Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and eBooks
Made in Spain by Made in Spain: Studies in Popular Music will serve as a comprehensive and rigorous introduction to the history, sociology and musicology of 20th century Spanish popular music. The volume will consist of 16 essays by leading scholars of Spanish music and will cover the major figures, styles and social contexts of pop music in Spain. Although all the contributors are Spanish, the essays will be expressly written for an international English-speaking audience. No knowledge of Spanish music or culture will be assumed. Each section will feature a brief introduction by the volume editors, while each essay will provide adequate context so readers understand why the figure or genre under discussion is of lasting significance to Spanish popular music. The book first presents a general description of the history and background of popular music, followed by essays organized into thematic sections.
Call Number: ML3498.M33 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-20
All Music This link opens in a new window
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about albums, bands, musicians and songs. It includes exhaustive discographies supplemented with reviews, biographies, sound samples and other information about audio releases.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companions to Music cover composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind.
Contemporary Music Score Collection This link opens in a new window
The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection of over 6,000 scores includes digital, open access scores published by the library from international composers.
Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Includes thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I.
Free Music Archive This link opens in a new window
A resource for free to download music licensed under Creative Commons.
Global Jukebox This link opens in a new window
The Global Jukebox presents traditions that are linked to the roots of the world's peoples. Alan Lomax called it a "democratic cultural system". The visitor may explore collections of music, dance, and speech from almost every corner of the globe, recorded by hundreds of pioneering ethnographers at times when mass communications were less pervasive than now.
Note: you can select "Guest" to view the site.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Grove Music: Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Features more than 67,000 articles on people and places; instruments and techniques; and genres and styles, including non-western and folk music. Periods covered range from ancient times to the present.
IMSLP This link opens in a new window
The ultimate goal of the IMSLP is to gather all public domain music scores, in addition to the music scores of all contemporary composers (or their estates) who wish to release them to the public free of charge.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the definitive research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals. IBTD with Full Text contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations. As experts in the subject area, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) continues indexing various titles for the database as well as coordinating international contributors.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 HD videos of concerts, operas, ballets, archival performances, documentaries, master classes, and more. The recently added Medici Jazz Includes performances from members of the Berklee Institute of Jazz and Gender Justice team.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive streaming audio collection of contemporary world music. It currently provides streaming access to over 1.5 million tracks from 169 countries and 800 labels, with new recordings added regularly.
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content featuring over 900,000 albums and more than 11 million tracks. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Popular Music Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of streaming popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
An account of the evolution of Western classical music. The online version reproduces the five-volume set, including 500 images and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with sophisticated search and browse functionality .
Qwest TV This link opens in a new window
Video streaming service dedicated to jazz, soul, funk, & world music from Quincy Jones.
RILM Music Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
(Note: Use Browse or Search to access content, clicking on images of books will only provide info about the book.) RILM Music Encyclopedias covers historical musicology, ethnomusicology, and theory, with topics ranging from popular music and rock, opera, instruments, and blues and gospel to recorded music and women composers. Its content spans multiple countries and languages—currently English, German, French, Italian, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Portuguese, Slovak, and Spanish.