Berklee Basic Ukulele - Book with Online Audio by Karen Hogg by
(Berklee Guide). Learn the ukulele! Berklee Basic Ukulele is an easy-to-follow, fun introduction to the ukulele--the perfect guide for the beginning ukulele enthusiast! The book begins with the basics of reading music notation (traditional notation, ukulele tablature, and chord diagrams), which can serve as a review or a handy primer for those with no prior reading experience. You will then learn a variety techniques for playing melodies, strumming chords, and accompanying yourself singing, with many tunes in a diversity of styles as examples. You will learn various rhythms and strum patterns, starting from very basic strumming and then slowly incorporating more complex right hand techniques, and learn to strum along with your favorite (or original) songs. Each chord, strum pattern, and concept is coupled with exercises and songs to give you ample opportunities to absorb the material, with demonstration and play-along audio tracks. Includes: * How to hold the ukulele, play with healthy hand/body position, and produce a good tone. * The notes of the ukulele fingerboard. * The basics of music theory, which you will then use to help learn songs and develop an overall intuitive sense for how to play the ukulele. * Essential chords and chord strumming patterns for different styles. * Melodies and chordal accompaniment parts to songs such as "Aloha 'Oe," "Amazing Grace," "Bound for South Australia," "Hi'ilawe," "Hinei Ma Tov," "Londondeery Air," "Simple Gifts," "When the Saints Go Marching In," "Will the Circle Be Unbroken?," and others!
The Songwriter's Workshop: Hit Song Forms by
(Berklee Guide). Berklee's Songwriter's Workshop series of books has been used at the heart of the Berklee songwriting curriculum for decades, studied by thousands of emerging songwriters who have gone on to have their songs performed by artists such as Adele, Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Alison Krauss, Gwen Stefani, ZZ Top, Sam Smith, Faith Hill, Imagine Dragons, the Jonas Brothers, and countless other chart-topping acts, as well as placed in award-winning TV shows and movies. With Hit Song Forms , you'll write more compelling songs! Song form, or the way a song's ideas are structured, is one of the most powerful dimesnions of songwriting. These practical, hands-on lessons teach you to structure song's lyrics, melodies, and harmonies in ways that will give you maximum expressive impact. You will learn the types of verses, prechoruses, choruses, and bridges used in contemporary hits. Through careful selection of various tools, you can create momentum to highlight your most important ideas in your chorus or refrain. These essential forms are used in contemporary music of all styles: rock, country, R&B, hip-hop, and more. Online audio tracks illustrate the songwriting concepts and help you to practice the techniques with your own songs. Designed for all level songwriters, from the beginner to the advanced, it utilizes easy-to-follow exercises and audio examples to get you using the tools of the masters immediately. You will learn to: * Create the most common forms for today's hits, from the simple to the most complex, including: verse-chorus songs, prechorus songs, songs with bridges, verse/refrains, and emerging new forms. * Create dramatic choruses that emphasize the title and get the audience to sing along. * Connect and contrast all the sections of your songs smoothly. * Learn the Seven Standard Chorus Types and the dozens of variations on each. * Align all songwriting elements (lyrics, harmony, and melody) within every song section to create expressive momentum. * Incorporate harmonic motion into every form, from the simplest loop song to the most complex modulating prechorus. * Connect all your musical moves to the overall lyric emotion, conveying all your thoughts and feelings directly to your audience.
Berklee Violin Arpeggios, Chords, and Etudes - Book with Online Audio by Mimi Rabson by
(Berklee Guide). Master harmony on the violin fingerboard! This book will give you the fluency to improvise, play comping (accompanying) parts, add background lines, and deepen your enjoyment of all kinds of music. These exercises and etudes will help you practice arpeggios and comping voicings for commonly used chord progressions, with appropriate fingerings and alternate spellings when needed. You will develop left-hand dexterity and broaden your harmonic understanding and vocabulary. Audio tracks let you hear the exercises and then practice along with an accompanist. You will learn to: Construct the common triads and seventh chords - major, minor, diminished, and minor 7b5; choose fingering strategies for common chord progressions; play chords across the strings; voice-lead chords to transition smoothly and ergonomically; improvise melodic lines over chord changes; comp chord patterns using essential rhythmic grooves.
Songwriting Strategies by
(Berklee Guide). Write songs starting from any direction: melody, lyric, harmony, rhythm, or idea. This book will help you expand your range and flexibility as a songwriter. Discussions, hands-on exercises, and notated examples will help you hone your craft. This creatively liberating approach supports the overall integrity of emotion and meaning in your songs. It will help you become more productive, versatile, and innovative in your songwriting. You will learn to: * Discover more ideas for songs song seeds and capture them in their most powerful and usable form * Overcome writer's block by having many more pathways through the writing process * Develop strong song structures by working independently with melody, lyrics, harmony, and rhythm * Write songs more easily, guided by your well-tuned "songwriter's compass"
Visions and Decisions by
This Element investigates the balance and interaction of imagination (visions) and technique (decisions) in the composition of music and includes current scientific research on dreams, the hypnagogic state, emotions, and feelings. It also includes thoughts of composers past and present, and examines how works start from visions in a range of music, comparing musical ideas and techniques to models in other creative disciplines. The Element elucidates aspects of musical discourse by imagining how Haydn, Mozart, and other composers would order falafel for takeout. This unorthodox approach emphasizes parallels between music and theater that are central to this Element.
How to Write One Song by
There are few creative acts more mysterious and magical than writing a song. But what if the goal wasn't so mysterious and was actually achievable for anyone who wants to experience more magic and creativity in their life? That's something that anyone will be inspired to do after reading Jeff Tweedy's How to Write One Song. Why one song? Because the difference between one song and many songs isn't a cute semantic trick--it's an important distinction that can simplify a notoriously confusing art form. The idea of becoming a capital-S songwriter can seem daunting, but approached as a focused, self-contained event, the mystery and fear subsides, and songwriting becomes an exciting pursuit. And then there is the energizing, nourishing creativity that can open up. How to Write One Song brings readers into the intimate process of writing one song--lyrics, music, and putting it all together--and accesses the deep sense of wonder that remains at the heart of this curious, yet incredibly fulfilling, artistic act. But it's equally about the importance of making creativity part of your life every day, and of experiencing the hope, inspiration, and joy available to anyone who's willing to get started.
Flamenco... All You Wanted to Know by
This landmark historical text delivers the goods promised in its title. It does not address flamenco dance whatsoever, focusing instead on flamenco song forms with a special chapter devoted to the role of the guitar. Includes Spanish lyrics for dozens of flamenco songs along with English translations and interpretive notes, a glossary of flamenco terminology, plus a recommended bibliography and discography are also provided. Informal in its demeanor, this carefully researched, insightful book will help you develop a deeper appreciation for the flamboyant art of flamenco.
The Essential Pandeiro Method by
Scott Kettner brings you the complete pandeiro guide! Designed for educators and students of all levels, "The Essential Pandeiro Method" makes learning how to play the pandeiro simple. Receive FREE Access to Scott's online companion course when you purchase a hard copy of the book! Kettner's book is designed to take you step-by-step, starting with technique, how to hold the pandeiro, and it also explores different grooves and rhythms from around the world. There are lessons suitable for absolute beginners and some that will challenge even the most experienced player. "Scott is an astute observer and is artful at clearly breaking down the nuances of Brazilian percussion. In his new book, 'The Essential Pandeiro Method', he clearly demonstrates his step-by-step process to developing the fundamental skills needed to play the pandeiro in a highly musical and fluid way. I've practiced some of Scott's methods myself and I highly recommend this book for anyone serious about learning the wonderful art of playing pandeiro". - Stanton Moore (drummer, Galactic)
Abby Whiteside on Piano Playing by
(Amadeus). Abby Whiteside (1881-1956) developed a revolutionary approach to piano technique, the idea of a "basic rhythm" involving the entire body that allows students to express the essential emotional rhythm of the music, as well as to play without the risk of the injuries that frequently afflict pianists. Her ideas on piano pedagogy remain essential today. HARDCOVER.
The Jazz harmony book : a course in adding chords to melodies by 
Pop/Rock Horn Section by
(Transcribed Horns). Also in this series: R&B horn section; Jazz/pop horn section; Jazz/rock horn section; Funk/disco horn section.
35 Jazz Arrangements for Solo Piano by
(Berklee Guide). A collection of 35 popular jazz standard arrangements for solo piano. Each arrangement begins with a short introduction, providing brief technical and theoretical guidance for how the piece should be considered and performed. These arrangements are of varying difficulty levels and well suited for solo performance, auditioning, and study. They explore a variety of jazz piano performance techniques and playing styles. It includes classic works such as: Cry Me a River * Days of Wine and Roses * Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye * I Remember You * I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face * It Could Happen to You * The Look of Love * Lullaby of Birdland * Lush Life * Moonlight in Vermont * On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever) * Skylark * Sophisticated Lady * Take the "A" Train * Up Jumped Spring * The Very Thought of You * Yesterday * and more.
Impromptus op. 90 und op. post. 142 ; Moments musicaux op. 94 by 
Chart hits of 2022-2023 : 20 massive singles : piano, vocal guitar
Grandes éxitos para flauta e instrumentos melódicos = Greatest hits for flute and melodic instruments by 
Sevdalinke : narodne pjesme iz Bosne i Hercegovine : 505 pjesama sa notnim zapisima by 
Michael Jackson's This Is It by
(Piano/Vocal/Guitar Artist Songbook). This folio features songs in the movie of the same name that documented Michael Jackson's rehearsals for his concert tour that tragically never happened due to his untimely death. Includes his greatest hits: Wanna Be Startin' Somethin' * Jam * They Don't Care About Us * Human Nature * Smooth Criminal * The Way You Make Me Feel * Shake Your Body (Down to the Ground) * I Just Can't Stop Loving You * Thriller * Beat It * Black or White * Earth Song * Billie Jean * Man in the Mirror * This Is It.
Clarinet Solos for the Performing Artist by
This exciting series teams renowned pianist/composer Michael Garson with three top instrumentalists to create unique play-along packages for trumpet, flute and clarinet. Each package contains a solo part with four advanced level solos, a piano accompaniment part and a high-quality compact disc. The recordings feature full performances by Allen Vizzutti, Jim Walker, and Eddie Daniels as well as the piano accompaniment part.
