Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Planning and Brainstorming
Make a copy of these activities to your Google Drive from the "File" menu so you can edit it for your own work.
Pre-research your topic using general resources to get a broad sense of the issues. This helps you determine if there is enough information on it and identify areas to narrow or focus your topic.
Get the most out of your search results with a keyword searching exercise.
Your Paper is a Project
A step-by-step introduction to the paper-writing process.
Browsing resources to get a general sense of controversial topics is a good starting point.
ProCon.org is a nonprofit organization that uses professional researchers and rigorous editorial standards to explore more than 80 controversial issues.
Wikipedia: List of controversial issues
Organized list of issues with linked Wikipedia articles.
Encyclopedias, textbooks, and reference databases summarize background information on opposing viewpoints and established facts about an issue.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
Research-based articles written by academics and reviewed by fellow scholars provide credible analysis behind different viewpoints on a deeper level.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary, full text database designed for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for many academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a database with both scholarly eBooks from University presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is built on a foundation of 600,000 authoritative biographies spanning centuries and continents. 50,000 new and/ or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects. Full-text newspapers, journals and periodicals: New York Times, African American Review, Presidential Studies Quarterly and many more.
News resources and interviews can include primary sources of information to learn about how something was reported in real time.
News, Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Major daily newspaper covering Boston, New England and the world. Detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Full-text coverage from 1980.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in the New York Times. Coverage from 1995-present.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, Fast Company, Wired, and more.
English Writing Tutoring
One-on-one writing assistance with a tutor, located at 7 Haviland St., Room 110. Email email@example.com.
Instructional Design & Liaison Librarian