LibGuides: Women in Music &amp; Performing Arts: Articles and Databases

Articles
Databases

The authentic Janis Joplin
This article tells the real us about the real Janis Joplin on and off stage.
Barbie: the patriarchy, the existentialism, the capitalism
Greta Gerwig's smash hit ode to women delves deeper than many would have expected from a film based on a problematic dollThis article contains spoilers for Barbie
Women's empowerment
a secondary analysis of cross-sectional data
Gender-based Barriers in the Advancement of Women Leaders in Emergency Medicine
A Multi-institutional Qualitative Study
Three Key Insights from a Women in Wealth Management Study
The article focuses on the state of women in wealth management, highlighting persistent challenges such as underrepresentation, discrimination, and lack of sponsorship.
Protecting the rights of women and trans people
Gillian Dalley and Dr Jane Hamlin talks about the rights of trans people
Prevalence of intimate partner violence against infertile women in low-income and middle-income countries
a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Lost in Translation
The Male Gaze and The Invisible Bodies of Muslim Women--A Response Article
Musical echoes
South African women thinking in jazz
Older Women as Active Online Agents
Diversifying Cultural Conceptions of "Grannies" through Social Media

Composer Diversity Database
This database, from The Institute for Composer Diversity, contains the profiles of composers from historically excluded groups who have consented to be represented.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Diversity Studies Collection
For social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
Flipster
Flipster is our digital magazine service for accessing magazines online. Our titles include Billboard, Rolling Stone, Jazztimes, Downbeat, New Yorker, Future Music, Backstage, The Atlantic, and more.
Gender Studies Collection
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, featuring full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
Rock's Backpages
Growing collection of over 25,000 reviews, articles, and interviews from publications such as Rolling Stone, Creem, and Billboard as well as audio interviews with Joni Mitchell, Mick Jagger, and more. From Abba to Zappa, this is the largest online resource for rock journalism.
Women Composers Collection
From Hathi Trust, an open access collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.

Women in Music & Performing Arts: Articles and Databases

Need help?