Women Who Rock
by
A stellar and unprecedented celebration of 104 musical artists, Women Who Rock is the most complete, up-to-date history of the evolution, influence, and importance of women in music. A gorgeous gift book, it includes a stunning, specially commissioned, full-color illustrated portrait of every musician and group. From Bessie Smith and The Supremes to Joan Baez, Madonna, BeyoncéAmy Winehouse, Dolly Parton, Sleater-Kinney, Taylor Swift, and scores more, women have played an essential and undeniable role in the evolution of popular music including blues, rock and roll, country, folk, glam rock, punk, and hip hop. Today, in a world traditionally dominated by male artists, women have a stronger influence on popular music than ever before. Yet, not since the late nineteen-nineties has there been a major work that acknowledges and pays tribute to the female artists who have contributed to, defined, and continue to make inroads in music. In Women Who Rock, writer and professor of journalism Evelyn McDonnell leads a team of women rock writers and pundits in an all-out celebration of 104 of the greatest female musicians. Organized chronologically, the book profiles each artist and places her in the context of both her genre and the musical world at large. Sidebars throughout recall key moments that shaped both the trajectory of music and how those moments influenced or were influenced by women artists. With full-color illustrated portraits by women artists, Women Who Rock will be THE long-awaited gift book for every music fan, feminist, and female rocker, young and old musicians.
They Can't Kill Us until They Kill Us
by
Whether he's attending a Bruce Springsteen concert the day after visiting Michael Brown's grave, or discussing public displays of affection at a Carly Rae Jepsen show, he writes with a poignancy and magnetism that resonates profoundly. In the wake of the nightclub attacks in Paris, he recalls how he sought refuge as a teenager in music, at shows, and wonders whether the next generation of young Muslims will not be afforded that opportunity now. While discussing the everyday threat to the lives of Black Americans, Abdurraqib recounts the first time he was ordered to the ground by police officers: for attempting to enter his own car. In essays that have been published by the New York Times, MTV, and Pitchfork, among others--along with original, previously unreleased essays--Abdurraqib uses music and culture as a lens through which to view our world, so that we might better understand ourselves, and in so doing proves himself a bellwether for our times.
33 Revolutions per Minute
by
From one of the most prominent music critics writing today, a page-turning and wonderfully researched history of protest music in the twentieth century and beyond Nowhere does pop music collide more dramatically with the wider world than in the protest song, which forces its way into the news and prompts conversations from Washington to Westminster. Rather than being merely a worthy adjunct to the business of pop, protest music is woven into its DNA. When you listen to Bob Dylan, Stevie Wonder, Public Enemy, or the Clash, you are not sitting down to a dusty seminar; you are hearing pop music at its most thrillingly alive. 33 Revolutions Per Minute is the story of protest music told in 33 songs. An incisive history of a wide and shape-shifting genre, Dorian Lynskey's authoritative book takes us from the days of Billie Holliday crooning "Strange Fruit" before shocked audiences to Vietnam-era crowds voicing their resentment at the sounds of Bob Dylan to the fracas over the Dixie Chicks' comments against George W. Bush during the Iraq War. For anyone who enjoyed Alex Ross's The Rest is Noise, Bob Dylan's Chronicles, or Simon Reynolds' Rip It Up and Start Again, 33 Revolutions Per Minute is an absorbing and moving portrait of a century when music was the people's truest voice.
Music and Dictatorship in Europe and Latin America
by
In this book, twenty-four scholars investigate the relationship between music and dictatorship in twentieth-century Europe and Latin America. The music is explored as a political phenomenon in fifteen nations under totalitarian regimes: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, France, Greece, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Spain, and Hungary. Historical and aesthetical articles face both individual people (for instance, Chavez, Ligeti, Massarani or Villa-Lobos) as well whole generations of composers operating under dictatorship (for example, in the communist regimes of Poland and Serbia; in France under Vichy; in Franco's Spain, Salazar's Portugal, or in Revolutionary Cuba). The contributors are: Rachel Beckles Willson, Dario Borim, Steve Butterman, Teresa Cascudo, Myriam Chimenes, Regis Duprat, Christoph Flamm, Marina Frolova-Walker, Thomas Garcia, Melita Milin, Simone Munz, Marcos Napolitano, Nina Noeske, Karen Painter, Gemma Perez Zalduondo, Daniel Perry, Carlo Piccardi, Marc-Andre Roberge, Katy Romanou, Mattias Tischer, Andrzej Tuchowski, Luis Velasco Pufleau, Pablo Vila, Maria Alice Volpe.
Freedom Rock
by
(Piano/Vocal/Guitar Songbook). 40 songs that defined an era, including: Abraham, Martin and John * Born to Be Wild * For What It's Worth * A Horse with No Name * Imagine * Love Train * Me and Bobby McGee * One Tin Soldier * People Get Ready * Ramblin' Man * Simple Song of Freedom * The Times They Are A-Changin' * What's Going On * and more.
Songs of Protest
by
(Piano/Vocal/Guitar Songbook). 26 songs perfect for peaceful protest arranged for piano, voice and guitar, including: Blowin' in the Wind * Eve of Destruction * For What It's Worth * Give Peace a Chance * I Feel like I'm Fixin' to Die Rag * Imagine * Peace Train * Power to the People * Revolution * Strange Fruit * Sunday Bloody Sunday * We Shall Overcome * and more.
Released! the human rights concerts 1986-1998
RELEASED! The Human Rights Concerts' compiles a series of benefit concerts from 1986-98, held to raise awareness & funds for human rights organization Amnesty International.
Popular Music and Human Rights
by
Popular music has long understood that human rights, if attainable at all, involve a struggle without end. The right to imagine an individual will, the right to some form of self-determination and the right to self-legislation have long been at the forefront of popular music's approach to human rights. At a time of such uncertainty and confusion, with human rights currently being violated all over the world, a new and sustained examination of cultural responses to such issues is warranted. In this respect music, which is always produced in a social context, is an extremely useful medium; in its immediacy music has a potency of expression whose reach is long and wide. Contributors to this significant volume cover artists and topics such as Billy Bragg, punk, Fun-da-Mental, Willie King and the Liberators, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, the Anti-Death Penalty movement, benefit concerts, benefit albums, Gil Scott-Heron, Bruce Springsteen, Wounded Knee and Native American political resistance, Tori Amos, Joni Mitchell, as well as human rights in relation to feminism. A second volume covers World Music.
Story Behind the Protest Song
by
Protest songs are united by the fact they all have something to say, something to dispute, or something to rile against, whether it be political, social, or personal. Story Behind the Protest Song features 50 of the most influential musical protests and statements recorded to date, providing pop-culture viewpoints on some of the most tumultuous times in modern history. Among the featured: songs about the Vietnam War, the civil rights movement, the most recent upheaval over policy in the Middle East, as well as teenage rebellion, animal rights, criticisms of mass media, and even protest songs that lambaste other protest songs. This indispensable guide tackles it all: the behind-the-scenes stories of the most influential protest songs in American popular culture, examining the subjects they address, the legacy they left, and the fabric of the songs themselves. Chronically arranged entries cover nearly 70 years of music and offer an expansive range of genres, including rock, punk, pop, soul, hip-hop, country, folk, indie, heavy metal, and more. Each entry discusses the songwriter(s); the inspiration behind the song; and the social, cultural, and political context in which the song was released. Following a detailed musical and lyrical analysis, the entries explain the songs' impact and relevance today. Among the featured: * The Unknown Soldier (The Doors) * Masters of War (Bob Dylan) * Say It Loud-I'm Black and I'm Proud (James Brown) * Get Up, Stand Up (The Wailers) * Big Yellow Taxi (Joni Mitchell) * Their Law (Prodigy) * American Idiot (Green Day) * Sweet Home Alabama (Lynrd Skynrd) * Born in the USA (Bruce Springsteen) * Southern Man (Neil Young) Entries are accompanied by further readings and a select discographies as well as a comprehensive resource guide at the end of the book. A must-read for students of music, history, and politics, this volume offers a unique reflection on the most significant and moving protest songs in American history.
Sounds of Resistance
by
From the gospel music of slavery in the antebellum South to anti-apartheid freedom songs in South Africa, this two-volume work documents how music has fueled resistance and revolutionary movements in the United States and worldwide. Political resistance movements and the creation of music--two seemingly unrelated phenomenon--often result from the seed of powerful emotions, opinions, or experiences. This two-volume set presents essays that explore the connections between diverse musical forms and political activism across the globe, revealing fascinating similarities regarding the interrelationship between music and political resistance in widely different geographic or cultural circumstances. The breadth of specific examples covered in Sounds of Resistance: The Role of Music in Multicultural Activism highlights strong similarities between diverse situations--for example, protest against the Communist government in Poland and drug discourse in hip hop music in the United States--and demonstrates how music has repeatedly played a vital role in energizing or expanding various political movements. By exploring activism and how music relates to specific movements through an interdisciplinary lens, the authors document how music often enables powerless members of oppressed groups to communicate or voice their concerns.
Encyclopedias, textbooks, and reference databases summarize background information on historical events and established facts about controversial issues.
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Research-based articles written by academics and reviewed by fellow scholars provide credible analysis behind different viewpoints on a deeper level.
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
News resources and interviews can include primary sources of information to learn about how something was reported in real time.
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1985-present.
Growing collection of over 25,000 reviews, articles, and interviews from publications such as Rolling Stone, Creem, and Billboard as well as audio interviews with Joni Mitchell, Mick Jagger, and more. From Abba to Zappa, this is the largest online resource for rock journalism.
Get access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves.
Provides data from music streaming and social media platforms. In order to sign up and get your own login, please contact the library at your campus. If you are a faculty member wishing to use Chartmetric with your class, please provide us with a list of student emails rather than having students contact us individually.
African American Music Reference brings together 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
