LibGuides: Percussion: Articles & Databases

Home

Books & Scores

Performance Scores
Style & Technique
Transcriptions & Performance Preparation
History & Development

Articles

Magazines
Academic Journals
Research Databases

Audio & Video

Jazz, Classical, Rock, Funk, Fusion, and World Music CDs
Streaming Audio
Streaming Video & DVDs

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, and more.

Rhythm! Scene The official blog of the Percussive Arts Society

Drum business "The information source for the drum industry." The library has copies of this magazine from 1996 - 2007.
Publication Date: Periodical
Drum Corps International : the magazine of marching music's major league The library has copies of this magazine from 2008 - Present.
Publication Date: Periodical
Modern drummer A Magazine focusing on contemporary and rising artists in the drum world. The library has copies of this magazine from 1997 - Present.
Publication Date: Periodical
Percussion news From the Percussive Arts Society website: "Percussion News, the Percussive Arts Society's newsletter, provides timely news and information about percussion performances and events around the world, and Society news."
Publication Date: Periodical
Rhythm Rhythm is the UK's best selling drum magazine. Containing exclusive interviews with professional drummers, features covering every aspect of drumming
Publication Date: Periodical
Drum!
ISBN: 1097-0614
Features studio tests of top new gear, comprehensive news of the latest products, profiles and interviews with your favorite drummers of all eras, and clear and concise advice and lessons, all by top professionals.

JAZZed: Practical Ideas & Techniques for Jazz Educators
Practical Ideas and Techniques for Jazz Educators. It is published by Symphony Publishing LLC, which also publishes School Band and Orchestra and Choral Director (CD).
Jazz Education Journal
Access articles from this publication in the Music Periodicals Database for 01/01/1998 - 10/01/2007
Percussive Notes Online Research Edition
Percussive Notes Online Research Edition is a peer-reviewed, online publication that aims to promote advanced research and expand academic perspectives on topics in percussion relating to areas including, but not limited to, historical musicology, critical theory, aesthetics, musical analysis, performance practice, interdisciplinary studies, ethnomusicology, and interviews.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 3,000 journals back to 1881, as well as full text for more than 2,000 journals back to 1936, and includes full text for numerous education-related conference papers and more than 500 books and monographs back to 1972.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, and more.
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
RILM abstracts of music literature with full text (RAFT) expands and enhances the unrivaled global bibliography of writings on music with the addition of a million pages of full-text content from more than 200 key periodicals. Coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news. Full publication runs back to the first issue will be present for most journals.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Growing collection of over 25,000 reviews, articles, and interviews from publications such as Rolling Stone, Creem, and Billboard as well as audio interviews with Joni Mitchell, Mick Jagger, and more. From Abba to Zappa, this is the largest online resource for rock journalism.

Ask A Librarian

For research help:

Ask Us Live! when our chat button is active on the homepage

Email askalibrarian@berklee.edu to send a question or request a research consultation with a librarian

Percussion: Articles & Databases

Table of Contents

Articles

Ask A Librarian

For research help: