Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a wealth of voice, speech, accent and dialect resources online. The ones linked below are just a sampling of various databases, recordings, guides, and archival collections that can aid in researching various accents and dialects.
The International Dialects of English Archive
The International Dialects of English Archive was created in 1998 as the internet’s first archive of primary-source recordings of English-language dialects and accents as heard around the world. With roughly 1,500 samples from 120 countries and territories, and more than 170 hours of recordings, IDEA is now the largest archive of its kind.
Speech Accent Archive
The speech accent archive--hosted by George Mason University-- uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.
Visual Accent & Dialect Archive (VADA)
An archive of curated video clips from around the world, providing both auditory and gestural information about an accent or dialect.
MEDEA | Media E-Learning Dialects of English for Actors
MEDEA is the accents and dialects resource from the Centre for Voice in Performance at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. As it attracts students from all over the globe, this collection is building a collection of accents and dialects of English as they are currently spoken.
American English Dialects
Offers a dialect map of North America, showing dialect regions, links to samples, and interesting articles. *Commentary by Prof. Bryn Austin: This is the "hobby" site of linguist Rick Aschmann. It is an incredibly rich source of material about North American regional dialects. However, because there is so much information there, you may have to hunt about a bit to discover the treasures that await you.
Archival and Oral History Collections
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) - Fieldwork recordings
Interviews with nearly 3,000 “Informants” in 1,002 communities across America. They visited native residents in all fifty states and D.C., collecting local words, phrases, and pronunciations and collected recordings of the informants. These recordings consisted of conversational interviews as well as readings of “The Story of Arthur the Rat” (devised to elicit the essential differences in pronunciation across the country). This fieldwork data provided invaluable regional information for the Dictionary of American Regional English Volumes I–VI (1985–2013) and Digital DARE.
Georgia State University Oral History Collections
Georgia State University’s digital collection houses several Oral History projects, including
Collections on Gender and Sexuality, Music and Radio Broadcasting, Social Change, Southern Labor, the Women’s Movement in Georgia, and Religious Life.
The T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History
Hosted at Louisiana State University, the T. Harry Williams Center for Oral History was founded in 1991 to document Louisiana's diverse culture and history through oral history interviews representing multiple perspectives, and to preserve the oral histories collected and make them available to researchers,
The Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage
Hosted by the University of Southern Mississippi, the Center for Oral History and Cultural Heritage has collected and preserved the stories of Mississippians from all walks of life. The collection began in 1971 and has over 4,000 entries.
Oral Histories of the American South
Hosted at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, "Oral Histories of the American South" is a three-year project to select, digitize and make available 500 oral history interviews gathered by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP). These 500 are being selected from a collection of over 4,000 interviews, housed at the Southern Historical Collection.
The New York Public Library Community Oral History Project
The New York Public Library Community Oral History Project is an initiative taking place at NYPL branches that aims to document, preserve, and celebrate the rich history of the city's unique communities by collecting the stories of people who have experienced it firsthand. There are a variety of community projects here!
Brooklyn Historical Society Oral History Collections
Brooklyn Historical Society’s oral history collections now include over 1,200 interviews. There are a variety of collections housed here.
Bronx African American History Project (Fordham University)
Fordham's Bronx African American History Project is regarded as one of the premier community based oral history projects in the United States. Founded in the spring of 2002 in collaboration with the Bronx County Historical Society, the BAAHP has conducted over 300 full length interviews with African American political leaders, educators, musicians, social workers, business people, clergy. athletes and leaders of community based organizations who have lived and worked in the Bronx since the late 1930s, along with a small number of their Latino and white neighbors and co-workers.
Voces Oral History Project
Hosted at the University of Texas at Austin, Voces Oral History Project is dedicated to recording and disseminating the stories of US Latinas and Latinos and weaving the many perspectives into our historical narrative at the national, state and local levels.
Houston Oral History Project
The Houston Oral History Project is an effort to record and preserve the dynamic history of Houston through the stories and experiences of its residents. It is a collaboration among the Mayor’s Office, the Houston Public Library and the University of Houston. There are several collection housed within the project.
UTSA Oral History Collection
Hosted by the University of San Antonio, this collection of more than 1000 oral histories. A variety of collections are available.
British Library - Sounds Collection
One Language, Many Voices
This selection of recordings documents the way that people define their own accent. The collection, created between November 2010 and April 2011 by visitors to the British Library exhibition, Evolving English: One Language, Many Voices includes descriptions of accents influenced by geography, education, friends, family, occupation, social class and the media. Each person was asked to say where they thought their accent came from, including whatever information they thought was relevant.
Evolving English VoiceBank
This selection of recordings celebrates present-day English accents worldwide. The collection, created between November 2010 and April 2011 by visitors to the British Library exhibition, Evolving English: One Language, Many Voices, includes contributors of all ages and embraces varieties of English in the UK and overseas including non-native speakers.
Evolving English WordBank
This selection of recordings captures English dialect and slang worldwide. The collection, created between November 2010 and April 2011 by visitors to the British Library exhibition, Evolving English: One Language, Many Voices includes local, regional and vernacular forms and idiolectal expressions used within families or friendship groups.
The Listening Project is an audio archive of conversations recorded by the BBC. People are invited to share an intimate conversation with a close friend or relative, to be recorded and broadcast (in edited form) by the BBC and curated and archived in full by the British Library. These one-to-one conversations, lasting up to an hour and taking a topic of the speakers' choice, collectively form a picture of our lives and relationships today.
Survey of English Dialects
The Survey of English Dialects (SED) was a groundbreaking nationwide survey of the vernacular speech of England. From 1950 to 1961 a team of fieldworkers collected data in a network of 313 localities across England, initially in the form of transcribed responses to a questionnaire containing over 1300 items. The informants were mostly farm labourers, predominantly male and generally over 65 years old as the aim of the survey was to capture the most conservative forms of folk speech.
Millennium Memory Bank
During 1998 and 1999, forty BBC local radio stations recorded personal oral histories from a broad cross-section of the population for the series The Century Speaks. The result was 640 half-hour radio documentaries, broadcast in the final weeks of the millennium, and one of the largest single oral history collections in Europe, the Millennium Memory Bank (MMB).
The BBC Voices project provided a snapshot of the linguistic landscape of the UK at the start of the 21st century by encouraging members of the public to contribute their words and reflect on the language they use and encounter in their daily lives.