonstrates RTS as he plays along with his band Zumbadah-Asche, which features some of LA's hottest Latin players! The audio is accessed online using the unique code inside each book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.
Chaconne (extrait de la Partita en ré mineur pour violon) by 
Intermediate masterworks for marimba.Volume 2 :marimba solo by 20th century orchestra studies for percussion by 
Orchestral excerpts for timpani :with an audio CD of orchestral performances of each excerpt, plus practice tracks by 
Intermediate masterworks for marimba, vol. 1 by 
Effortless Mastery by
Playing music should be as simple and natural as drawing a breath, yet most musicians are hindered by self-consciousness, apprehension, self-doubt, and stress. Before we can truly express our inner self, we must first learn to be at peace and overcome the distractions that can make performance difficult. Kenny's remarkable work deals directly with these hindrances, and presents ways to let our natural creative powers flow freely with minimal stress and effort. Includes inspiring recordings of meditations designed to initiate positive thought. This book has become a favorite of many musicians who credit it with changing their lives! Many are so impressed that they buy copies for their musician friends as gifts. Easy, effortless reading paperback. "Effortless Mastery is a book that the world really needs. It was not written by a philosopher or an academic. Kenny Werner, is one of my favorite pianists I've ever had the pleasure of working with, and in my opinion one of the best pianists living on the planet. Kenny teaches that 'The joy of practicing is concentration. The joy of playing is liberation.' Effortless Mastery teaches the seeker how to achieve both at the highest levels. It also shows how to practice effectively, promoting real growth and how to play and perform free from fear and self-judgment. I highly recommend this book." ---Quincy Jones
How to Write for Percussion by
While composers and percussionists are working more closely than ever with one another, there are few resources that address this collaborative relationship in depth. However, Samuel Z. Solomon, himself a percussionist and teacher, offers a comprehensive examination of the issues thatpercussionists and composers encounter in How to Write for Percussion. The first edition, self-published in 2004, provided musicians and music programs the world over with practical and indispensible information about issues of notation, concert production, and much more. This new edition goes evenfurther as Solomon offers more insights derived from his personal experience as a percussionist and teacher and from his collaborations with other musicians.The second edition of How to Write for Percussion expands the survey of behind-the-scenes processes-from instrument choice and notation to logistics, execution, and concert production-to uncover all the tools a composer needs to comfortably create innovative and skilled percussion composition.Solomon also includes more excerpts and performances as well as interviews with famous percussionists and composers that capture the intricacies of percussion composition. Moreover, the second edition features an expanded text with more instruments and more analysis, plus an extensive Online VideoCompanion containing over nine hours of videos with demonstrations, performances, interviews, and analysis to flesh out and clarify the material in the book. This updated edition of How to Write for Percussion will appeal to a wide swath of musicians including composers, arrangers, andpercussionists. Those who have already utilized the first edition will welcome the upgrade, and those who have yet to benefit from Solomon's perspective will likewise find his insights illuminating.
The Big Beat: conversations with rock's great drummers by
Max Weinberg has been the drummer with Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band since 1974. In this book he invites 14 of rock's great drummers to take the spotlight and comment on the musical traditions they inspired. Each of the drummers offer prespectives on the origins of rock music and its growth.
The Drummer's Time: conversations with the great drummers of jazz by
As Jack DeJohnette says, "It is definitely the time for drummers to make their contribution." And the place is in The Drummer's Time. This book features classic interviews with the legendary drummers who have defined contemporary jazz, taken from the pages of Modern Drummer magazine. Great drummers represented include: Louie Bellson, Jack DeJohnette, Peter Erskine, Elvin Jones, Philly Joe Jones, Mel Lewis, Joe Morello, Buddy Rich, Max Roach, Marvin "Smitty" Smith, Dave Weckl, and Tony Williams. This is a must-read for any drummer or jazz fan!
Give the Drummers Some!: the great drummers of R&B, funk & soul by
The story of the rhythmic revolution of R&B, funk, and soul, as told by the drummers themselves. Includes interviews, discographies, rare photos, transcriptions, and an accompanying CD with over 90 drumset rhythms. The drummers include Earl Palmer, John "Jabo" Starks, Clyde Stubblefield, Jimmy Madison, Roger Hawkins, James Gadson, Al Jackson, Jr., Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Greg Errico, Andy Newmark, Maurice White, David Garibaldi, and Mike Clark.
The Latin Beat: the rhythms and roots of Latin music from bossa nova to salsa and beyond by
The Latin explosion of Marc Anthony, Ricky Martin, and the Buena Vista Social Club may look like it came out of nowhere, but the incredible variety of Latin music has been transforming the United States since the turn of the century, when Caribbean beats turned New Orleans music into jazz. In fact, we wouldn't have any of our popular music without it: Imagine pop sans the mambos of Perez Prado and Tito Puente, the garage rock of Richie Valens, or even the glitzy croon of Julio Iglesias,not to mention the psychedelia of Santana and Los Lobos and the underground cult grooves of newcomers like Bebel Gilberto.The Latin Beat outlines the musical styles of each country, then traces each form as it migrates north. Morales travels from the Latin ballad to bossa nova to Latin jazz, chronicles the development of the samba in Brazil and salsa in New York, explores the connection between the mambo craze of the 1950's with the Cuban craze of today, and uncovers the hidden history of Latinos in rock and hip hop.The Latin Beat is the only book that explores where the music has come from and celebrates all of the directions it is going.
Percussion Instruments and Their History by
For many years, James Blades's famous book has been referred to as the percussionist's bible. It is established as the definitive reference work on the subject. Last updated by the author in 2005 and now back in print, this extended edition includes two additional chapters. The first covers the rise of the solo percussionist by the world's leading practitioner, Dame Evelyn Glennie who also contributes a new Foreword, while recent developments in orchestral percussion are covered by Neil Percy, Head of Timpani and Percussion at the Royal Academy of Music and Principal Percussionist of the London Symphony Orchestra.
The Drum Book: a history of the rock drum kit by
(Reference). The Drum Book tells the story of the rock drum kit, from the moment Ringo Starr began to thrash his Ludwigs to the diverse styles of today's players. This expanded and updated edition celebrates in loving detail the music and the drummers that inspired change and invention, and in doing so, changed the sound of music forever.
Guide to Vintage Guide by
(Percussion). Written by the publisher of Not So Modern Drummer magazine, this is an essential guide for collectors-to-be that want to shop around, or for current collectors to discover drums outside their area of interest. Includes many photos.
The Rogers Book by
In this book, author Rob Cook gives the complete history of the Rogers Drum Company, whose drums, in the words of Not-So-Modern Drummer editor John Aldridge, were "the Cadillac of the 1960s...(whose) innovations in hardware design have been copied by almost every drum manufacturer in existence." The Rogers Book covers the company's east coast beginnings, the Covington, OH era, English Rogers, the CBS era, and much more. It includes a list of Rogers endorsees, a comprehensive guide for dating equipment, a color section showing old catalogs and drum colors, the parts listings from all Rogers catalogs, a list of current resources, and lots of photographs throughout. This is a must-have for all drum enthusiasts!
The Music of Santeria: traditional rhythms of the batá drums by
Santeria is an Afro-Latin religion with roots in both African and Catholic traditions. This is the only English-language study of Santeria's sacred rhythms, with performance instructions and social history. Included are many musical transcriptions of the sacred prayers or salute rhythms of Santeria, known as the Oru del Igbodu
Ask Us Live! when our chat button is active on the homepage
or
Email askalibrarian@berklee.edu to send a question or request a research consultation with a librarian
