Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources & Search Tips
Library of Congress Digital Collections-- Art and Architecture
View thousands of works of art from the collections of the Library of Congress, organized by subjects and by collections
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery has digitized thousands of paintings and prints from their collections which can be browsed or searched online.
RIDIM Repertoire Internationale d'Iconographie (Musical Images in Works of Art)
Search or browse this database for various instruments or images of singers throughout history, through art
Smithsonian American Art Museum
browse or search art exhibits of collections of art at the Smithsonian Museums
New York Public Library Digital Collections
A searchable database of images housed at the New York Public Library and viewable online.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art-- Search Collections
Search by keywords for images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. You can also search by Object or materials type, geographic location, date/era, or department (such as "American Wing" or "Drawings and Print"
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston-- Online Collections
View materials in the online collections from the MFA, divided into collections, such as "Art of the Americas" or "Textiles and Fashion Art"
Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston Collections (ICA)
Browse images of the permanent collection of art on display at the ICA.
UCLA Digital Collections
Thousands of images from the Library of UCLA
High quality images in searchable database for exploring world of art and photography from museums, estates and visual artists.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Getty Images database. Search Using Augmented Search (Boxes on Library's front page). This will search the Library's resources across a broad range of physical and digital formats in a single search, including: Books, ebooks, journals, sound recordings and videos
Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection provide resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Grove Art Online (Part of Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Offers global coverage of visual culture, composed and expanded in collaboration with thousands of scholars and specialists around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a database with both scholarly eBooks from University presses and scholarly societies in a wide range of subjects within the humanities and social sciences.
Web Gallery of Art This link opens in a new window
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 38,000 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue and mobile services are provided.
How to Find Images in Books:
You can search in online catalogs for terms associated with images in books.
For example, use the terms "portrait" (often port for portrait in book catalogs)
Other examples: use "ill" for "illustrations" or "col" (for color)
Older books may use terms like "plate"
You can also look in the Table of Contents at the front of a book for "List of Illustrations"
For searching in ebooks or journal databases such as JSTOR, use terms like "image"
The problem with Google images:
1) images may not be available for use and can be in copyright
2) images are very often NOT labeled correctly. For example, if you search for a person, many images associated, but not that person can appear.
3) Can use google images to find a wikipedia image, which has usually been vetted.
Associate Director, Instruction and Engagement