Contemporary Writing and Production: Mixing and Production

The Art of Mixing by David Gibson David Gibson uses 3D visual representations of sounds in a mix as a tool to explain the dynamics that can be created in a mix. This book provides an in-depth exploration into the aesthetics of what makes a great mix. Gibson's unique approach explains how to map sounds to visuals in order to create a visual framework that can be used to analyze what is going on in any mix. Once you have the framework down, Gibson then uses it to explain the traditions that have be developed over time by great recording engineers for different styles of music and songs. You will come to understand everything that can be done in a mix to create dynamics that affect people in really deep ways. Once you understand what engineers are doing to create the great mixes they do, you can then use this framework to develop your own values as to what you feel is a good mix. Once you have a perspective on what all can be done, you have the power to be truly creative on your own - to create whole new mixing possibilities. It is all about creating art out of technology. This book goes beyond explaining what the equipment does - it explains what to do with the equipment to make the best possible mixes.

The Art of Record Production by SIMON FRITH; SIMON ZAGORSKI-THOMAS The playback of recordings is the primary means of experiencing music in contemporary society, and in recent years 'classical' musicologists and popular music theorists have begun to examine the ways in which the production of recordings affects not just the sound of the final product but also musical aesthetics more generally. Record production can, indeed, be treated as part of the creative process of composition. At the same time, training in the use of these forms of technology has moved from an apprentice-based system into university education. Musical education and music research are thus intersecting to produce a new academic field: the history and analysis of the production of recorded music. This book is designed as a general introductory reader, a text book for undergraduate degree courses studying the creative processes involved in the production of recorded music. The aim is to introduce students to the variety of approaches and methodologies that are currently being employed by scholars in this field. The book is divided into three sections covering historical approaches, theoretical approaches and case studies and practice. There are also three interludes of commentary on the academic contributions from leading record producers and other industry professionals. This collection gives students and scholars a broad overview of the way in which academics from the analytical and practice-based areas of the university system can be brought together with industry professionals to explore the ways in which this new academic field should progress.

Audio Production and Postproduction by Woody Woodhall This introductory, comprehensive text of audio practices is for both production and post-production sound. It emphasizes the importance of recording the sound properly on the set and also explains the post-production audio process as a creative collaboration that enhances the story and is not merely a "fix" for various audio problems.This book guides readers through a series of exercises to better understand the relationships between the gear and practices required for optimal recordings and mixes. Rather than merely explain the concepts of sound wave propagation, the electronics of how sound is recorded, or the acoustics of sound reverberation in spaces, these exercises are designed to demonstrate and reinforce these crucial ideas.This systematic approach from simple recording through sound editing and mixing gives aspiring sound technicians valuable hands/ears-on experience so they can achieve the same professional quality as those working in the industry!

Audio Production Tips by Peter Dowsett

Audio Production Worktext by Samuel J. Sauls; Craig A. Stark This is an excellent introduction to the modern radio production studio, the equipment found in that studio, and the basic techniques needed to accomplish radio production work. The new edition is updated throughout and features new sections on mobile technology, audio editing apps and software, and digital editing, as well as updated graphics and expanded content on portable digital audio players. Features a worktext/website format tailored for both students and teachers, offering a solid foundation for anyone who wishes to know more about radio/audio equipment and production techniques.

Digital Audio Editing by Simon Langford

Mixing Audio by Roey Izhaki Mixing Audio: Concepts, Practices, and Tools, Third Edition is a vital read for anyone wanting to succeed in the field of mixing. This book covers the entire mixing process - from fundamental concepts to advanced techniques. Packed full of photos, graphs, diagrams, and audio samples, it teaches the importance of a mixing vision, how to craft and evaluate your mix, and then take it a step further. The book describes the theory, the tools used, and how these are put into practice while creating mixes. The companion website, featuring over 2,000 audio samples as well as Pro Tools/ Multitrack Audio Sessions, is a perfect complement to the third edition. The new edition includes: A new 'Mixing and The Brain' chapter that provides a cognitive/psychological overview of many; aspects related to and affecting mixing engineers (and, to a narrow extent, listeners).

Mix Smart by Alex Case After you've recorded the perfect song, you're only halfway there! Mixing is where the magic really happens and getting the perfect mix is a challenge. One of the most elusive arts of the recording practice, mixing can take a lifetime to master - this handbook jump-starts your skills and fast-forwards your progress! Breaking the mix down by different effects - EQ, distortion, compression, expansion, pitch shift, delay, reverb, and more - and applying them to some of the most important instruments in pop music, Mix Smart will arm you with the skills and techniques you need to tap into your musicality and express it through multitrack mixing, putting true professional quality mixing within your reach. *Future proof, ear-opening strategies will empower your inner-musician, giving you the knowledge you need to develop your mixing skills - from basic to advanced *Breaking the mix down by different effects, with detailed strategies for the most important pop instruments showing you how to create the perfect combination *Bonus Website, www.recordingology.com, packed with samples and example tracks, so you can practice as you learn *Mix Smart Quick Start summaries at the end of each chapter get you to work faster *Demystifies the technical, making the tools of the mix rig accessible - analog and digital, outboard and in the box, stereo and surround *For everyone who mixes - studio, live, music, film, games, and broadcast The recording studio is your musical instrument, and it's time you really learned how to play. Alex Case shows you not just how to mix well, but how to Mix Smart!

Modern Recording Techniques by David Miles Huber; Robert E. Runstein Master the tools and day-to-day practices of music recording and production. Learn the ins and outs of room acoustics and designing a studio. Gain techniques for mic placement and running a session. Get a solid grounding in both theory and industry practice. Modern Recording Techniques, the bestselling, authoritative guide to recording, provides everything you need to improve your craft. "If you're serious about recording--whether you're an amateur enthusiast, a student, a musician, or an audio professional, you'll find this book an informative, in-depth, cover-to-cover read and a useful reference manual...an excellent read and a must-have reference book."

Music Production by Michael Zager The guidance of a skilled music producer will always be a key factor in producing a great recording. In that sense, as Michael Zager points out in his second edition of Music Production: For Producers, Composer, Arrangers, and Students, the job of a music producer is analogous to that of a film director, polishing work product to its finest sheen. And this is no small matter in an age when the recording industry is undergoing its most radical change in over half a century. Although innate talent and experience are key elements in the success of any music producer, Music Production serves as a roadmap for navigating the continuous changes in the music industry and music production technologies. From dissecting compositions to understanding studio technologies, from coaching vocalists to arranging and orchestration, from musicianship to marketing, advertising to promotion, Music Production takes readers on a whirlwind tour of the world of music production, letting readers keep pace with this rapidly changing profession. The focus of the second edition is on such topics as the expanded role of music supervisors, the introduction of new production techniques, and the inclusion of new terms in music industry contracts. Including new interviews with eminent industry professionals, Music Production is the ideal handbook for the aspiring music production student and music professional.

Opera Production Two by Quaintance Eaton

Production Management by P. Dean Production Management takes you through the process of making shows happen from the point of view of the production manager. It describes the different types of productions, from small-scale amateur plays to international opera; the roles and skills of the production manager’s backstage teams; and theater administration. Enhanced by illustrations, charts, and templates that can be adapted for any production, the book includes valuable tips and information on working with directors and designers; costing productions realistically; running production meetings; overseeing the rehearsal process; managing a production team; coordinating the creation of props and costumes; and leading the production week and technical rehearsal. Peter Dean has worked for some of Britain’s premier theater companies. Since 1997, he as been Deputy Director of the Technical Theatre at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Production Sound Mixing by John J. Murphy; David Landau (Series edited by) The latest hot camera is pretty irrelevant if one can't understand what's happening on screen. The key to any narrative is in the dialogue and voice over, but if this is unintelligible or difficult to hear, viewers will soon lose interest. With real world applications and a narrative to keep the reader's interest, Production Sound Mixing is the indispensable guide for film and video audio recording. Written by veteran sound mixer John J. Murphy, the book offers a step by step collaborative journey through the basic physics of sound, concluding with a practical guide of the latest techniques and equipment available to all who are interested in the best audio for their projects. Structured to mimic a 14-week semester, each chapter begins with an audio problem to be solved and ends with a solution drawn from information gleaned from past chapters. Suggested movie scenes that demonstrate the relevant audio techniques will also be included. Equally applicable to studio and location recording, the book is oriented toward commonly accessible environments such as conference rooms, hallways, beaches, car interiors, bathrooms, and so on. The intent is to allow the student to make the best of a location no matter how challenging it might be. Most importantly, this book will make one aware of the potential of sound on screen, for it is truly 50% of the viewing experience.