Opera Resources Online

The largest and most authoritative resource of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music. This multivolume series contains more than 51,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.

To access from the homepage, select "Catalog" from the top navigation. Babelscores features over 210,000 pieces of curated contemporary music, including sheet music, recordings and videos.

The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection of over 6,000 scores includes digital, open access scores published by the library from international composers.

Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Features more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.

Brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, for the first time available in electronic form. The collection delivers comprehensive coverage of all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century, with definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists. In addition, there are biographies, chronologies, primary source readings, critical texts, full text from other major reference works, biographical information, score and lyric excerpts, and musical and notational terms.

An account of the evolution of Western classical music. The online version reproduces the five-volume set, including 500 images and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality .

(Note: Use Browse or Search to access content, clicking on images of books will only provide info about the book.) RILM Music Encyclopedias covers historical musicology, ethnomusicology, and theory, with topics ranging from popular music and rock, opera, instruments, and blues and gospel to recorded music and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages—currently English, German, French, Italian, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Portuguese, Slovak, and Spanish.