Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Band Ensemble Instruction
To Be Loved by
Call Number: ML429.G67 A4 1994
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
The Complete Marching Band Resource Manual by
Call Number: MT733.4 .B35 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
The Complete Marching Band Resource Manual provides the first serious guidebook for the intricate art of directing high school or college marching bands.
Just Good Teaching by
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Student learning in school music ensembles is often focused on technical skill development. Give your students broader experience involving multiple music learnings, technical proficiency, cognition, and personal meaning.
Jazz Ensemble Companion by
Call Number: ML128.B29 C36 2009
Publication Date: 2009-12-16
Revisit favorite arrangements, discover new ones, and inspire your jazz ensemble with sound and adventurous music to play. This new book recommends and analyzes sixty-seven quality jazz arrangements recommended by eighteen of the foremost jazz experts in the field today, including directors and professors from high schools and colleges across the country, including the Houston High School for the Performing and Visual Arts, Bloomington High School, Fiorello La Guardia Performing Arts High School, Juilliard School, Berklee College of Music, and Harvard University.
Music Direction for the Stage by
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
In Music Direction for the Stage, veteran music director and instructor Joseph Church demystifies the job in a book that offers aspiring and practicing music directors the practical tips and instruction they need in order to mount a successful musical production.
Music Theory Through Musical Theatre by
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Music Theory through Musical Theatre takes a new and powerful approach to music theory. Written specifically for students in music theatre programs, it offers music theory by way of musical theatre.
Singing in Musical Theater by
Publication Date: 2007-08-07
What does it take to be a musical theatre performer? What kind of training is required to do eight shows a weekacting, dancing, and singing in a wide variety of vocal styles? This insider's look into the unique demands of musical theatre performance establishes connecting links between voice training for the singer and drama school training for the actor.
Singing Professionally by
Call Number: MT820 .Y68 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-02
This is a technical handbook on studying singing which is scientific and practical. It explains the vocal apparatus and process in lay terms and provides extensive vocal techniques to guide the student through each step in learning how to sing.
General Music Instruction
Music Education by
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
This book features studies on the future of music education from emerging scholars in the field. These studies are then supplemented by commentaries from established leaders of the music education community. Music Education covers topics such as music and leisure, new forms of media in music teaching and learning, the role of technology in music learning, popular music tuition in the expansion of curricular offering, and assessment of music education research. As such, it is an excellent reference for scholars and teachers as well as guide to the future of the discipline.
Music, Technology, and Education by
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
This volume draws together critical perspectives in three overarching areas in which technology is used to support music education: music production; game technology; musical creation, experience and understanding.
Giving Voice to Democracy in Music Education by
Publication Date: 2015-11-18
This book examines how music education presents opportunities to shape democratic awareness through political, pedagogical, and humanistic perspectives.
Opportunity-to-Learn Standards for Music Instruction by
Call Number: MT1 .M985 1994
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Recommends the conditions schools should provide in order to achieve both the National Standards for Music Education in grades K-12 and the MENC standards for music education in prekindergarten.
The School Choral Program by
Call Number: MT935 .S36 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This new, definitive choral methods text is perfect for future practitioners and an invaluable reference for any choral conductor.
The School Choral Program includes the combined experience and expertise of recognized leaders in music education and of choral teachers who work in today’s classroom. With practical insights and perspectives, 18 authors—all leading choral directors, administrators, practicing teachers in the schools, or clinicians—bring their unique voices to a wide range of topics. will be automatically included. -->
Publication Date: 2009-07-16
Whether you're new to working with middle school choirs or seeking advice on improving your effectiveness, you'll appreciate the useful hands-on strategies in The First Weeks of Middle School Chorus. Implement Freer's specific, ready-to-use tips immediately in your rehearsals. He reminds you of things you've forgotten, prompts you to reframe what you already do, and encourages you to try new approaches. Organized in lists for easy reference, the book takes you through the first weeks of school and covers setting up your classroom, choral activities for day one and beyond, repertoire for the first weeks, warm-ups for changing voices, rehearsal strategies, placing students into groups and voice parts, and resources.
Before the Singing by
Publication Date: 2013-04-10
All children must have an opportunity to share the joy of choral music participation - whether in school, church, or community choirs. What happens before the singing begins, is critical to supporting, sustaining, and nurturing choirs to give every child the opportunity to experience thewonder of choral singing. Based on years of experience conducting and teaching, Barbara Tagg brings a wealth of practical information about ways of organizing choirs.
Directing the Choral Music Program by
Call Number: MT935 .P529 2016
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Now in its second edition, Directing the Choral Music Program is a comprehensive introduction to developing and managing choral music programs for elementary, high school, and adult levels.
Choral Concepts by
Call Number: MT85 .N48 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-08
This text provides a concise and practical introduction to choral techniques and conducting for potential choral conductors. The author-America's premier choral conductor, mentored by Robert Shaw-brings 43 years of teaching and workshop experience to this text.
Crowd Control by
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Crowd Control 2nd edition is a nuts-and-bolts manual for teachers of middle and high school performance-based classes such as band, orchestra, and chorus. This practical 'how-to' guide shows teachers, pre-service or experienced, efficient ways to manage large performance-based classrooms. With wit and sage tried-and-true advice, Haugland provides a complete behavior plan as well as concrete ideas for addressing the National Standards, Common Core, assessment, advocacy, and ensemble team building, along with ways to form a professional network.
Publication Date: 2015-07-09
Colson draws together the critical connections for those seeking to become fully capable and self-assured instrumental music conductors. As he argues, too often conductor training programs treat the problems and challenges of the rehearsal--perhaps the single most critical element in any effort to achieve competency as a conductor--as secondary. Colson supplies the missing link for conductors looking for advice that allows them to complete their training for reaching complete competency as a conductor.
Teaching Band and Orchestra by
Call Number: MT733 .C643 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
This book covers every critical area in the professional life of band and orchestra teachers working at the primary and secondary levels. Topics explored include recruiting and retention, creating lesson plans, assessment, curriculum development, selecting literature, running effective rehearsals, and organising concerts.
Spotlight on Teaching Orchestra by
Call Number: MT730 .S67 2005
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Provides orchestra teachers with techniques for conducting, choosing repertoire, program development, recruiting, playing styles, and preparing for competitions. The latest in MENC's popular Spotlight series, comprising articles that have appeared in state MEA journals.