The Suzuki Concept (Albert Alphin Library) by
Introduction / Masaaki Honda -- Children can develop their ability to the highest standard / Shinichi Suzuki -- Advice to a new mother / Elizabeth Mills -- The psychology of early learning / Mae Ferro -- Teaching Suzuki book I / Marian Schreiber -- Motivation / American Suzuki Institute- West -- Left-hand techniques / Louise Behrend and Anastasia Jempelis -- Helping children to develop self-direction in violin study / John Kendall -- No child is lost / American Suzuki Institute- West -- Suzuki piano technique / Harlow Mills -- The use of recordings and tape recordings in Suzuki training / American Suzuki Institute- West -- When a violinist teaches the cello / Margaret Rowell -- Teaching Suzuki in a public school system / Diana Tillson -- To parents concerned about music reading / Elizabeth Mills -- Practical suggestions for teachers on reading / Harlow and Elizabeth Mills -- Appendix / Elizabeth Mills.
The Suzuki Concept (Stan Getz Library) by
Introduction / Masaaki Honda -- Children can develop their ability to the highest standard / Shinichi Suzuki -- Advice to a new mother / Elizabeth Mills -- The psychology of early learning / Mae Ferro -- Teaching Suzuki book I / Marian Schreiber -- Motivation / American Suzuki Institute- West -- Left-hand techniques / Louise Behrend and Anastasia Jempelis -- Helping children to develop self-direction in violin study / John Kendall -- No child is lost / American Suzuki Institute- West -- Suzuki piano technique / Harlow Mills -- The use of recordings and tape recordings in Suzuki training / American Suzuki Institute- West -- When a violinist teaches the cello / Margaret Rowell -- Teaching Suzuki in a public school system / Diana Tillson -- To parents concerned about music reading / Elizabeth Mills -- Practical suggestions for teachers on reading / Harlow and Elizabeth Mills -- Appendix / Elizabeth Mills
Mastering Fingerstyle Guitar by
This advanced volume in the comprehensive method for fingerstyle guitar is perfect for experienced players who want to add greater variety, refinement, and creativity to their playing. Develops skillful tone production and dynamic control, and covers the free-stroke, rest-stroke, shifting, tremolo, planting, and inventive techniques used by contemporary fingerstyle masters like left-hand tapping, right-hand tapping, drumming, and "the scrape." Also includes unusual alternate tunings, ideas for creating you own new tunings, and arranging. All music is shown in standard notation and TAB, and the CD demonstrates all the examples in the book. 96 pages.
The Art of Percussion Playing by
This book combines The Art of Tambourine and Triangle Playing, The Art of Bass Drum and Cymbal Playing and The Art of Percussion Accessory Playing into one volume providing students and teachers with easy access to learning about the important instruments used in orchestra, band and various ensembles including percussion ensemble. It includes history, selection and performance techniques on bass drum, cymbals, tambourine, triangle and 17 percussion accessory instruments, designed for methods classes, school instrumental music classes and anyone interested in acquiring an in-depth understanding of percussion instruments. Especially useful for conductors, composers and arrangers since all essential techniques are covered in short etudes composed for each instrument. Click here for a YouTube video on The Art of Percussion Playing
Drum Circle Facilitation by
World-renowned author offers tips to run a successful drum circle. As the popularity for drum circles continues to grow, the need for facilitators increases as well. Written by the foremost authority in this field, Arthur Hull offers his insights, plans and practical strategies to become a facilitator - regardless of your musical background or expertise. This can be used by social workers, store owners, human resource managers, church leaders, camp leaders, nursing home activity coordinators - for anyone who wants to unify a group that will enjoy the benefits of participating in this simple activity. It's about leadership and commnication. The book covers dozens of exercises, instrument suggestions, facilitator's shorthand, interviews with successful facilitators, and even marketing tips on how to promote and expand your events. This is the complete rhythm event facilitation handbook from the expert.
The Drum Set Crash Course by
This book covers the essential foundations and grooves that will prepare the drummer for a variety of musical situations encountered on the average professional gig. Designed to be an encyclopedia of many drumming styles, The Drum Set Crash Course covers Afro-Cuban and Brazilian, blues, country, hip hop, jazz, reggae, rock, and much more.
Elementary Drum Method by
A complete drum method containing the elementary principles of music and an introduction to bass drum and cymbals.
Rhythmic Kinesthetics by
Rhythmic Kinesthetics presents a series of games and activities incorporating music, movement, and motor skills that help express emotions, build concentration, and sharpen sensory awareness. A wonderful tool for individuals, educators, community facilitators, and social workers, this curriculum provides an environment for people of all ages, cultures, and abilities to participate, where they will apply and develop their music skills through a hands-on approach. The book features a variety of creative movement and social/communication activities integrated with music to introduce and foster musical skills in a creative setting. Rhythmic Kinesthetics provides diverse forms of world music-based compositions, drum circle games, and activities using a wide variety of percussion-based instruments including Boomwhackers, world drums, sound shapes/frame drums, Orff instruments, and body percussion. An instructional DVD showcasing both school and community performances is included with the book, which is 100% reproducible.
At the Beginning: teaching piano to the very young child by 
Piano Chord Dictionary: All the Essential Chords in an Easy-to-follow Format! by 
Planning Your Piano Success : A Blueprint for Aspiring Musicians by 
Playing Beyond the Notes: A Pianist's Guide to Musical Interpretation by 
Professional Piano Teaching: A Comprehensive Piano Pedagogy Textbook by 
A Modern Method for Violin Scales by
Acclaimed jazz multi-instrumentalist Rob Thomas brings a fresh look at violin scales for the modern age. Chapters in this book cover: * Single-String Frames * Four-String Frames * Mode and Arpeggio Exercises * Using Play-Along Accompaniment * and more! Play-along audio tracks are included online for accompaniment, as you begin to explore this previously uncharted but essential territory.
Do It! Play Strings Book 1 Teacher's Resource Edition and Full Score with CDs by
CDs contain musical examples keyed to the exercises.
"A musical string method for mixed- and like-instrument classes"--Cover.
Includes resources for teachers (p. ix-xxiv) and fingering charts (p. 1A-1D).
Guide to Teaching Strings by
The Guide to Teaching Strings is a comprehensive text designed to provide the instrumental music teacher with an introduction to the history, repertoire, and performance practice of each of the strings. For each of the strings, The Guide provides a brief history of the instrument, bow, case, and accessories. It furnishes criteria for the selection of instruments and techniques for performance, with teaching procedures for each of the four instrument groups from the initial training of the beginner through the performance practice of the accomplished student. In sum, The Guide is a strings methods text that will serve teachers and performers throughout their careers.
Violin and Viola by
Yehudi Menuhin shares with the reader his unique store of understanding about the violin, about how to exercise and practise, and about the techniques of performance. His reflections on the nature and scope of his instrument are profoundly illuminating and his theories on interpretation particularly valuable. William Primrose writes the distinguished monograph on the viola and describes the instrument as 'a violin with a college education'.
Belting: a guide to healthy, powerful singing by 
Head First: the language of the head voice : a concise study of learning to sing in the head voice by
Denes Striny's international singing career brought him to the major opera houses of the world in leading roles. At the same time, he was evolving his vocal technique in a quest to find his full vocal potential. This book documents his struggles and successes with himself, teachers, coaches, and other singers. Striny, while maintaining his singing career, also had a full studio of singers studying with him in New York City. In this his first book, Striny confronts and explains the universal problem in singing today. This problem is at the center of an important dilemma in the world of opera today-namely, where have all the great operatic voices gone? Striny dissects the problem and offers the solution, which is a return to singing in the "Head Voice," the only true operatic sound. For the past sixty years, the knowledge that there are thirty-two muscles, bones, ligaments, and sinewy masses of tissue located around the larynx led teachers and students to chase this anatomical knowledge in search of answers to vocal theories. However, they have not learned the basic fundamental truth-those who sing in the head voice are the only true operatic voices. The late Birgit Nilsson, international opera legend and long-time friend, mentor, and teacher to Striny, shares her insights with Striny and the reader throughout the book. Head First is a must for teachers, students, professional singers, and opera lovers who will gain valuable insight into the "voice of opera."
The Naked Voice: a wholistic approach to singing by 
Sing! Vocal Warm-Ups for All Styles by 
Teaching Kids to Sing by 
Vocal Technique: a guide to finding your real voic by 
Guide to Teaching Woodwinds by
Guide to Teaching Woodwings is written primarily for the college student who is preparing for instrumental teaching, although the woodwind teacher or player will find it useful also. At a time when teacher education programs allow only a minimal amount of time for the specialized study of instrumental teaching, a text that not only provides the basics but includes essential details for future reference is essential. This text attempts to meet that need.
Teaching Wind and Percussion Instruments by
An overview of a comprehensive band program with a detailed listing of the specific concepts and skills and the performance level at which each is normally introduced and reinforced.
Teaching Woodwinds by
This method and resource handbook for music education students offers an overview of basic instructional techniques with relevant musical examples; discusses selection, care, and assembly of instruments; and supplies a complete bibliography of educational materials. Throughout the text's coverage of fundamentals, special emphasis is placed on developing ideas for innovative teaching strategies.
