LibGuides: Berklee and Beyond: Special and Public Libraries

Libraries

Bibliothéques de Paris
The network of City of Paris libraries comprises 57 libraries in all the arrondissements of Paris. They are free and open to all.
Boston Public LIbrary
Boston Public Library today features a central library, located just one T stop away from Berklee's Boston Campus, and twenty-five neighborhood branches, serving nearly 4 million visitors per year and millions more online.
British Library
The national library of the United Kingdom with access to the world’s most comprehensive research collection. The collection has over 170 million items and includes artefacts from every age of written civilisation. They keep the nation’s archive of printed and digital publications, adding around three million new items to our collection every year.
Los Angeles Public Library
The Los Angeles Public Library’s Central Library and their 72 neighborhood branches offer a variety of free programs, workshops, and activities that enrich, educate and empower every individual in our city’s diverse communities. In addition to offering staff-led programs, the library maintains a program resource directory which is used to hire performers and presenters. You can submit a proposal to be considered as part of their performance schedule.
Massachusetts Minuteman Library Network
A consortium of over 40 libraries working collectively provide library services to communities of the Metrowest region of Massachusetts
Nashville Public Library
Over 20 branch locations, including a space to take classes offered by the Nashville Education, Community, and Arts Television (NECAT) organization.
New York Public Library
With 92 branch locations in the Bronx, Manhattan, and Staten Island, NYPL is the most comprehensive library collection ever brought together for the free use of the public.
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
A special branch of the NYPL system, housing one of the world's most extensive research collections in the fields of theatre, film, dance, music, and recorded sound, as well as a wide array of circulating and reference materials.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem, one of The New York Public Library’s renowned research libraries, is a world-leading cultural institution devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Seoul Metropolitan Library
The library offers over 540,000 books, book shelves along 5m-high walls, Disability Collections, and Seoul Documents Collections. It also offers a comprehensive search tool to identify materials over 500 libraries in Seoul.
Tokyo Metropolitan Library
The Tokyo Metropolitan Central Library has more than 2.06 million books, over 6,000 titles of magazines and journals, in addition to various audio-visual materials, and rare materials. Well-known as a research library, the Tokyo Metropolitan Central Library has expert staff who are capable of providing reference and information services to the public. Providing 900 seats, as well as access to wireless LAN and online databases, the Central Library is a quiet place where you can feel like you are in your own private study.

Here are some common terms and services offered by most libraries around the world:

Archives: A space that houses historical or public record which are generally non-circulating materials such as collections of personal papers, rare items, ephemera, etc.

Catalogs: Databases listing and describing the books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. Various search terms allow you to look for items in the catalog.

Circulation/loan desk: The place in the library where you check out, renew, and return library materials.

Classes and Workshops: Public libraries regularly provide educational and fun programming on topics relevant to their communities,

Events/Programs: From drag queen story times, to live performances, to crafting activities, libraries are a hub for cultural experiences

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): A service that allows you to borrow materials from other libraries through your own library.

Internet/Wi-Fi access

"Libraries of Things:" Many libraries circulate a variety of nontraditional items -- a/v equipment, boardgames, kitchen appliances, tools, and so much more

Maker Spaces: Many libraries have dedicated spaces for creators to use creative equipment (like 3D printers) and software

Printing & Scanning

Reference Service/Desk: A service or place that helps people find needed information

Research Appointments with a Librarian

Reserves: A service providing special, often short-term, access to materials that are available for in-library use, only.

Spaces: Libraries have bookable meeting rooms, or can be a nice place to just pass the time (or use the bathroom)

Stacks: Shelves in the library where materials—typically books—are stored. Books in the book stacks are normally arranged by call number (A group of letters and/or numbers that identifies a specific item in a library and provides a way for organizing library holdings).

Audio Books

Databases

E-Books

Exam Preparation Materials

Immigration & Citizenship Resources

Library/Reserach Guides

Magazines & Periodical subscriptions

Museum Passes

Notary Services

Streaming Platforms

STUFF!: Often called the "library of things," many libraries will have collections of non traditional items patrons can borrow, such as kitchen appliances, household tools, boardgames, a/v equipment, and more

Tax forms and other government resources